Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 62 out of 100. End-of-life care

Topic: Risk, prevention and care in population studies

Objectives To examine end-of-life government expenditures for short- and long-stay Medicare- and Medicaid-eligible (dual-eligible) nursing home (NH) hospice and nonhospice residents. Design A retrospective cohort study. Setting Six hundred fifty-seven Florida NHs. Participants Dual-eligible NH residents who died in Florida NHs between July and December 1999 (N=5,774). Measurements Nursing home stays of 90 days or less were considered short stays (n=1,739), and those over 90 days were long stays (n=4,035). Three diagnosis groups were studied: cancer without Alzheimer's disease or dementia, Alzheimer's disease or dementia, and other diagnoses. Eligibility and expenditure claims data for 1998 and 1999 were merged with vital statistics and NH resident assessment data to determine diagnoses, location of death, hospice enrollment, eligibility, and expenditures. Results Twenty percent of short-stay (n=350) and 26% of long-stay (n=958) NH decedents elected hospice; of these, 73% of short-stay and 58% of long-stay NH residents had hospice stays of 30 days or less. Overall, mean government expenditures in the last month of life were significantly less for hospice than nonhospice residents (7,365 dollars; 95% confidence interval (CI)=7,144-7586 dollars vs 8,134 dollars; 95% CI=7,896-8,372 dollars), but 1-month expenditures were only significantly lower for hospice residents with short NH stays, not for those with long NH stays. Conclusion Overall, hospice care in NHs does not appear to increase government expenditures. Because significantly lower expenditures are observed for short-stay NH hospice residents, policy restricting access to Medicare hospice for Medicare skilled nursing facility residents may represent a missed opportunity for savings.

Key findings

Study details

How this study scored 62/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record left out, no data; Study design 7 of 12; Strength of evidence 3 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 1 of 5; Sample size 3 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 3 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited left out, no data; Citations per year left out, no data; Impact for its field and year left out, no data; Cited by studies here left out, no data; Still being cited left out, no data; Senior author's track record left out, no data; Institution's track record left out, no data; Multi-centre collaboration left out, no data; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 0 of 2. 36 of the 58 points it could be judged on, which is 62 of 100. Total 62 of 100.36 of the 58 points we could judge = 62 of 100

Published in a peer-reviewed journal, and it is a cohort study following people over time. Scored zero for effect reported and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record and multi-centre collaboration, so those were left out: it earned 36 of the 58 points we could judge it on, which is 62 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Journal of the American Geriatrics Society)
Journal's citation record — / 4 No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score
Study design 7 / 12 A cohort study following people over time
Strength of evidence 3 / 5 Rated “moderate” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 1 / 5 2004 — older than 20 years, still counted
Sample size 3 / 4 5,774 participants
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 3 / 3 Studied in people (participant count stated)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited — / 7 No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score
Citations per year — / 5 No citation count or no year — left out of this score
Impact for its field and year — / 6 No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score
Cited by studies here — / 6 Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score
Still being cited — / 4 No yearly citation counts — left out of this score
Senior author's track record — / 4 Senior author's record not available — left out of this score
Institution's track record — / 3 No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score
Multi-centre collaboration — / 3 Institutions not listed — left out of this score
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 15271115)
Free to read 0 / 2 Behind a paywall — scores zero
Points 36 / 58 Scored on 11 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 36 of the 58 points we could judge it on is 62 out of 100.
Total 62 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

APA 7th

Miller, S. C., Intrator, O., Gozalo, P., Roy, J., Barber, J., & Mor, V. (2004). Government expenditures at the end of life for short- and long-stay nursing home residents: differences by hospice enrollment status. Journal of the American Geriatrics Society. https://doi.org/10.1111/j.1532-5415.2004.52357.x

Vancouver

Miller SC, Intrator O, Gozalo P, Roy J, Barber J, Mor V. Government expenditures at the end of life for short- and long-stay nursing home residents: differences by hospice enrollment status. Journal of the American Geriatrics Society. 2004. doi:10.1111/j.1532-5415.2004.52357.x. PMID: 15271115.

BibTeX

@article{miller2004-15271115,
  author  = {Miller, S. C. and Intrator, O. and Gozalo, P. and Roy, J. and Barber, J. and Mor, V.},
  title   = {{Government expenditures at the end of life for short- and long-stay nursing home residents: differences by hospice enrollment status}},
  journal = {Journal of the American Geriatrics Society},
  year    = {2004},
  doi     = {10.1111/j.1532-5415.2004.52357.x},
  pmid    = {15271115},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1111/j.1532-5415.2004.52357.x}
}

Related studies in End-of-life care

Similar studies

More on End-of-life care

See all studies in End-of-life care →