Home › Research › Health systems and care delivery
Physics strategies for sparing neural stem cells during whole-brain radiation treatments
Neil Kirby, Cynthia Chuang, Jean Pouliot, Andrew Hwang, Igor J. Barani. Medical Physics, 2011-09-12
Topic: Brain proteins, microglia and lab models
The plans are all normalized such that 50% of the PTV receives 30 Gy. For the initial 6 MV IMRT plan, 50% of the stem cells receive a dose greater than 6.3 Gy. Calculations indicate that 3.6 Gy of this dose originates from intracranial scattering. The jaw-tracking segmentation algorithm, used in conjunction with direct machine parameter optimization, reduces the 50% stem cell dose to 4.3 and 3.7 Gy for 6 and 10 MV treatment beams, respectively. Intracranial scattering alone is responsible for a large dose contribution to the stem cell compartment. It is, therefore, important to minimize other contributing factors, particularly the collimator leakage, to maximally reduce dose to these critical structures. The use of collimator jaw tracking in conjunction with modern collimators can minimize this leakage.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
APA 7th
Kirby, N., Chuang, C., Pouliot, J., Hwang, A., & Barani, I. J. (2011). Physics strategies for sparing neural stem cells during whole-brain radiation treatments. Medical Physics. https://doi.org/10.1118/1.3633946
Vancouver
Kirby N, Chuang C, Pouliot J, Hwang A, Barani IJ. Physics strategies for sparing neural stem cells during whole-brain radiation treatments. Medical Physics. 2011. doi:10.1118/1.3633946. PMID: 21992352.
BibTeX
@article{kirby2011-21992352,
author = {Kirby, Neil and Chuang, Cynthia and Pouliot, Jean and Hwang, Andrew and Barani, Igor J.},
title = {{Physics strategies for sparing neural stem cells during whole-brain radiation treatments}},
journal = {Medical Physics},
year = {2011},
doi = {10.1118/1.3633946},
pmid = {21992352},
url = {https://doi.org/10.1118/1.3633946}
}
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
Key findings
- The plans are all normalized such that 50% of the PTV receives 30 Gy.
- For the initial 6 MV IMRT plan, 50% of the stem cells receive a dose greater than 6.3 Gy.
- Calculations indicate that 3.6 Gy of this dose originates from intracranial scattering.
- The jaw-tracking segmentation algorithm, used in conjunction with direct machine parameter optimization, reduces the 50% stem cell dose to 4.3 and 3.7 Gy for 6 and 10 MV treatment beams, respectively.
- Intracranial scattering alone is responsible for a large dose contribution to the stem cell compartment.
Why it matters
This study tested radiation treatment planning strategies to reduce dose to neural stem cells during whole-brain radiation. It is a physics planning study and does not test any treatment, cure, or prevention for Alzheimer's disease.
Study details
- Evidence strengthLow
How this study scored 35/100
Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, sample size, effect reported, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 7 / 10 | Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Medical Physics) |
| Journal's citation record | 3 / 4 | Medical Physics: journal h-index 270 (OpenAlex, 2026-10-29) |
| Study design | 0 / 12 | No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Strength of evidence | 1 / 5 | Rated “low” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 1 / 5 | 2011 — within 20 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 0 / 4 | Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Effect reported | 0 / 3 | No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Studied in people | 0 / 3 | Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | 3 / 7 | Cited 19 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10) |
| Citations per year | 1 / 5 | 1.1 citations a year over 17 year(s) since 2011 |
| Impact for its field and year | 3 / 6 | Cited 3.7× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI) |
| Cited by studies here | 0 / 6 | No other study in this library cites it |
| Still being cited | 0 / 4 | Cited 1 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex) |
| Senior author's track record | 2 / 4 | Last-listed author Igor J. Barani: h-index 42 (OpenAlex, whole career) |
| Institution's track record | 2 / 3 | University of California, San Francisco: institution h-index 1,915 (OpenAlex) |
| Multi-centre collaboration | 0 / 3 | OpenAlex lists 1 institution(s) in 1 country — scores zero (affiliation lists can be incomplete) |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 21992352) |
| Free to read | 0 / 2 | Behind a paywall — scores zero |
| Total | 35 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
May need a subscription OpenAlex found no free copy of the full text (checked 6 Feb 1020), so the publisher may charge for it. The PubMed abstract is free.
Related studies in Health systems and care delivery
Also in Health systems and care delivery
172 studies in the library are filed under Health systems and care delivery with no topic tag they share with another; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed tour of them. The Health systems and care delivery hub.