Home › Research › Treatments
Lecanemab for early Alzheimer's disease: Appropriate use recommendations from the French federation of memory clinics
Villain N, Planche V, Lilamand M, Cordonnier C, Soto-Martin M, Mollion H, Bombois S, Delrieu J et al.. The journal of prevention of Alzheimer's disease, 2025-02-25
Topic: Drug trials: efficacy and safety
Lecanemab, a monoclonal antibody targeting β-amyloid protofibrils, has shown promising results in a Phase III clinical trial for the treatment of early stages of Alzheimer's disease (AD) and has been approved by the European Medicines Agency. An Early Market Authorization could be submitted to the French regulatory agencies, potentially allowing for the drug's use in clinical practice in France in 2025. To guide French clinicians in administering lecanemab in a standardized way, the French Federation of Memory Clinics has developed appropriate use recommendations for lecanemab that highlight relevant questions established to ensure an optimal risk-benefit ratio. The recommendations emphasize that lecanemab treatment requires a comprehensive individualized evaluation of the risk-benefit ratio, which should occur in multidisciplinary meetings. When approved, the guidelines support the use of blood biomarkers, proposing specific cutoffs for patients eligible for lecanemab under restricted conditions. In addition to the European Medicines Agency restrictions in patients on anticoagulants, and APOE4 homozygotes, the guidelines recommend against lecanemab treatment for patients with high amyloid-related hemorrhagic risk such as probable cerebral amyloid angiopathy (Boston criteria v1.5) until further data become available. Additionally, we recommend that MRI monitoring be started before the third infusion to account for early Amyloid Related Imaging Abnormalities (ARIA) occurring on lecanemab. It is recommended to establish a specific clinical care pathway with protocols for patients with ARIA, with trained physicians and radiologists with expertise in neurological emergency and intensive care. Finally, a discontinuation protocol based on dementia severity assessment after 18 months of lecanemab treatment is suggested. Access to lecanemab requires a personalized biological and genetic diagnosis of AD, which is currently not necessary in most cases. Therefore, the healthcare system must rapidly adjust to new diagnostic procedures and treatment delivery to ensure equal access for all individuals.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
APA 7th
Villain, N., Planche, V., Lilamand, M., Cordonnier, C., Soto-Martin, M., Mollion, H., et al. (2025). Lecanemab for early Alzheimer's disease: Appropriate use recommendations from the French federation of memory clinics. The journal of prevention of Alzheimer's disease. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.tjpad.2025.100094
Vancouver
Villain N, Planche V, Lilamand M, Cordonnier C, Soto-Martin M, Mollion H, et al. Lecanemab for early Alzheimer's disease: Appropriate use recommendations from the French federation of memory clinics. The journal of prevention of Alzheimer's disease. 2025. doi:10.1016/j.tjpad.2025.100094. PMID: 40011173.
BibTeX
@article{villain2025-40011173,
author = {Villain, N. and Planche, V. and Lilamand, M. and Cordonnier, C. and Soto-Martin, M. and Mollion, H. and Bombois, S. and Delrieu, J. and others},
title = {{Lecanemab for early Alzheimer's disease: Appropriate use recommendations from the French federation of memory clinics}},
journal = {The journal of prevention of Alzheimer's disease},
year = {2025},
doi = {10.1016/j.tjpad.2025.100094},
pmid = {40011173},
url = {https://doi.org/10.1016/j.tjpad.2025.100094}
}
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
Key findings
- Lecanemab, a monoclonal antibody targeting β-amyloid protofibrils, has shown promising results in a Phase III clinical trial for the treatment of early stages of Alzheimer's disease (AD) and has been approved by the European Medicines Agency.
New to this subject? Start with our plain-English guide: Treatments →
Study details
- Evidence strengthLow
How this study scored 45/100
Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, sample size, effect reported, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record and multi-centre collaboration, so those were left out: it earned 26 of the 58 points we could judge it on, which is 45 out of 100.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 7 / 10 | Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (The journal of prevention of Alzheimer's disease) |
| Journal's citation record | — / 4 | No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Study design | 0 / 12 | No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Strength of evidence | 1 / 5 | Rated “low” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 4 / 5 | 2025 — within 3 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 0 / 4 | Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Effect reported | 0 / 3 | No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Studied in people | 0 / 3 | Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | — / 7 | No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score |
| Citations per year | — / 5 | No citation count or no year — left out of this score |
| Impact for its field and year | — / 6 | No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score |
| Cited by studies here | — / 6 | Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score |
| Still being cited | — / 4 | No yearly citation counts — left out of this score |
| Senior author's track record | — / 4 | Senior author's record not available — left out of this score |
| Institution's track record | — / 3 | No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Multi-centre collaboration | — / 3 | Institutions not listed — left out of this score |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 40011173) |
| Free to read | 2 / 2 | Free to read |
| Points | 26 / 58 | Scored on 11 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 26 of the 58 points we could judge it on is 45 out of 100. |
| Total | 45 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.
Related studies in Treatments
Also tagged “aducanumab”
332 studies in the library carry the topic tag “aducanumab”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 332 tagged studies.