Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 79 out of 100. Treatments

Topic: Plasma and spinal-fluid biomarkers

Background Increased white matter hyperintensity (WMH) volume visible on MRI is a common finding in Alzheimer's disease (AD). We hypothesized that WMH in preclinical AD is associated with the presence of advanced vessel amyloidosis manifested as microhemorrhages (MCH). Objectives 1) To assess the relationship between baseline WMH volume and baseline MCH. 2) To assess the relationship between longitudinal WMH accumulation and last MRI MCH during the double-blind phase of the A4 trial. Design A multicenter, randomized, double-blind, placebo-controlled, Phase 3 study comparing solanezumab with placebo given as infusions once every 4 weeks over 4.5 years in subjects with preclinical AD, defined as having evidence of elevated brain amyloid before the stage of clinically evident cognitive impairment, with an optional open-label extension period. Setting Anti-Amyloid Treatment in Asymptomatic Alzheimer's Disease (A4) study. Participants A sample of 1157 cognitively unimpaired older adults (mean age = 71.9 years [SD = 4.8 years], 59% women, 59% APOE ε4 carriers). Measurements A linear regression model was used to assess the impact of baseline MCH amount (0, 1, 2+) on WMH volume. A linear mixed-effects model was used to assess the impact of last MRI MCH on longitudinal WMH. All models were corrected for age, sex, grey matter volume, cortical amyloid PET, APOE ε4 status, and treatment group. Results Baseline WMH volume was greater in individuals with more than one MCH compared to those with no MCH (t=4.8, p<0.001). The longitudinal increase in WMH amongst individuals with one (t=2.3, p=0.025) and more than one MCH (t=6.7, p<0.001) at the last MRI was greater than those with no MCH. Conclusion These results indicate a strong association between WMH and MCH, a common manifestation of cerebral amyloid angiopathy and ARIA-H. These results suggest that increased WMH volume may represent an early sign of vessel amyloidosis, likely prior to the emergence of MCH.

Key findings

Study details

How this study scored 79/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record left out, no data; Study design 11 of 12; Strength of evidence 5 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 4 of 5; Sample size 0 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 3 of 3; Randomised / blinded 2 of 2; Times cited left out, no data; Citations per year left out, no data; Impact for its field and year left out, no data; Cited by studies here left out, no data; Still being cited left out, no data; Senior author's track record left out, no data; Institution's track record left out, no data; Multi-centre collaboration 2 of 3; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 2 of 2. 48 of the 61 points it could be judged on, which is 79 of 100. Total 79 of 100.48 of the 61 points we could judge = 79 of 100

Published in a peer-reviewed journal, and it is a large phase 3 trial. Scored zero for sample size and effect reported because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record and institution's track record, so those were left out: it earned 48 of the 61 points we could judge it on, which is 79 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (The journal of prevention of Alzheimer's disease)
Journal's citation record — / 4 No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score
Study design 11 / 12 A large phase 3 trial (from PubMed type “Clinical Trial, Phase III”)
Strength of evidence 5 / 5 Rated “high” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 4 / 5 2024 — within 3 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 0 / 4 Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 3 / 3 Studied in people (pubmed indexes it as a clinical or observational study)
Randomised / blinded 2 / 2 Randomised and blinded or placebo-controlled (as stated in the record)
Times cited — / 7 No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score
Citations per year — / 5 No citation count or no year — left out of this score
Impact for its field and year — / 6 No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score
Cited by studies here — / 6 Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score
Still being cited — / 4 No yearly citation counts — left out of this score
Senior author's track record — / 4 Senior author's record not available — left out of this score
Institution's track record — / 3 No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score
Multi-centre collaboration 2 / 3 PubMed indexes it as a multicentre study
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 39044495)
Free to read 2 / 2 Free to read
Points 48 / 61 Scored on 12 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 48 of the 61 points we could judge it on is 79 out of 100.
Total 79 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

APA 7th

Shirzadi, Z., Schultz, A. P., Properzi, M., Yaari, R., Yau, W. W., Brickman, A. M., et al. (2024). Greater White Matter Hyperintensity Volume Is Associated with the Number of Microhemorrhages in Preclinical Alzheimer's Disease. The journal of prevention of Alzheimer's disease. https://doi.org/10.14283/jpad.2024.139

Vancouver

Shirzadi Z, Schultz AP, Properzi M, Yaari R, Yau WW, Brickman AM, et al. Greater White Matter Hyperintensity Volume Is Associated with the Number of Microhemorrhages in Preclinical Alzheimer's Disease. The journal of prevention of Alzheimer's disease. 2024. doi:10.14283/jpad.2024.139. PMID: 39044495.

BibTeX

@article{shirzadi2024-39044495,
  author  = {Shirzadi, Z. and Schultz, A. P. and Properzi, M. and Yaari, R. and Yau, W. W. and Brickman, A. M. and Rafii, M. S. and Donohue, M. C. and others},
  title   = {{Greater White Matter Hyperintensity Volume Is Associated with the Number of Microhemorrhages in Preclinical Alzheimer's Disease}},
  journal = {The journal of prevention of Alzheimer's disease},
  year    = {2024},
  doi     = {10.14283/jpad.2024.139},
  pmid    = {39044495},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.14283/jpad.2024.139}
}

Related studies in Treatments

Similar studies

More on Treatments

See all studies in Treatments →