Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 55 out of 100. Biomarkers

Topic: Amyloid, tau and blood-test diagnosis

Recent studies suggest that increased cerebrospinal fluid (CSF) phospho-tau is associated with brain amyloid pathology rather than the tau pathology. However, confirmation using gold standard neuropathological assessments remains limited. This study aimed to determine background pathologies associated with aberrant CSF p-tau181 and amyloid-beta 1-42 (Aβ42) in Alzheimer's disease (AD) and other neurodegenerative diseases. We retrospectively studied all patients with antemortem CSF and postmortem neuropathologic data at our institution. Comprehensive neuropathologic assessments were conducted for all patients, including Thal phase, Braak NFT stage, and CERAD score for AD. CSF concentrations of p-tau181 and Aβ42 were compared between AD neuropathological scores at autopsy by one-way ANOVA stratified by other pathologies. A total of 127 patients with AD (n = 22), Lewy body disease (n = 26), primary tauopathies (n = 30), TDP-43 proteinopathy (n = 16), and other diseases (n = 33) were included. The age at lumbar puncture was 76.3 ± 9.1 years, 40.8% were female, and median time from lumbar puncture to autopsy was 637 (175-1625) days. While Braak NFT 0-II was prevalent without amyloid pathology, Braak NFT ≥IV was observed exclusively in patients with amyloid pathology. Stratified analyses showed that CSF p-tau181 was slightly but significantly higher in patients with high Thal phase or CERAD score even in those with Braak NFT 0-II at autopsy. In patients with amyloid pathology, CSF p-tau181 was significantly and more profoundly elevated in those with Braak NFT ≥III at autopsy. CSF Aβ42 was lower in patients with high amyloid pathological scores. However, 34% with Thal ≤ 2 and 38% with CERAD ≤ sparse also showed decreased Aβ42. Progressive supranuclear palsy (PSP) and corticobasal degeneration (CBD) were overrepresented in this group. These results neuropathologically confirmed previous studies that CSF p-tau181 levels were slightly elevated with amyloid pathology alone and were even higher with tau pathology, and that CSFAβ42 can be decreased in PSP/CBD.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

APA 7th

Kurihara, M., Matsubara, T., Morimoto, S., Arakawa, A., Ohse, K., Kanemaru, K., et al. (2024). Neuropathological changes associated with aberrant cerebrospinal fluid p-tau181 and Aβ42 in Alzheimer's disease and other neurodegenerative diseases. Acta neuropathologica communications. https://doi.org/10.1186/s40478-024-01758-3

Vancouver

Kurihara M, Matsubara T, Morimoto S, Arakawa A, Ohse K, Kanemaru K, et al. Neuropathological changes associated with aberrant cerebrospinal fluid p-tau181 and Aβ42 in Alzheimer's disease and other neurodegenerative diseases. Acta neuropathologica communications. 2024. doi:10.1186/s40478-024-01758-3. PMID: 38539238.

BibTeX

@article{kurihara2024-38539238,
  author  = {Kurihara, M. and Matsubara, T. and Morimoto, S. and Arakawa, A. and Ohse, K. and Kanemaru, K. and Iwata, A. and Murayama, S. and others},
  title   = {{Neuropathological changes associated with aberrant cerebrospinal fluid p-tau181 and Aβ42 in Alzheimer's disease and other neurodegenerative diseases}},
  journal = {Acta neuropathologica communications},
  year    = {2024},
  doi     = {10.1186/s40478-024-01758-3},
  pmid    = {38539238},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1186/s40478-024-01758-3}
}

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

Key findings

Study details

How this study scored 55/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record left out, no data; Study design 0 of 12; Strength of evidence 1 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 4 of 5; Sample size 1 of 4; Effect reported 2 of 3; Studied in people 3 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited left out, no data; Citations per year left out, no data; Impact for its field and year left out, no data; Cited by studies here left out, no data; Still being cited left out, no data; Senior author's track record left out, no data; Institution's track record left out, no data; Multi-centre collaboration left out, no data; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 2 of 2. 32 of the 58 points it could be judged on, which is 55 of 100. Total 55 of 100.32 of the 58 points we could judge = 55 of 100

Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record and multi-centre collaboration, so those were left out: it earned 32 of the 58 points we could judge it on, which is 55 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Acta neuropathologica communications)
Journal's citation record — / 4 No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score
Study design 0 / 12 No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Strength of evidence 1 / 5 Rated “low” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 4 / 5 2024 — within 3 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 1 / 4 22 participants
Effect reported 2 / 3 Effect reported as a number, without an interval or test
Studied in people 3 / 3 Studied in people (participant count stated)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited — / 7 No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score
Citations per year — / 5 No citation count or no year — left out of this score
Impact for its field and year — / 6 No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score
Cited by studies here — / 6 Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score
Still being cited — / 4 No yearly citation counts — left out of this score
Senior author's track record — / 4 Senior author's record not available — left out of this score
Institution's track record — / 3 No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score
Multi-centre collaboration — / 3 Institutions not listed — left out of this score
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 38539238)
Free to read 2 / 2 Free to read
Points 32 / 58 Scored on 11 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 32 of the 58 points we could judge it on is 55 out of 100.
Total 55 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.

Related studies in Biomarkers

Also tagged “csf”

15 studies in the library carry the topic tag “csf”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 15 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Biomarkers

See all studies in Biomarkers →