Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 66 out of 100. Long-term cohort studies

Topic: Amyloid, tau and blood-test diagnosis

Importance Longitudinal tau positron emission tomography (PET) is a relevant outcome in clinical trials evaluating disease-modifying therapies in Alzheimer disease (AD). A key unanswered question is whether the use of participant-specific (individualized) regions of interest (ROIs) is superior to conventional approaches where the same ROI (group-level) is used for each participant. Objective To compare group- and participant-level ROIs in participants at different stages of the AD clinical continuum in terms of annual percentage change in tau-PET standardized uptake value ratio (SUVR) and sample size requirements.

Key findings

Why it matters

This study compared group-level and participant-specific brain regions for measuring change in longitudinal tau PET in people across the Alzheimer's disease clinical continuum. It is a methods comparison, so it does not treat, cure, or prevent Alzheimer's disease.

Study details

How this study scored 66/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 9 of 10; Journal's citation record 2 of 4; Study design 7 of 12; Strength of evidence 3 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 3 of 5; Sample size 2 of 4; Effect reported 2 of 3; Studied in people 3 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited 4 of 7; Citations per year 3 of 5; Impact for its field and year 3 of 6; Cited by studies here 2 of 6; Still being cited 2 of 4; Senior author's track record 3 of 4; Institution's track record 2 of 3; Multi-centre collaboration 2 of 3; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 2 of 2. Total 66 of 100.66 of 100 points earned34 not earned

Published in a leading specialty journal, and it is a cohort study following people over time. Scored zero for randomised / blinded because the record does not state it.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 9 / 10 Tier 2 — leading specialty journal (JAMA neurology)
Journal's citation record 2 / 4 JAMA Neurology: journal h-index 235 (OpenAlex, 2026-10-29)
Study design 7 / 12 A cohort study following people over time
Strength of evidence 3 / 5 Rated “moderate” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 3 / 5 2023 — within 6 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 2 / 4 215 participants
Effect reported 2 / 3 Effect reported as a number, without an interval or test
Studied in people 3 / 3 Studied in people (participant count stated)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited 4 / 7 Cited 42 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10)
Citations per year 3 / 5 8.4 citations a year over 5 year(s) since 2023
Impact for its field and year 3 / 6 Cited 7.6× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI)
Cited by studies here 2 / 6 Cited by 6 other studies in this library
Still being cited 2 / 4 Cited 38 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex)
Senior author's track record 3 / 4 Last-listed author John Hsiao: h-index 57 (OpenAlex, whole career)
Institution's track record 2 / 3 University of Pennsylvania: institution h-index 1,859 (OpenAlex)
Multi-centre collaboration 2 / 3 OpenAlex lists 9 institution(s) in 4 countries
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 37155176)
Free to read 2 / 2 Free to read
Total 66 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Full text: free to read — OpenAlex lists this copy as free to read: the link above (checked 6 Feb 1020).

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

APA 7th

Leuzy, A., Binette, A. P., Vogel, J. W., Klein, G., Borroni, E., Tonietto, M., et al. (2023). Comparison of Group-Level and Individualized Brain Regions for Measuring Change in Longitudinal Tau Positron Emission Tomography in Alzheimer Disease. JAMA neurology. https://doi.org/10.1001/jamaneurol.2023.1067

Vancouver

Leuzy A, Binette AP, Vogel JW, Klein G, Borroni E, Tonietto M, et al. Comparison of Group-Level and Individualized Brain Regions for Measuring Change in Longitudinal Tau Positron Emission Tomography in Alzheimer Disease. JAMA neurology. 2023. doi:10.1001/jamaneurol.2023.1067. PMID: 37155176.

BibTeX

@article{leuzy2023-37155176,
  author  = {Leuzy, A. and Binette, A. P. and Vogel, J. W. and Klein, G. and Borroni, E. and Tonietto, M. and Strandberg, O. and Mattsson-Carlgren, N. and others},
  title   = {{Comparison of Group-Level and Individualized Brain Regions for Measuring Change in Longitudinal Tau Positron Emission Tomography in Alzheimer Disease}},
  journal = {JAMA neurology},
  year    = {2023},
  doi     = {10.1001/jamaneurol.2023.1067},
  pmid    = {37155176},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1001/jamaneurol.2023.1067}
}

Studies this one cites

Referenced by this study and also in the alzhub library, so you can read them here. Showing 12 of 23.

Later studies that cite this one

6 studies in the alzhub library list this one in their references.

Related studies in Long-term cohort studies

Also tagged “phosphorylated”

732 studies in the library carry the topic tag “phosphorylated”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 732 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Long-term cohort studies

See all studies in Long-term cohort studies →