Home › Research › Biomarkers
Impact of Reference and Target Region Selection on Amyloid PET SUV Ratios in the Phase 1b PRIME Study of Aducanumab
Chiao P, Bedell BJ, Avants B, Zijdenbos AP, Grand'Maison M, O'Neill P, O'Gorman J, Chen T et al.. Journal of nuclear medicine : official publication, Society of Nuclear Medicine, 2018-05-18
Topic: Brain proteins, microglia and lab models
Of the reference regions used, subcortical white matter, cerebellar white matter, and the pons, alone or in combination, generated the largest effect sizes. The use of the anterior cingulate cortex as a target ROI resulted in larger effect sizes than the use of the composite cortex. SUVR calculations were not affected by correction for brain volume changes over time. Dose- and time-dependent reductions in the amyloid PET SUVR were consistently observed with aducanumab only in cortical regions prone to amyloid plaque deposition, regardless of the reference region used. These data support the hypothesis that florbetapir SUVR responses associated with aducanumab treatment are a result of specific dose- and time-dependent reductions in the amyloid burden in patients with Alzheimer disease.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
APA 7th
Chiao, P., Bedell, B. J., Avants, B., Zijdenbos, A. P., Grand'Maison, M., O'Neill, P., et al. (2019). Impact of Reference and Target Region Selection on Amyloid PET SUV Ratios in the Phase 1b PRIME Study of Aducanumab. Journal of nuclear medicine : official publication, Society of Nuclear Medicine. https://doi.org/10.2967/jnumed.118.209130
Vancouver
Chiao P, Bedell BJ, Avants B, Zijdenbos AP, Grand'Maison M, O'Neill P, et al. Impact of Reference and Target Region Selection on Amyloid PET SUV Ratios in the Phase 1b PRIME Study of Aducanumab. Journal of nuclear medicine : official publication, Society of Nuclear Medicine. 2019. doi:10.2967/jnumed.118.209130. PMID: 29777003.
BibTeX
@article{chiao2019-29777003,
author = {Chiao, P. and Bedell, B. J. and Avants, B. and Zijdenbos, A. P. and Grand'Maison, M. and O'Neill, P. and O'Gorman, J. and Chen, T. and others},
title = {{Impact of Reference and Target Region Selection on Amyloid PET SUV Ratios in the Phase 1b PRIME Study of Aducanumab}},
journal = {Journal of nuclear medicine : official publication, Society of Nuclear Medicine},
year = {2019},
doi = {10.2967/jnumed.118.209130},
pmid = {29777003},
url = {https://doi.org/10.2967/jnumed.118.209130}
}
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
Key findings
- Of the reference regions used, subcortical white matter, cerebellar white matter, and the pons, alone or in combination, generated the largest effect sizes.
- The use of the anterior cingulate cortex as a target ROI resulted in larger effect sizes than the use of the composite cortex.
- SUVR calculations were not affected by correction for brain volume changes over time.
- Dose- and time-dependent reductions in the amyloid PET SUVR were consistently observed with aducanumab only in cortical regions prone to amyloid plaque deposition, regardless of the reference region used.
- These data support the hypothesis that florbetapir SUVR responses associated with aducanumab treatment are a result of specific dose- and time-dependent reductions in the amyloid burden in patients with Alzheimer disease.
Why it matters
This analysis of the PRIME study of aducanumab found that dose- and time-dependent reductions in amyloid PET signal occurred only in cortical regions prone to amyloid plaque deposition, regardless of which reference region was used. It supports the idea that the PET changes reflect specific reductions in amyloid burden, but it does not report clinical benefit.
New to this subject? Start with our plain-English guide: Blood tests & biomarkers →
Study details
- Evidence strengthHigh
How this study scored 62/100
Published in a peer-reviewed journal, and it is a randomised controlled trial. Scored zero for sample size and effect reported because the record does not state it.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 7 / 10 | Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Journal of nuclear medicine : official publication, Society of Nuclear Medicine) |
| Journal's citation record | 2 / 4 | Journal of Nuclear Medicine: journal h-index 230 (OpenAlex, 2026-10-29) |
| Study design | 11 / 12 | A randomised controlled trial (from PubMed type “Randomized Controlled Trial”) |
| Strength of evidence | 5 / 5 | Rated “high” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 2 / 5 | 2019 — within 10 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 0 / 4 | Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Effect reported | 0 / 3 | No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Studied in people | 3 / 3 | Studied in people (pubmed indexes it as a clinical or observational study) |
| Randomised / blinded | 1 / 2 | Randomised (as stated in the record) |
| Times cited | 4 / 7 | Cited 64 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10) |
| Citations per year | 2 / 5 | 7.1 citations a year over 9 year(s) since 2019 |
| Impact for its field and year | 2 / 6 | Cited 2.8× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI) |
| Cited by studies here | 2 / 6 | Cited by 6 other studies in this library |
| Still being cited | 2 / 4 | Cited 20 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex) |
| Senior author's track record | 4 / 4 | Last-listed author Robert A. Koeppe: h-index 125 (OpenAlex, whole career) |
| Institution's track record | 2 / 3 | University of Michigan: institution h-index 2,240 (OpenAlex) |
| Multi-centre collaboration | 1 / 3 | OpenAlex lists 3 institution(s) in 2 countries |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 29777003) |
| Free to read | 0 / 2 | Behind a paywall — scores zero |
| Total | 62 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
- DOI: 10.2967/jnumed.118.209130
- PubMed: 29777003
- Original source →
- Free full text: jnm.snmjournals.org →
Full text: free to read — Unpaywall lists this copy as free to read: the link above (checked 10 Oct 2026).
Studies this one cites
Referenced by this study and also in the alzhub library, so you can read them here.
Later studies that cite this one
6 studies in the alzhub library list this one in their references.
Related studies in Biomarkers
Also tagged “precursor”
1,339 studies in the library carry the topic tag “precursor”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 1,339 tagged studies.