Home › Research › Biomarkers
Elevation of plasma soluble amyloid precursor protein beta in Alzheimer's disease
Sang-Moon Yun, Sun-Jung Cho, Chulman Jo, Moon Ho Park, Changsu Han, Young Ho Koh. Archives of gerontology and geriatrics, 2019-12-09
Topic: Plasma and spinal-fluid biomarkers
The plasma level of sAPPβ was significantly increased in AD patients than in cognitively healthy controls. However, no significant change in plasma sAPPα was observed among the three groups. Furthermore, the plasma sAPPβ levels significantly correlated with cognitive assessment scales, such as clinical dementia rating (CDR), and mini-mental status examination (MMSE). Interestingly, sAPPα and sAPPβ had a positive correlation with each other in blood plasma, similar to previous studies on CSF sAPP. This correlation was stronger in the MCI and AD groups than in the cognitively healthy controls. These results suggest that individuals with elevated plasma sAPPβ levels are at an increased risk of AD; elevation in these levels may reflect the progression of disease.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
APA 7th
Yun, S.-M., Cho, S.-J., Jo, C., Park, M. H., Han, C., & Koh, Y. H. (2020). Elevation of plasma soluble amyloid precursor protein beta in Alzheimer's disease. Archives of gerontology and geriatrics. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.archger.2019.103995
Vancouver
Yun S.-M, Cho S.-J, Jo C, Park MH, Han C, Koh YH. Elevation of plasma soluble amyloid precursor protein beta in Alzheimer's disease. Archives of gerontology and geriatrics. 2020. doi:10.1016/j.archger.2019.103995. PMID: 31874328.
BibTeX
@article{yun2020-31874328,
author = {Yun, Sang-Moon and Cho, Sun-Jung and Jo, Chulman and Park, Moon Ho and Han, Changsu and Koh, Young Ho},
title = {{Elevation of plasma soluble amyloid precursor protein beta in Alzheimer's disease}},
journal = {Archives of gerontology and geriatrics},
year = {2020},
doi = {10.1016/j.archger.2019.103995},
pmid = {31874328},
url = {https://doi.org/10.1016/j.archger.2019.103995}
}
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
Key findings
- The plasma level of sAPPβ was significantly increased in AD patients than in cognitively healthy controls.
- However, no significant change in plasma sAPPα was observed among the three groups.
- Furthermore, the plasma sAPPβ levels significantly correlated with cognitive assessment scales, such as clinical dementia rating (CDR), and mini-mental status examination (MMSE).
- Interestingly, sAPPα and sAPPβ had a positive correlation with each other in blood plasma, similar to previous studies on CSF sAPP.
- This correlation was stronger in the MCI and AD groups than in the cognitively healthy controls.
New to this subject? Start with our plain-English guide: Blood tests & biomarkers →
Study details
- Evidence strengthLow
How this study scored 39/100
Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, sample size, effect reported, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record, multi-centre collaboration and free to read, so those were left out: it earned 22 of the 56 points we could judge it on, which is 39 out of 100.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 7 / 10 | Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Archives of gerontology and geriatrics) |
| Journal's citation record | — / 4 | No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Study design | 0 / 12 | No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Strength of evidence | 1 / 5 | Rated “low” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 2 / 5 | 2020 — within 10 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 0 / 4 | Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Effect reported | 0 / 3 | No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Studied in people | 0 / 3 | Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | — / 7 | No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score |
| Citations per year | — / 5 | No citation count or no year — left out of this score |
| Impact for its field and year | — / 6 | No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score |
| Cited by studies here | — / 6 | Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score |
| Still being cited | — / 4 | No yearly citation counts — left out of this score |
| Senior author's track record | — / 4 | Senior author's record not available — left out of this score |
| Institution's track record | — / 3 | No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Multi-centre collaboration | — / 3 | Institutions not listed — left out of this score |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 31874328) |
| Free to read | — / 2 | Access not recorded — left out of this score |
| Points | 22 / 56 | Scored on 10 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 22 of the 56 points we could judge it on is 39 out of 100. |
| Total | 39 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.
Related studies in Biomarkers
Also tagged “neurofilament”
697 studies in the library carry the topic tag “neurofilament”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 697 tagged studies.