Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 43 out of 100. Cognitive tests and assessment

Topic: Risk, prevention and care in population studies

< 0.001) for both measures. When distinguishing NC from MCI/DM, the CIST outperformed the K-MMSE, demonstrating a higher AUC (0.869 vs. 0.842) and F1-score (0.697 vs. 0.409). The CIST is a reliable and useful tool for assessing cognitive function, showing advantages over the K-MMSE in detecting cognitive decline among older adults without formal education. Further large-scale validation studies are warranted.

Key findings

Why it matters

In older adults without formal education in South Korea, the Cognitive Impairment Screening Test outperformed the K-MMSE in distinguishing normal cognition from MCI or dementia, with a higher AUC and F1-score. The authors say further large-scale validation is warranted, so this is about improving screening, not treating, curing, or preventing Alzheimer's disease.

Study details

How this study scored 43/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record 2 of 4; Study design 0 of 12; Strength of evidence 1 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 4 of 5; Sample size 2 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 3 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited 1 of 7; Citations per year 1 of 5; Impact for its field and year 2 of 6; Cited by studies here 0 of 6; Still being cited 1 of 4; Senior author's track record 2 of 4; Institution's track record 2 of 3; Multi-centre collaboration 1 of 3; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 2 of 2. Total 43 of 100.43 of 100 points earned57 not earned

Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, effect reported and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Frontiers in Neuroscience)
Journal's citation record 2 / 4 Frontiers in Neuroscience: journal h-index 226 (OpenAlex, 2026-10-29)
Study design 0 / 12 No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Strength of evidence 1 / 5 Rated “low” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 4 / 5 2025 — within 3 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 2 / 4 100 participants
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 3 / 3 Studied in people (participant count stated)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited 1 / 7 Cited 4 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10)
Citations per year 1 / 5 1.3 citations a year over 3 year(s) since 2025
Impact for its field and year 2 / 6 Cited 2.5× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI)
Cited by studies here 0 / 6 No other study in this library cites it
Still being cited 1 / 4 Cited 4 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex)
Senior author's track record 2 / 4 Last-listed author Hosung Kim: h-index 37 (OpenAlex, whole career)
Institution's track record 2 / 3 University of Southern California: institution h-index 1,521 (OpenAlex)
Multi-centre collaboration 1 / 3 OpenAlex lists 3 institution(s) in 2 countries
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 40438629)
Free to read 2 / 2 Free to read
Total 43 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Full text: free to read — OpenAlex lists this copy as free to read: the link above (checked 6 Feb 1020).

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

APA 7th

Kang, K. W., Park, G., Kim, H., Cho, S. H., Choi, S., Choi, K., et al. (2025). Improved dementia screening for elderly with low education in South Korea using the Cognitive Impairment Screening Test (CIST). Frontiers in Neuroscience. https://doi.org/10.3389/fnins.2025.1599019

Vancouver

Kang KW, Park G, Kim H, Cho SH, Choi S, Choi K, et al. Improved dementia screening for elderly with low education in South Korea using the Cognitive Impairment Screening Test (CIST). Frontiers in Neuroscience. 2025. doi:10.3389/fnins.2025.1599019. PMID: 40438629.

BibTeX

@article{kang2025-40438629,
  author  = {Kang, Kyung Wook and Park, Gilsoon and Kim, Hyunsoo and Cho, Soo Hyun and Choi, Seong‐Min and Choi, Kang‐Ho and Lee, Hak-Loh and Shon, Gwangsoon and others},
  title   = {{Improved dementia screening for elderly with low education in South Korea using the Cognitive Impairment Screening Test (CIST)}},
  journal = {Frontiers in Neuroscience},
  year    = {2025},
  doi     = {10.3389/fnins.2025.1599019},
  pmid    = {40438629},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.3389/fnins.2025.1599019}
}

Studies this one cites

Referenced by this study and also in the alzhub library, so you can read them here.

Related studies in Cognitive tests and assessment

Also tagged “assessment”

840 studies in the library carry the topic tag “assessment”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 840 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Cognitive tests and assessment

See all studies in Cognitive tests and assessment →