Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 55 out of 100. Tau biomarkers

Topic: Amyloid, tau and blood-test diagnosis

Background and objectives We compared digital speech and language features of patients with amnestic Alzheimer disease (aAD) or logopenic variant primary progressive aphasia (lvPPA) in a biologically confirmed cohort and related these features to neuropsychiatric test scores and CSF analytes. Methods We included patients with aAD or lvPPA with CSF (phosphorylated tau ([p-tau]/β-amyloid [Aβ] ≥0.09, and total tau/Aβ ≥0.34) or autopsy confirmation of AD pathology and age-matched healthy controls (HC) recruited at the Frontotemporal Degeneration Center of the University of Pennsylvania for a cross-sectional study. We extracted speech and language variables with automated lexical and acoustic pipelines from participants' oral picture descriptions.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

APA 7th

Cho, S., Cousins, K. A. Q., Shellikeri, S., Ash, S., Irwin, D. J., Liberman, M. Y., et al. (2022). Lexical and Acoustic Speech Features Relating to Alzheimer Disease Pathology. Neurology. https://doi.org/10.1212/wnl.0000000000200581

Vancouver

Cho S, Cousins KAQ, Shellikeri S, Ash S, Irwin DJ, Liberman MY, et al. Lexical and Acoustic Speech Features Relating to Alzheimer Disease Pathology. Neurology. 2022. doi:10.1212/wnl.0000000000200581. PMID: 35487701.

BibTeX

@article{cho2022-35487701,
  author  = {Cho, S. and Cousins, K. A. Q. and Shellikeri, S. and Ash, S. and Irwin, D. J. and Liberman, M. Y. and Grossman, M. and Nevler, N.},
  title   = {{Lexical and Acoustic Speech Features Relating to Alzheimer Disease Pathology}},
  journal = {Neurology},
  year    = {2022},
  doi     = {10.1212/wnl.0000000000200581},
  pmid    = {35487701},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1212/wnl.0000000000200581}
}

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record names 8 authors; APA and Vancouver show the first six, BibTeX and the downloads carry all of them. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

Key findings

Why it matters

This cross-sectional study compared automated speech and language features in patients with biologically confirmed Alzheimer disease and healthy controls, and related them to test scores and CSF analytes. It is a single-time-point study, so it cannot show whether speech changes predict or respond to treatment.

Study details

How this study scored 55/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 9 of 10; Journal's citation record 4 of 4; Study design 4 of 12; Strength of evidence 3 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 3 of 5; Sample size 1 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 3 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited 4 of 7; Citations per year 3 of 5; Impact for its field and year 3 of 6; Cited by studies here 1 of 6; Still being cited 2 of 4; Senior author's track record 1 of 4; Institution's track record 2 of 3; Multi-centre collaboration 0 of 3; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 0 of 2. Total 55 of 100.55 of 100 points earned45 not earned

Published in a leading specialty journal, and it is a snapshot of people at one point in time. Scored zero for effect reported and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 9 / 10 Tier 2 — leading specialty journal (Neurology)
Journal's citation record 4 / 4 Neurology: journal h-index 525 (OpenAlex, 2026-10-29)
Study design 4 / 12 A snapshot of people at one point in time
Strength of evidence 3 / 5 Rated “moderate” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 3 / 5 2022 — within 6 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 1 / 4 44 participants
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 3 / 3 Studied in people (participant count stated)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited 4 / 7 Cited 50 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10)
Citations per year 3 / 5 8.3 citations a year over 6 year(s) since 2022
Impact for its field and year 3 / 6 Cited 5.4× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI)
Cited by studies here 1 / 6 Cited by 1 other studies in this library
Still being cited 2 / 4 Cited 38 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex)
Senior author's track record 1 / 4 Last-listed author Naomi Nevler: h-index 15 (OpenAlex, whole career)
Institution's track record 2 / 3 University of Pennsylvania: institution h-index 1,859 (OpenAlex)
Multi-centre collaboration 0 / 3 OpenAlex lists 1 institution(s) in 1 country — scores zero (affiliation lists can be incomplete)
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 35487701)
Free to read 0 / 2 Behind a paywall — scores zero
Total 55 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Full text: free to read — OpenAlex lists this copy as free to read: the link above (checked 6 Feb 1020).

Studies this one cites

Referenced by this study and also in the alzhub library, so you can read them here.

Later studies that cite this one

1 study in the alzhub library lists this one in its references.

Related studies in Tau biomarkers

Also in Tau biomarkers

66 studies in the library are filed under Tau biomarkers with no topic tag they share with another; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed tour of them. The Tau biomarkers hub.

Similar studies

More on Tau biomarkers

See all studies in Tau biomarkers →