Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 39 out of 100. Cognitive tests and assessment

Topic: Risk, prevention and care in population studies

In a cohort of 75 patients who completed Moneta's program (average age 73 ± 10, average MoCA score 20 ± 5), 59% had MCI and 33% had dementia. Patients completed 2.6 digital therapy calls (58 minutes) per week, and 2.3x more sessions overall than traditional outpatient therapy [4]. Patients' cognitive function significantly improved on average by 18% (p <0.001), compared to 13% for traditional outpatient therapy [4, 5]. Self reported quality of life also significantly improved on average by 11% (p <0.001) [6]. Access to practical and personalized support is a critical component to helping older adults with cognitive impairment to remain independent in daily life. Moneta's AI-powered program by telephone offers a scalable model for improving access to cognitive rehabilitation, with demonstrated real world outcomes. References [1] Manley et al., JAMA Neurology, 2022;79(12):1242-1249. [2] Leaving No One Behind In An Ageing World: World Social Report, United Nations, 2023. [3] Kudlicka et al., Cognitive rehabilitation for people with mild to moderate dementia, Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, 2023. [4] Compared to therapy outcomes data in the National Outcomes Measurement System of the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association for ages 50-89, cognitive communication disorder, outpatient setting, accessed January 17, 2025. [5] Functional communication measure (FCM) for cognitive function assessed by a SLP. [6] Quality of Life in Neurological Disorders.

Key findings

Why it matters

In a cohort of 75 patients, an AI-powered telephone cognitive rehabilitation program was followed by improved cognitive function and self-reported quality of life. The study reports real-world outcomes but does not compare against a randomized control group, so it cannot prove the program caused the improvements.

Study details

How this study scored 39/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record 2 of 4; Study design 0 of 12; Strength of evidence 3 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 4 of 5; Sample size 1 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 3 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited 1 of 7; Citations per year 0 of 5; Impact for its field and year 1 of 6; Cited by studies here 0 of 6; Still being cited 0 of 4; Senior author's track record left out, no data; Institution's track record left out, no data; Multi-centre collaboration 0 of 3; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 2 of 2. 36 of the 93 points it could be judged on, which is 39 of 100. Total 39 of 100.36 of the 93 points we could judge = 39 of 100

Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, effect reported and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on senior author's track record and institution's track record, so those were left out: it earned 36 of the 93 points we could judge it on, which is 39 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Alzheimer s & Dementia)
Journal's citation record 2 / 4 Alzheimer s & Dementia: journal h-index 228 (OpenAlex, 2026-10-29)
Study design 0 / 12 No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Strength of evidence 3 / 5 Rated “moderate” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 4 / 5 2025 — within 3 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 1 / 4 75 participants
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 3 / 3 Studied in people (participant count stated)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited 1 / 7 Cited 1 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10)
Citations per year 0 / 5 0.3 citations a year over 3 year(s) since 2025
Impact for its field and year 1 / 6 Cited 0.6× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI)
Cited by studies here 0 / 6 No other study in this library cites it
Still being cited 0 / 4 Cited 1 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex)
Senior author's track record — / 4 OpenAlex's profile for last-listed author Susan Kane holds only 3 work(s), too few to judge a track record — left out of this score
Institution's track record — / 3 No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score
Multi-centre collaboration 0 / 3 OpenAlex lists 0 institution(s) in 0 countries — scores zero (affiliation lists can be incomplete)
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 41433355)
Free to read 2 / 2 Free to read
Points 36 / 93 Scored on 18 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 36 of the 93 points we could judge it on is 39 out of 100.
Total 39 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Full text: free to read — OpenAlex lists this copy as free to read: the link above (checked 6 Feb 1020).

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

APA 7th

Flexman, J. A., Ng, J., Campbell, P. A., Darwish, R. V., & Kane, S. (2025). Improving Access to Dementia Care through AI‐Powered Cognitive Rehabilitation Therapy. Alzheimer s & Dementia. https://doi.org/10.1002/alz70863_110589

Vancouver

Flexman JA, Ng J, Campbell PA, Darwish RV, Kane S. Improving Access to Dementia Care through AI‐Powered Cognitive Rehabilitation Therapy. Alzheimer s & Dementia. 2025. doi:10.1002/alz70863_110589. PMID: 41433355.

BibTeX

@article{flexman2025-41433355,
  author  = {Flexman, Jennifer A. and Ng, Jessie and Campbell, Paul A and Darwish, Rebecca Vaughan and Kane, Susan},
  title   = {{Improving Access to Dementia Care through AI‐Powered Cognitive Rehabilitation Therapy}},
  journal = {Alzheimer s \& Dementia},
  year    = {2025},
  doi     = {10.1002/alz70863_110589},
  pmid    = {41433355},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1002/alz70863_110589}
}

Related studies in Cognitive tests and assessment

Similar studies

More on Cognitive tests and assessment

See all studies in Cognitive tests and assessment →