Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 52 out of 100. Cognitive tests and assessment

Topic: Amyloid, tau and blood-test diagnosis

Background Specific cutoff scores on the Mini Mental State Examination (MMSE) and the Logical Memory (LM) test are used to determine inclusion in Alzheimer's disease (AD) clinical trials and diagnostic studies. These screening measures have known psychometric limitations, but no study has examined the diagnostic accuracy of the cutoff scores used to determine entry into AD clinical trials and diagnostic studies. Methods ClinicalTrials.gov entries were reviewed for phases II and III active and recruiting AD studies using the MMSE and LM for inclusion.

Key findings

Why it matters

This study examined the diagnostic accuracy of the MMSE and Logical Memory cutoff scores used to decide entry into Alzheimer's disease clinical trials and diagnostic studies, using data from 23,438 subjects. It concerns trial screening criteria and does not address treating, curing or preventing Alzheimer's disease.

Study details

How this study scored 52/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record 1 of 4; Study design 0 of 12; Strength of evidence 1 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 1 of 5; Sample size 4 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 3 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited 5 of 7; Citations per year 3 of 5; Impact for its field and year 4 of 6; Cited by studies here 2 of 6; Still being cited 2 of 4; Senior author's track record 3 of 4; Institution's track record 1 of 3; Multi-centre collaboration 1 of 3; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 2 of 2. Total 52 of 100.52 of 100 points earned48 not earned

Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, effect reported and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Alzheimer's research & therapy)
Journal's citation record 1 / 4 Alzheimer s Research & Therapy: journal h-index 146 (OpenAlex, 2026-10-29)
Study design 0 / 12 No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Strength of evidence 1 / 5 Rated “low” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 1 / 5 2016 — within 20 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 4 / 4 23,438 participants
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 3 / 3 Studied in people (participant count stated)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited 5 / 7 Cited 153 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10)
Citations per year 3 / 5 12.8 citations a year over 12 year(s) since 2016
Impact for its field and year 4 / 6 Cited 10.1× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI)
Cited by studies here 2 / 6 Cited by 3 other studies in this library
Still being cited 2 / 4 Cited 47 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex)
Senior author's track record 3 / 4 Last-listed author Robert A. Stern: h-index 96 (OpenAlex, whole career)
Institution's track record 1 / 3 Boston University: institution h-index 1,456 (OpenAlex)
Multi-centre collaboration 1 / 3 OpenAlex lists 2 institution(s) in 1 country
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 26899835)
Free to read 2 / 2 Free to read
Total 52 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Full text: free to read — OpenAlex lists this copy as free to read: the link above (checked 6 Feb 1020).

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

APA 7th

Chapman, K. R., Bing-Canar, H., Alosco, M. L., Steinberg, E. G., Martin, B., Chaisson, C., et al. (2016). Mini Mental State Examination and Logical Memory scores for entry into Alzheimer's disease trials. Alzheimer's research & therapy. https://doi.org/10.1186/s13195-016-0176-z

Vancouver

Chapman KR, Bing-Canar H, Alosco ML, Steinberg EG, Martin B, Chaisson C, et al. Mini Mental State Examination and Logical Memory scores for entry into Alzheimer's disease trials. Alzheimer's research & therapy. 2016. doi:10.1186/s13195-016-0176-z. PMID: 26899835.

BibTeX

@article{chapman2016-26899835,
  author  = {Chapman, K. R. and Bing-Canar, H. and Alosco, M. L. and Steinberg, E. G. and Martin, B. and Chaisson, C. and Kowall, N. and Tripodis, Y. and others},
  title   = {{Mini Mental State Examination and Logical Memory scores for entry into Alzheimer's disease trials}},
  journal = {Alzheimer's research \& therapy},
  year    = {2016},
  doi     = {10.1186/s13195-016-0176-z},
  pmid    = {26899835},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1186/s13195-016-0176-z}
}

Studies this one cites

Referenced by this study and also in the alzhub library, so you can read them here. Showing 12 of 20.

Later studies that cite this one

3 studies in the alzhub library list this one in their references.

Related studies in Cognitive tests and assessment

Similar studies

More on Cognitive tests and assessment

See all studies in Cognitive tests and assessment →