Home › Research › Prevention and risk
Dementia prevention in memory clinics: recommendations from the European task force for brain health services
Frisoni GB, Altomare D, Ribaldi F, Villain N, Brayne C, Mukadam N, Abramowicz M, Barkhof F et al.. The Lancet regional health. Europe, 2023-01-31
Topic: Risk, prevention and care in population studies
Observational population studies indicate that prevention of dementia and cognitive decline is being accomplished, possibly as an unintended result of better vascular prevention and healthier lifestyles. Population aging in the coming decades requires deliberate efforts to further decrease its prevalence and societal burden. Increasing evidence supports the efficacy of preventive interventions on persons with intact cognition and high dementia risk. We report recommendations for the deployment of second-generation memory clinics (Brain Health Services) whose mission is evidence-based and ethical dementia prevention in at-risk individuals. The cornerstone interventions consist of (i) assessment of genetic and potentially modifiable risk factors including brain pathology, and risk stratification, (ii) risk communication with ad-hoc protocols, (iii) risk reduction with multi-domain interventions, and (iv) cognitive enhancement with cognitive and physical training. A roadmap is proposed for concept validation and ensuing clinical deployment.
Key findings
- Observational population studies indicate that prevention of dementia and cognitive decline is being accomplished, possibly as an unintended result of better vascular prevention and healthier lifestyles.
Why it matters
This report recommends that memory clinics be redesigned as Brain Health Services that assess genetic and modifiable risk factors, communicate risk, and deliver multi-domain risk reduction and cognitive and physical training. It proposes a roadmap for validating and then deploying these services, but does not itself test whether they prevent dementia.
New to this subject? Start with our plain-English guide: Prevention →
Study details
- Evidence strengthLow
How this study scored 55/100
Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, sample size, effect reported, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 7 / 10 | Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (The Lancet regional health. Europe) |
| Journal's citation record | 1 / 4 | The Lancet Regional Health - Europe: journal h-index 88 (OpenAlex, 2026-10-29) |
| Study design | 0 / 12 | No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Strength of evidence | 1 / 5 | Rated “low” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 3 / 5 | 2023 — within 6 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 0 / 4 | Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Effect reported | 0 / 3 | No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Studied in people | 0 / 3 | Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | 5 / 7 | Cited 189 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10) |
| Citations per year | 4 / 5 | 37.8 citations a year over 5 year(s) since 2023 |
| Impact for its field and year | 5 / 6 | Cited 34.0× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI) |
| Cited by studies here | 3 / 6 | Cited by 19 other studies in this library |
| Still being cited | 3 / 4 | Cited 159 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex) |
| Senior author's track record | 4 / 4 | Last-listed author Bruno Dubois: h-index 147 (OpenAlex, whole career) |
| Institution's track record | 2 / 3 | University of Oxford: institution h-index 2,205 (OpenAlex) |
| Multi-centre collaboration | 3 / 3 | OpenAlex lists 51 institution(s) in 12 countries |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 36895446) |
| Free to read | 2 / 2 | Free to read |
| Total | 55 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
- DOI: 10.1016/j.lanepe.2022.100576
- PubMed: 36895446
- Original source →
- Free full text: The Lancet Regional Health - Europe →
Full text: free to read — OpenAlex lists this copy as free to read: the link above (checked 6 Feb 1020).
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
APA 7th
Frisoni, G. B., Altomare, D., Ribaldi, F., Villain, N., Brayne, C., Mukadam, N., et al. (2023). Dementia prevention in memory clinics: recommendations from the European task force for brain health services. The Lancet regional health. Europe. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.lanepe.2022.100576
Vancouver
Frisoni GB, Altomare D, Ribaldi F, Villain N, Brayne C, Mukadam N, et al. Dementia prevention in memory clinics: recommendations from the European task force for brain health services. The Lancet regional health. Europe. 2023. doi:10.1016/j.lanepe.2022.100576. PMID: 36895446.
BibTeX
@article{frisoni2023-36895446,
author = {Frisoni, G. B. and Altomare, D. and Ribaldi, F. and Villain, N. and Brayne, C. and Mukadam, N. and Abramowicz, M. and Barkhof, F. and others},
title = {{Dementia prevention in memory clinics: recommendations from the European task force for brain health services}},
journal = {The Lancet regional health. Europe},
year = {2023},
doi = {10.1016/j.lanepe.2022.100576},
pmid = {36895446},
url = {https://doi.org/10.1016/j.lanepe.2022.100576}
}
Studies this one cites
Referenced by this study and also in the alzhub library, so you can read them here. Showing 12 of 13.
Later studies that cite this one
19 studies in the alzhub library list this one in their references. Showing the 8 highest-scoring.
Related studies in Prevention and risk
Also tagged “prevalence”
1,224 studies in the library carry the topic tag “prevalence”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 1,224 tagged studies.