Home › Research › Treatments
How donanemab data address the coverage with evidence development questions
Eric G Klein, Krista Schroeder, Alette M Wessels, Adam Phipps, Maureen Japha, Traci Schilling, Jennifer A Zimmer. Alzheimer's & dementia : the journal of the Alzheimer's Association, 2024-02-07
Topic: Drug trials: efficacy and safety
The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) established a class-based National Coverage Determination (NCD) for monoclonal antibodies directed against amyloid for Alzheimer's disease (AD) with patient access through Coverage with Evidence Development (CED) based on three questions. This review, focused on donanemab, answers each of these CED questions with quality evidence. TRAILBLAZER-ALZ registration trials are presented with supporting literature and real-world data to answer CED questions for donanemab. TRAILBLAZER-ALZ registration trials demonstrated that donanemab significantly slowed cognitive and functional decline in amyloid-positive early symptomatic AD participants, and lowered their risk of disease progression while key safety risks occurred primarily within the first 6 months and then declined. Donanemab meaningfully improved health outcomes with a manageable safety profile in an early symptomatic AD population, representative of Medicare populations across diverse practice settings. The donanemab data provide the necessary level of evidence for CMS to open a reconsideration of their NCD. HIGHLIGHTS: Donanemab meaningfully improved outcomes in trial participants with early symptomatic Alzheimer's disease. Comorbidities in trial participants were consistent with the Medicare population. Co-medications in trial participants were consistent with the Medicare population. Risks associated with treatment tended to occur in the first 6 months. Risks of amyloid-related imaging abnormalities were managed with careful observation and magnetic resonance imaging monitoring.
Key findings
- TRAILBLAZER-ALZ registration trials demonstrated that donanemab significantly slowed cognitive and functional decline in amyloid-positive early symptomatic AD participants, and lowered their risk of disease progression while key safety risks occurred primarily within the first 6 months and then declined.
- Risks associated with treatment tended to occur in the first 6 months.
New to this subject? Start with our plain-English guide: Treatments →
Study details
- Evidence strengthLow
How this study scored 46/100
Published in a leading specialty journal. Scored zero for study design, sample size, effect reported, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record, multi-centre collaboration and free to read, so those were left out: it earned 26 of the 56 points we could judge it on, which is 46 out of 100.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 9 / 10 | Tier 2 — leading specialty journal (Alzheimer's & dementia : the journal of the Alzheimer's Association) |
| Journal's citation record | — / 4 | No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Study design | 0 / 12 | No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Strength of evidence | 1 / 5 | Rated “low” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 4 / 5 | 2024 — within 3 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 0 / 4 | Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Effect reported | 0 / 3 | No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Studied in people | 0 / 3 | Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | — / 7 | No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score |
| Citations per year | — / 5 | No citation count or no year — left out of this score |
| Impact for its field and year | — / 6 | No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score |
| Cited by studies here | — / 6 | Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score |
| Still being cited | — / 4 | No yearly citation counts — left out of this score |
| Senior author's track record | — / 4 | Senior author's record not available — left out of this score |
| Institution's track record | — / 3 | No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Multi-centre collaboration | — / 3 | Institutions not listed — left out of this score |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 38323738) |
| Free to read | — / 2 | Access not recorded — left out of this score |
| Points | 26 / 56 | Scored on 10 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 26 of the 56 points we could judge it on is 46 out of 100. |
| Total | 46 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record names 7 authors; APA and Vancouver show the first six, BibTeX and the downloads carry all of them. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
APA 7th
Klein, E. G., Schroeder, K., Wessels, A. M., Phipps, A., Japha, M., Schilling, T., et al. (2024). How donanemab data address the coverage with evidence development questions. Alzheimer's & dementia : the journal of the Alzheimer's Association. https://doi.org/10.1002/alz.13700
Vancouver
Klein EG, Schroeder K, Wessels AM, Phipps A, Japha M, Schilling T, et al. How donanemab data address the coverage with evidence development questions. Alzheimer's & dementia : the journal of the Alzheimer's Association. 2024. doi:10.1002/alz.13700. PMID: 38323738.
BibTeX
@article{klein2024-38323738,
author = {Klein, Eric G and Schroeder, Krista and Wessels, Alette M and Phipps, Adam and Japha, Maureen and Schilling, Traci and Zimmer, Jennifer A},
title = {{How donanemab data address the coverage with evidence development questions}},
journal = {Alzheimer's \& dementia : the journal of the Alzheimer's Association},
year = {2024},
doi = {10.1002/alz.13700},
pmid = {38323738},
url = {https://doi.org/10.1002/alz.13700}
}
Related studies in Treatments
Also tagged “aducanumab”
332 studies in the library carry the topic tag “aducanumab”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 332 tagged studies.