Home › Research › Treatments
Pharmacologic Treatments for Dementia and the Risk of Developing Age-Related Macular Degeneration
Jingya Wang, Christina Antza, Wen Hwa Lee, Jesse Coker, Pearse A Keane, Alastair K Denniston, Krishnarajah Nirantharakumar, Nicola J Adderley. JAMA network open, 2024-10-01
Topic: Drug trials: efficacy and safety
There were 132 846 individuals (mean [SD] age, 80.4 [7.6] years; 61.8% women; mean [SD] body mass index [BMI], 25.5 [4.6]) with a diagnosis of dementia included in cohort 1, 159 419 individuals (mean [SD] age, 81.2 [7.6] years; 59.7% women; mean [SD] body mass index [BMI], 25.6 [4.7]) with a diagnosis of dementia included in cohort 2, and 92 328 individuals with a diagnosis of dementia included in cohort 3 (mean [SD] age, 80.9 [7.7] years; 58.5% women; mean [SD] body mass index [BMI], 25.5 [4.7]). The adjusted hazard ratio (HR) for donepezil compared with rivastigmine or galantamine (cohort 1) was 0.95 (95% CI, 0.67-1.35). The adjusted HR for memantine compared with donepezil, rivastigmine, or galantamine (cohort 2) was 1.03 (95% CI, 0.83-1.27). The adjusted HR for memantine vs rivastigmine or galantamine only (cohort 3) was 1.24 (95% CI, 0.83-1.86). CONCLUSIONS AND RELEVANCE: This cohort study of patients with dementia found no significant associations between memantine or donepezil compared with other dementia medications and the risk of development of AMD. Further research is recommended to examine any possible pathophysiological protective action of memantine and other dementia medications against the development of AMD.
Key findings
- There were 132 846 individuals (mean [SD] age, 80.4 [7.6] years; 61.8% women; mean [SD] body mass index [BMI], 25.5 [4.6]) with a diagnosis of dementia included in cohort 1, 159 419 individuals (mean [SD] age, 81.2 [7.6] years; 59.7% women; mean [SD] body mass index [BMI], 25.6 [4.7]) with a diagnosis of dementia included in cohort 2, and 92 328 individuals with a diagnosis of dementia included in cohort 3 (mean [SD] age, 80.9 [7.7] years; 58.5% women; mean [SD] body mass index [BMI], 25.5 [4.7]).
- The adjusted hazard ratio (HR) for donepezil compared with rivastigmine or galantamine (cohort 1) was 0.95 (95% CI, 0.67-1.35).
- The adjusted HR for memantine compared with donepezil, rivastigmine, or galantamine (cohort 2) was 1.03 (95% CI, 0.83-1.27).
- The adjusted HR for memantine vs rivastigmine or galantamine only (cohort 3) was 1.24 (95% CI, 0.83-1.86).
- CONCLUSIONS AND RELEVANCE: This cohort study of patients with dementia found no significant associations between memantine or donepezil compared with other dementia medications and the risk of development of AMD.
New to this subject? Start with our plain-English guide: Treatments →
Study details
- Study designcohort study
- Participants846
- Effect size61.8%; 59.7%; 58.5%
- Evidence strengthModerate
How this study scored 75/100
Published in a leading specialty journal, and it is a cohort study following people over time. Scored zero for randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record, multi-centre collaboration and free to read, so those were left out: it earned 42 of the 56 points we could judge it on, which is 75 out of 100.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 9 / 10 | Tier 2 — leading specialty journal (JAMA network open) |
| Journal's citation record | — / 4 | No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Study design | 7 / 12 | A cohort study following people over time |
| Strength of evidence | 3 / 5 | Rated “moderate” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 4 / 5 | 2024 — within 3 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 2 / 4 | 846 participants |
| Effect reported | 2 / 3 | Effect reported as a number, without an interval or test |
| Studied in people | 3 / 3 | Studied in people (participant count stated) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | — / 7 | No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score |
| Citations per year | — / 5 | No citation count or no year — left out of this score |
| Impact for its field and year | — / 6 | No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score |
| Cited by studies here | — / 6 | Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score |
| Still being cited | — / 4 | No yearly citation counts — left out of this score |
| Senior author's track record | — / 4 | Senior author's record not available — left out of this score |
| Institution's track record | — / 3 | No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Multi-centre collaboration | — / 3 | Institutions not listed — left out of this score |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 39446320) |
| Free to read | — / 2 | Access not recorded — left out of this score |
| Points | 42 / 56 | Scored on 10 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 42 of the 56 points we could judge it on is 75 out of 100. |
| Total | 75 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record names 8 authors; APA and Vancouver show the first six, BibTeX and the downloads carry all of them. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
APA 7th
Wang, J., Antza, C., Lee, W. H., Coker, J., Keane, P. A., Denniston, A. K., et al. (2024). Pharmacologic Treatments for Dementia and the Risk of Developing Age-Related Macular Degeneration. JAMA network open. https://doi.org/10.1001/jamanetworkopen.2024.41166
Vancouver
Wang J, Antza C, Lee WH, Coker J, Keane PA, Denniston AK, et al. Pharmacologic Treatments for Dementia and the Risk of Developing Age-Related Macular Degeneration. JAMA network open. 2024. doi:10.1001/jamanetworkopen.2024.41166. PMID: 39446320.
BibTeX
@article{wang2024-39446320,
author = {Wang, Jingya and Antza, Christina and Lee, Wen Hwa and Coker, Jesse and Keane, Pearse A and Denniston, Alastair K and Nirantharakumar, Krishnarajah and Adderley, Nicola J},
title = {{Pharmacologic Treatments for Dementia and the Risk of Developing Age-Related Macular Degeneration}},
journal = {JAMA network open},
year = {2024},
doi = {10.1001/jamanetworkopen.2024.41166},
pmid = {39446320},
url = {https://doi.org/10.1001/jamanetworkopen.2024.41166}
}
Related studies in Treatments
Also tagged “cholinesterase”
271 studies in the library carry the topic tag “cholinesterase”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 271 tagged studies.