Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 58 out of 100. Biomarkers

Topic: Amyloid, tau and blood-test diagnosis

Using blood samples from the publicly available ADNI research cohort (191 people with mild cognitive impairment or dementia), this study found the PrecivityAD2 blood test agreed with amyloid PET scans about 91% of the time. Note: although the dataset was independent, all authors are C2N Diagnostics employees or consultants with equity in the company, a disclosed conflict of interest worth keeping in mind.

Key findings

Why it matters

The PrecivityAD2 blood test matched brain PET scans 91% of the time in detecting amyloid pathology in 191 people with cognitive impairment. This diagnostic validation does not demonstrate whether identifying or treating amyloid improves symptoms or slows disease progression.

Study details

Limitations

All authors are employees/consultants of C2N Diagnostics with financial ties/equity in the test's maker, a disclosed conflict of interest; secondary analysis of a public research cohort (ADNI), not an independent clinical sample.

How this study scored 58/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record left out, no data; Study design 4 of 12; Strength of evidence 3 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 4 of 5; Sample size 2 of 4; Effect reported 3 of 3; Studied in people 3 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited left out, no data; Citations per year left out, no data; Impact for its field and year left out, no data; Cited by studies here 0 of 6; Still being cited left out, no data; Senior author's track record left out, no data; Institution's track record left out, no data; Multi-centre collaboration left out, no data; Indexed in PubMed 0 of 2; Free to read left out, no data. 36 of the 62 points it could be judged on, which is 58 of 100. Total 58 of 100.36 of the 62 points we could judge = 58 of 100

Published in a peer-reviewed journal, and it is a snapshot of people at one point in time. Scored zero for randomised / blinded and indexed in PubMed because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record, multi-centre collaboration and free to read, so those were left out: it earned 36 of the 62 points we could judge it on, which is 58 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (npj Dementia)
Journal's citation record — / 4 No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score
Study design 4 / 12 A snapshot of people at one point in time
Strength of evidence 3 / 5 Rated “moderate” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 4 / 5 2025 — within 3 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 2 / 4 191 participants
Effect reported 3 / 3 Effect reported with a statistic (interval, p-value, ratio or similar)
Studied in people 3 / 3 Studied in people (participant count stated)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited — / 7 No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score
Citations per year — / 5 No citation count or no year — left out of this score
Impact for its field and year — / 6 No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score
Cited by studies here 0 / 6 No other study in this library cites it
Still being cited — / 4 No yearly citation counts — left out of this score
Senior author's track record — / 4 Senior author's record not available — left out of this score
Institution's track record — / 3 No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score
Multi-centre collaboration — / 3 Institutions not listed — left out of this score
Indexed in PubMed 0 / 2 No PubMed ID and no DOI — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Free to read — / 2 Access not recorded — left out of this score
Points 36 / 62 Scored on 11 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 36 of the 62 points we could judge it on is 58 out of 100.
Total 58 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. This record has no DOI, so the citation leaves it out. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record names 8 authors; APA and Vancouver show the first six, BibTeX and the downloads carry all of them. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

APA 7th

Coppinger, J., West, T., Kirmess, K. M., Fogelman, I., Ray, S., Verghese, P. B., et al. (2025). Independent validation of the PrecivityAD2 blood test to identify presence or absence of brain amyloid pathology in individuals with cognitive impairment. npj Dementia.

Vancouver

Coppinger J, West T, Kirmess KM, Fogelman I, Ray S, Verghese PB, et al. Independent validation of the PrecivityAD2 blood test to identify presence or absence of brain amyloid pathology in individuals with cognitive impairment. npj Dementia. 2025.

BibTeX

@article{coppinger2025-7d747d82,
  author  = {Coppinger, Justine and West, Tim and Kirmess, Kris M. and Fogelman, Ilana and Ray, Sutapa and Verghese, Philip B. and Braunstein, Joel B. and Yarasheski, Kevin E.},
  title   = {{Independent validation of the PrecivityAD2 blood test to identify presence or absence of brain amyloid pathology in individuals with cognitive impairment}},
  journal = {npj Dementia},
  year    = {2025}
}

Related studies in Biomarkers

Also tagged “biomarkers”

821 studies in the library carry the topic tag “biomarkers”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 821 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Biomarkers

See all studies in Biomarkers →