Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 59 out of 100. Cognitive tests and assessment

Topic: Risk, prevention and care in population studies

Background Bariatric surgery is associated with cognitive benefits, but the nature of such gains may be variable across demographically and clinically diverse persons. Older adults achieve less weight loss and resolution of fewer medical co-morbidities after surgery compared to younger patients and are also at heightened risk for nutritional deficiencies. However, no study has examined the influence of age on cognitive improvements after bariatric surgery. The objective of this study was to determine the effects of age on cognitive function postbariatric surgery. Methods A total of 95 participants enrolled in the Longitudinal Assessment for Bariatric Surgery completed a computerized cognitive test battery before bariatric surgery and at 12-weeks and 12-months postoperatively. Results Baseline cognitive impairments were common. Significant improvements were found in attention/executive function and memory abilities 12-weeks and 12-months after surgery. Age was not associated with baseline cognitive test performance. Separate multivariable regression analyses controlling for baseline attention/executive function and memory also showed that age was not a significant predictor of 12-week or 12-month performances in these domains (P>.05 for all). Conclusion The present study provides preliminary evidence suggesting that older age does not preclude postbariatric surgery cognitive benefits. Prospective studies in more age diverse samples (i.e., up to 70 yr) are needed to determine whether bariatric surgery can reduce risk of age-related neurologic conditions like Alzheimer's disease and stroke.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

APA 7th

Alosco, M. L., Cohen, R., Spitznagel, M. B., Strain, G., Devlin, M., Crosby, R. D., et al. (2014). Older age does not limit postbariatric surgery cognitive benefits: a preliminary investigation. Surgery for obesity and related diseases : official journal of the American Society for Bariatric Surgery. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.soard.2014.04.005

Vancouver

Alosco ML, Cohen R, Spitznagel MB, Strain G, Devlin M, Crosby RD, et al. Older age does not limit postbariatric surgery cognitive benefits: a preliminary investigation. Surgery for obesity and related diseases : official journal of the American Society for Bariatric Surgery. 2014. doi:10.1016/j.soard.2014.04.005. PMID: 25443078.

BibTeX

@article{alosco2014-25443078,
  author  = {Alosco, M. L. and Cohen, R. and Spitznagel, M. B. and Strain, G. and Devlin, M. and Crosby, R. D. and Mitchell, J. E. and Gunstad, J.},
  title   = {{Older age does not limit postbariatric surgery cognitive benefits: a preliminary investigation}},
  journal = {Surgery for obesity and related diseases : official journal of the American Society for Bariatric Surgery},
  year    = {2014},
  doi     = {10.1016/j.soard.2014.04.005},
  pmid    = {25443078},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1016/j.soard.2014.04.005}
}

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record names 8 authors; APA and Vancouver show the first six, BibTeX and the downloads carry all of them. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

Key findings

Study details

How this study scored 59/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record left out, no data; Study design 7 of 12; Strength of evidence 3 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 1 of 5; Sample size 1 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 3 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited left out, no data; Citations per year left out, no data; Impact for its field and year left out, no data; Cited by studies here left out, no data; Still being cited left out, no data; Senior author's track record left out, no data; Institution's track record left out, no data; Multi-centre collaboration 2 of 3; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 0 of 2. 36 of the 61 points it could be judged on, which is 59 of 100. Total 59 of 100.36 of the 61 points we could judge = 59 of 100

Published in a peer-reviewed journal, and it is a longitudinal study following the same people over time. Scored zero for effect reported and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record and institution's track record, so those were left out: it earned 36 of the 61 points we could judge it on, which is 59 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Surgery for obesity and related diseases : official journal of the American Society for Bariatric Surgery)
Journal's citation record — / 4 No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score
Study design 7 / 12 A longitudinal study following the same people over time
Strength of evidence 3 / 5 Rated “moderate” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 1 / 5 2014 — within 20 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 1 / 4 95 participants
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 3 / 3 Studied in people (participant count stated)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited — / 7 No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score
Citations per year — / 5 No citation count or no year — left out of this score
Impact for its field and year — / 6 No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score
Cited by studies here — / 6 Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score
Still being cited — / 4 No yearly citation counts — left out of this score
Senior author's track record — / 4 Senior author's record not available — left out of this score
Institution's track record — / 3 No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score
Multi-centre collaboration 2 / 3 PubMed indexes it as a multicentre study
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 25443078)
Free to read 0 / 2 Behind a paywall — scores zero
Points 36 / 61 Scored on 12 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 36 of the 61 points we could judge it on is 59 out of 100.
Total 59 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.

Related studies in Cognitive tests and assessment

Also tagged “limits”

2 studies in the library carry the topic tag “limits”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 2 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Cognitive tests and assessment

See all studies in Cognitive tests and assessment →