Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 69 out of 100. Treatments

Topic: Amyloid, tau and blood-test diagnosis

This expert workgroup review summarizes what is known about ARIA, the brain-swelling (ARIA-E) and micro-bleeding (ARIA-H) side effect seen with anti-amyloid drugs. Across the Phase 3 trials, ARIA-E/ARIA-H occurred in about 12.6%/17.3% of lecanemab patients and 24%/31% of donanemab patients; most cases are mild or symptom-free and caught on routine MRI, but in roughly 1-2% of cases ARIA has caused permanent disability or death. People with two copies of the ApoE4 gene face 2.5-5 times the risk compared with non-carriers, and the group specifically warns that ARIA symptoms can look like a stroke and must not be mistakenly treated with clot-busting drugs.

Key findings

Why it matters

This workgroup review reports that ARIA occurred in about 12.6%/17.3% of lecanemab patients and 24%/31% of donanemab patients in pivotal trials, with most cases mild or symptom-free but roughly 1-2% causing permanent disability or death. It warns that ApoE ε4 homozygotes face 2.5-5 times the risk and that ARIA symptoms can look like a stroke and must not be mistakenly treated with clot-busting drugs.

Study details

Limitations

Synthesizes existing trial and case data rather than new original research; real-world ARIA rates outside clinical trials may differ from pivotal-trial rates.

How this study scored 69/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 9 of 10; Journal's citation record left out, no data; Study design 12 of 12; Strength of evidence 5 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 5 of 5; Sample size 0 of 4; Effect reported 2 of 3; Studied in people 0 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited left out, no data; Citations per year left out, no data; Impact for its field and year left out, no data; Cited by studies here 0 of 6; Still being cited left out, no data; Senior author's track record left out, no data; Institution's track record left out, no data; Multi-centre collaboration left out, no data; Indexed in PubMed 0 of 2; Free to read left out, no data. 43 of the 62 points it could be judged on, which is 69 of 100. Total 69 of 100.43 of the 62 points we could judge = 69 of 100

Published in a leading specialty journal, and it is a systematic review of all the studies on the question. Scored zero for sample size, studied in people and indexed in PubMed because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record, multi-centre collaboration and free to read, so those were left out: it earned 43 of the 62 points we could judge it on, which is 69 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 9 / 10 Tier 2 — leading specialty journal (Alzheimer's & Dementia)
Journal's citation record — / 4 No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score
Study design 12 / 12 A systematic review of all the studies on the question
Strength of evidence 5 / 5 Rated “high” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 5 / 5 2026 — within 1 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 0 / 4 Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Effect reported 2 / 3 Effect reported as a number, without an interval or test
Studied in people 0 / 3 Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 A review of other studies — randomisation is not credited here
Times cited — / 7 No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score
Citations per year — / 5 No citation count or no year — left out of this score
Impact for its field and year — / 6 No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score
Cited by studies here 0 / 6 No other study in this library cites it
Still being cited — / 4 No yearly citation counts — left out of this score
Senior author's track record — / 4 Senior author's record not available — left out of this score
Institution's track record — / 3 No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score
Multi-centre collaboration — / 3 Institutions not listed — left out of this score
Indexed in PubMed 0 / 2 No PubMed ID and no DOI — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Free to read — / 2 Access not recorded — left out of this score
Points 43 / 62 Scored on 11 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 43 of the 62 points we could judge it on is 69 out of 100.
Total 69 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. This record has no DOI, so the citation leaves it out. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

APA 7th

van Etten, E. S., et al. (2026). Amyloid-Related Imaging Abnormalities (ARIA) in Anti-Amyloid Therapies for Alzheimer's Disease: An Update from the Alzheimer's Association ARIA Workgroup. Alzheimer's & Dementia.

Vancouver

van Etten ES, et al. Amyloid-Related Imaging Abnormalities (ARIA) in Anti-Amyloid Therapies for Alzheimer's Disease: An Update from the Alzheimer's Association ARIA Workgroup. Alzheimer's & Dementia. 2026.

BibTeX

@article{vanetten2026-912127c4,
  author  = {van Etten, E. S. and others},
  title   = {{Amyloid-Related Imaging Abnormalities (ARIA) in Anti-Amyloid Therapies for Alzheimer's Disease: An Update from the Alzheimer's Association ARIA Workgroup}},
  journal = {Alzheimer's \& Dementia},
  year    = {2026}
}

Related studies in Treatments

Similar studies

More on Treatments

See all studies in Treatments →