Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 48 out of 100. Biomarkers

Topic: Amyloid, tau and blood-test diagnosis

Objectives Decreased cerebrospinal fluid (CSF) amyloid beta 42/40 ratio (Aβ42/40) is one of the core Alzheimer's disease (AD) biomarkers. Measurement of Aβ42/40 in plasma has also been proposed as a surrogate marker for amyloidosis, however the validity and the diagnostic performance of this biomarker is still uncertain. Here we evaluated two immunoassays targeting distinct regions of the amyloid peptides by (a) performing a method comparison in both CSF and plasma, and (b) assessing the diagnostic performance across the AD continuum. Methods We used N4PE and N3PA Simoa ® assays to measure Aβ42/40 in CSF and plasma of 134 patients: preclinical AD (pre-AD, n=19), mild cognitive impairment due to AD (MCI-AD, n=41), AD at the dementia stage (AD-dem, n=35), and a control group (CTRL, n=39). The N4PE includes a detector antibody targeting the amyloid N-terminus, while the N3PA uses a detector targeting amyloid mid-region. Results Method comparison of N4PE and N3PA assays revealed discrepancies in assessment of plasma Aβ42/Aβ40. While the diagnostic performance of the two assays did not significantly differ in CSF, in plasma, N4PE assay provided better accuracy for AD discrimination than N3PA assay (AUC AD-dem vs. CTRL 0.77 N4PE, 0.68 N3PA). Conclusions While both Aβ42/40 assays allowed for an effective discrimination between CTRL and different AD stages, the assay targeting amyloid N-terminal region provided the best diagnostic performance in plasma. Differences observed in technical and diagnostic performance of the two assays may depend on matrix-specific amyloid processing, suggesting that further studies should be carried to standardize amyloid ratio measurement in plasma.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

APA 7th

Wojdała, A. L., Bellomo, G., Toja, A., Gaetani, L., Parnetti, L., & Chiasserini, D. (2024). CSF and plasma Aβ42/40 across Alzheimer's disease continuum: comparison of two ultrasensitive Simoa® assays targeting distinct amyloid regions. Clinical chemistry and laboratory medicine. https://doi.org/10.1515/cclm-2023-0659

Vancouver

Wojdała AL, Bellomo G, Toja A, Gaetani L, Parnetti L, Chiasserini D. CSF and plasma Aβ42/40 across Alzheimer's disease continuum: comparison of two ultrasensitive Simoa® assays targeting distinct amyloid regions. Clinical chemistry and laboratory medicine. 2024. doi:10.1515/cclm-2023-0659. PMID: 37656487.

BibTeX

@article{wojdala2024-37656487,
  author  = {Wojdała, A. L. and Bellomo, G. and Toja, A. and Gaetani, L. and Parnetti, L. and Chiasserini, D.},
  title   = {{CSF and plasma Aβ42/40 across Alzheimer's disease continuum: comparison of two ultrasensitive Simoa® assays targeting distinct amyloid regions}},
  journal = {Clinical chemistry and laboratory medicine},
  year    = {2024},
  doi     = {10.1515/cclm-2023-0659},
  pmid    = {37656487},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1515/cclm-2023-0659}
}

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

Key findings

Study details

How this study scored 48/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record left out, no data; Study design 0 of 12; Strength of evidence 1 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 4 of 5; Sample size 1 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 3 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited left out, no data; Citations per year left out, no data; Impact for its field and year left out, no data; Cited by studies here left out, no data; Still being cited left out, no data; Senior author's track record left out, no data; Institution's track record left out, no data; Multi-centre collaboration left out, no data; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 0 of 2. 28 of the 58 points it could be judged on, which is 48 of 100. Total 48 of 100.28 of the 58 points we could judge = 48 of 100

Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, effect reported and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record and multi-centre collaboration, so those were left out: it earned 28 of the 58 points we could judge it on, which is 48 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Clinical chemistry and laboratory medicine)
Journal's citation record — / 4 No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score
Study design 0 / 12 No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Strength of evidence 1 / 5 Rated “low” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 4 / 5 2024 — within 3 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 1 / 4 19 participants
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 3 / 3 Studied in people (participant count stated)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited — / 7 No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score
Citations per year — / 5 No citation count or no year — left out of this score
Impact for its field and year — / 6 No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score
Cited by studies here — / 6 Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score
Still being cited — / 4 No yearly citation counts — left out of this score
Senior author's track record — / 4 Senior author's record not available — left out of this score
Institution's track record — / 3 No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score
Multi-centre collaboration — / 3 Institutions not listed — left out of this score
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 37656487)
Free to read 0 / 2 Behind a paywall — scores zero
Points 28 / 58 Scored on 11 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 28 of the 58 points we could judge it on is 48 out of 100.
Total 48 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.

Related studies in Biomarkers

Also tagged “simoa”

4 studies in the library carry the topic tag “simoa”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 4 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Biomarkers

See all studies in Biomarkers →