Home › Research › Biomarkers
Current advances in plasma and cerebrospinal fluid biomarkers in Alzheimer's disease
Leuzy A, Cullen NC, Mattsson-Carlgren N, Hansson O.. Current opinion in neurology, 2021-04-01
Topic: Plasma and spinal-fluid biomarkers
Purpose of review This review provides a concise overview of recent advances in cerebrospinal fluid (CSF) and blood-based biomarkers of Alzheimer's disease lesions. Recent findings Important recent advances for CSF Alzheimer's disease biomarkers include the introduction of fully automated assays, the development and implementation of certified reference materials for CSF Aβ42 and a unified protocol for handling of samples, which all support reliability and availability of CSF Alzheimer's disease biomarkers. Aβ deposition can be detected using Aβ42/Aβ40 ratio in both CSF and plasma, though a much more modest change is seen in plasma. Tau aggregation can be detected using phosphorylated tau (P-tau) at threonine 181 and 217 in CSF, with similar accuracy in plasma. Neurofilament light (NfL) be measured in CSF and shows similar diagnostic accuracy in plasma. Though total tau (T-tau) can also be measured in plasma, this measure is of limited clinical relevance for Alzheimer's disease in its current immunoassay format. Summary Alzheimer's disease biomarkers, including Aβ, P-tau and NfL can now be reliably measured in both CSF and blood. Plasma-based measures of P-tau show particular promise, with potential applications in both clinical practice and in clinical trials.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
APA 7th
Leuzy, A., Cullen, N. C., Mattsson-Carlgren, N., & Hansson, O. (2021). Current advances in plasma and cerebrospinal fluid biomarkers in Alzheimer's disease. Current opinion in neurology. https://doi.org/10.1097/wco.0000000000000904
Vancouver
Leuzy A, Cullen NC, Mattsson-Carlgren N, Hansson O. Current advances in plasma and cerebrospinal fluid biomarkers in Alzheimer's disease. Current opinion in neurology. 2021. doi:10.1097/wco.0000000000000904. PMID: 33470669.
BibTeX
@article{leuzy2021-33470669,
author = {Leuzy, A. and Cullen, N. C. and Mattsson-Carlgren, N. and Hansson, O.},
title = {{Current advances in plasma and cerebrospinal fluid biomarkers in Alzheimer's disease}},
journal = {Current opinion in neurology},
year = {2021},
doi = {10.1097/wco.0000000000000904},
pmid = {33470669},
url = {https://doi.org/10.1097/wco.0000000000000904}
}
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
Key findings
- Tau aggregation can be detected using phosphorylated tau (P-tau) at threonine 181 and 217 in CSF, with similar accuracy in plasma.
- Neurofilament light (NfL) be measured in CSF and shows similar diagnostic accuracy in plasma.
- Though total tau (T-tau) can also be measured in plasma, this measure is of limited clinical relevance for Alzheimer's disease in its current immunoassay format.
- Summary Alzheimer's disease biomarkers, including Aβ, P-tau and NfL can now be reliably measured in both CSF and blood.
- Plasma-based measures of P-tau show particular promise, with potential applications in both clinical practice and in clinical trials.
New to this subject? Start with our plain-English guide: Blood tests & biomarkers →
Study details
- Evidence strengthLow
How this study scored 40/100
Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, sample size, effect reported, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record and multi-centre collaboration, so those were left out: it earned 23 of the 58 points we could judge it on, which is 40 out of 100.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 7 / 10 | Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Current opinion in neurology) |
| Journal's citation record | — / 4 | No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Study design | 0 / 12 | No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Strength of evidence | 1 / 5 | Rated “low” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 3 / 5 | 2021 — within 6 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 0 / 4 | Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Effect reported | 0 / 3 | No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Studied in people | 0 / 3 | Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | — / 7 | No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score |
| Citations per year | — / 5 | No citation count or no year — left out of this score |
| Impact for its field and year | — / 6 | No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score |
| Cited by studies here | — / 6 | Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score |
| Still being cited | — / 4 | No yearly citation counts — left out of this score |
| Senior author's track record | — / 4 | Senior author's record not available — left out of this score |
| Institution's track record | — / 3 | No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Multi-centre collaboration | — / 3 | Institutions not listed — left out of this score |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 33470669) |
| Free to read | 0 / 2 | Behind a paywall — scores zero |
| Points | 23 / 58 | Scored on 11 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 23 of the 58 points we could judge it on is 40 out of 100. |
| Total | 40 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.
Related studies in Biomarkers
Also tagged “neurofilament”
693 studies in the library carry the topic tag “neurofilament”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 693 tagged studies.