Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 48 out of 100. Cognitive tests and assessment

Topic: Risk, prevention and care in population studies

A significant median Centiloid reduction of 30.9 was observed, with a 24.1% amyloid PET negativity rate after six months. While scores on cognitive and functional scales (CDR-SB, ADL) significantly worsened, indicating disease progression, the rate of progression was significantly slower compared to the control group. Structural MRI showed significant volume reduction in multiple brain regions and increased ventricular volume post-treatment, with no statistically significant change in the ALPS value.

Key findings

Why it matters

In this real-world cohort, lecanemab reduced amyloid on PET scans, and although cognitive and functional scores still worsened, the rate of progression was slower than in a control group. Brain imaging also showed volume reduction in several regions and increased ventricular volume after treatment.

Study details

How this study scored 48/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record 1 of 4; Study design 0 of 12; Strength of evidence 3 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 5 of 5; Sample size 1 of 4; Effect reported 2 of 3; Studied in people 3 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited 1 of 7; Citations per year 1 of 5; Impact for its field and year 4 of 6; Cited by studies here 1 of 6; Still being cited 1 of 4; Senior author's track record left out, no data; Institution's track record 1 of 3; Multi-centre collaboration 1 of 3; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 2 of 2. 46 of the 96 points it could be judged on, which is 48 of 100. Total 48 of 100.46 of the 96 points we could judge = 48 of 100

Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on senior author's track record, so that was left out: it earned 46 of the 96 points we could judge it on, which is 48 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Alzheimer s Research & Therapy)
Journal's citation record 1 / 4 Alzheimer s Research & Therapy: journal h-index 146 (OpenAlex, 2026-10-29)
Study design 0 / 12 No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Strength of evidence 3 / 5 Rated “moderate” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 5 / 5 2026 — within 1 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 1 / 4 42 participants
Effect reported 2 / 3 Effect reported as a number, without an interval or test
Studied in people 3 / 3 Studied in people (participant count stated)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited 1 / 7 Cited 3 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10)
Citations per year 1 / 5 1.5 citations a year over 2 year(s) since 2026
Impact for its field and year 4 / 6 Cited 12.4× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI)
Cited by studies here 1 / 6 Cited by 1 other studies in this library
Still being cited 1 / 4 Cited 3 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex)
Senior author's track record — / 4 OpenAlex's profile for last-listed author Jing Gao holds only 4 work(s), too few to judge a track record — left out of this score
Institution's track record 1 / 3 Chinese Academy of Medical Sciences & Peking Union Medical College: institution h-index 950 (OpenAlex)
Multi-centre collaboration 1 / 3 OpenAlex lists 2 institution(s) in 1 country
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 41520099)
Free to read 2 / 2 Free to read
Points 46 / 96 Scored on 19 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 46 of the 96 points we could judge it on is 48 out of 100.
Total 48 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Full text: free to read — OpenAlex lists this copy as free to read: the link above (checked 6 Feb 1020).

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

APA 7th

Mao, C., Wang, W., Huang, X., Wu, M., Wang, Y., Wang, T., et al. (2026). Real world clinical practice of lecanemab at PUMCH dementia cohort: focus on dynamic imaging and biomarker evolution. Alzheimer s Research & Therapy. https://doi.org/10.1186/s13195-025-01943-z

Vancouver

Mao C, Wang W, Huang X, Wu M, Wang Y, Wang T, et al. Real world clinical practice of lecanemab at PUMCH dementia cohort: focus on dynamic imaging and biomarker evolution. Alzheimer s Research & Therapy. 2026. doi:10.1186/s13195-025-01943-z. PMID: 41520099.

BibTeX

@article{mao2026-41520099,
  author  = {Mao, Chenhui and Wang, Wenjun and Huang, Xinying and Wu, Meiqi and Wang, Yifei and Wang, Tianyi and Qiu, Yuyue and Chu, Shanshan and others},
  title   = {{Real world clinical practice of lecanemab at PUMCH dementia cohort: focus on dynamic imaging and biomarker evolution}},
  journal = {Alzheimer s Research \& Therapy},
  year    = {2026},
  doi     = {10.1186/s13195-025-01943-z},
  pmid    = {41520099},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1186/s13195-025-01943-z}
}

Studies this one cites

Referenced by this study and also in the alzhub library, so you can read them here.

Later studies that cite this one

1 study in the alzhub library lists this one in its references.

Related studies in Cognitive tests and assessment

Also tagged “double-blind”

783 studies in the library carry the topic tag “double-blind”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 783 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Cognitive tests and assessment

See all studies in Cognitive tests and assessment →