Home › Research › Tau biomarkers
Free amino acid and dipeptide changes in the body fluids from Alzheimer's disease subjects
Fonteh AN, Harrington RJ, Tsai A, Liao P, Harrington MG.. Amino acids, 2006-10-10
Topic: Amyloid, tau and blood-test diagnosis
Our aim was to determine changes in free amino acid (FAA) and dipeptide (DP) concentrations in probable Alzheimer's disease (pAD) subjects compared with control (CT) subjects using liquid chromatography and electrospray ionization tandem mass spectrometry (LCMS2). We recruited gender- and age-matched study participants based on neurological and neuropsychological assessments. We measured FAAs and DPs in cerebrospinal fluid (CSF), plasma and urine using LCMS2 with selected reaction monitoring (SRM). Imidazole-containing FAAs (histidine, methyl-histidine), catecholamines (L-DOPA and dopamine), citrulline, ornithine, glycine and antioxidant DPs (carnosine and anserine) accounted for the major changes between CT and pAD. Carnosine levels were significantly lower in pAD (328.4 +/- 91.31 nmol/dl) than in CT plasma (654.23 +/- 100.61 nmol/dl). In contrast, L-DOPA levels were higher in pAD (1400.84 +/- 253.68) than CT (513.10 +/- 121.61 nmol/dl) plasma. These data underscore the importance of FAA and DP metabolism in the pathogenesis of AD. Since our data show changes in antioxidants, neurotransmitters and their precursors, or FAA associated with urea metabolism in pAD compared with CT, we propose that manipulation of these metabolic pathways may be important in preventing AD progression.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
APA 7th
Fonteh, A. N., Harrington, R. J., Tsai, A., Liao, P., & Harrington, M. G. (2007). Free amino acid and dipeptide changes in the body fluids from Alzheimer's disease subjects. Amino acids. https://doi.org/10.1007/s00726-006-0409-8
Vancouver
Fonteh AN, Harrington RJ, Tsai A, Liao P, Harrington MG. Free amino acid and dipeptide changes in the body fluids from Alzheimer's disease subjects. Amino acids. 2007. doi:10.1007/s00726-006-0409-8. PMID: 17031479.
BibTeX
@article{fonteh2007-17031479,
author = {Fonteh, A. N. and Harrington, R. J. and Tsai, A. and Liao, P. and Harrington, M. G.},
title = {{Free amino acid and dipeptide changes in the body fluids from Alzheimer's disease subjects}},
journal = {Amino acids},
year = {2007},
doi = {10.1007/s00726-006-0409-8},
pmid = {17031479},
url = {https://doi.org/10.1007/s00726-006-0409-8}
}
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
Key findings
- Our aim was to determine changes in free amino acid (FAA) and dipeptide (DP) concentrations in probable Alzheimer's disease (pAD) subjects compared with control (CT) subjects using liquid chromatography and electrospray ionization tandem mass spectrometry (LCMS2).
- Carnosine levels were significantly lower in pAD (328.4 +/- 91.31 nmol/dl) than in CT plasma (654.23 +/- 100.61 nmol/dl).
- Since our data show changes in antioxidants, neurotransmitters and their precursors, or FAA associated with urea metabolism in pAD compared with CT, we propose that manipulation of these metabolic pathways may be important in preventing AD progression.
New to this subject? Start with our plain-English guide: Blood tests & biomarkers →
Study details
- Evidence strengthLow
How this study scored 36/100
Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, sample size, effect reported, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record and multi-centre collaboration, so those were left out: it earned 21 of the 58 points we could judge it on, which is 36 out of 100.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 7 / 10 | Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Amino acids) |
| Journal's citation record | — / 4 | No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Study design | 0 / 12 | No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Strength of evidence | 1 / 5 | Rated “low” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 1 / 5 | 2007 — within 20 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 0 / 4 | Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Effect reported | 0 / 3 | No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Studied in people | 0 / 3 | Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | — / 7 | No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score |
| Citations per year | — / 5 | No citation count or no year — left out of this score |
| Impact for its field and year | — / 6 | No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score |
| Cited by studies here | — / 6 | Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score |
| Still being cited | — / 4 | No yearly citation counts — left out of this score |
| Senior author's track record | — / 4 | Senior author's record not available — left out of this score |
| Institution's track record | — / 3 | No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Multi-centre collaboration | — / 3 | Institutions not listed — left out of this score |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 17031479) |
| Free to read | 0 / 2 | Behind a paywall — scores zero |
| Points | 21 / 58 | Scored on 11 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 21 of the 58 points we could judge it on is 36 out of 100. |
| Total | 36 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.
Related studies in Tau biomarkers
Also tagged “changes”
5 studies in the library carry the topic tag “changes”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 5 tagged studies.