Home › Research › Disease mechanisms
Clinical and pathological characterization of progressive aphasia
Knibb JA, Xuereb JH, Patterson K, Hodges JR.. Annals of neurology, 2006-01-01
Topic: Risk, prevention and care in population studies
Objective The clinical and neuropathological categorization of patients presenting with progressive aphasia is an area of controversy. This study aimed to characterize a large group of progressive aphasic patients from a single center (n = 38), first clinically by case note review, and then pathologically. Methods Hierarchical cluster analysis of the cases according to their clinical language deficits was used to establish an unbiased, data-driven classification. Results This analysis revealed two groups of cases corresponding to the syndromes of progressive nonfluent aphasia (n = 23) and semantic dementia (n = 15). Postmortem analysis showed a majority in both groups of pathologies from the spectrum of frontotemporal lobar degeneration: the most frequent were non-Alzheimer's disease (AD) tauopathy in the nonfluent cases (10 of 23) and frontotemporal lobar degeneration with ubiquitin-positive, tau-negative inclusions in the fluent cases (8 of 15). Despite rigorous exclusion of cases with clinically significant memory deficits or other cognitive impairments, the pathology of AD was present in approximately one third of each group (overall 12 of 38), although often with an atypical neuroanatomical distribution. Interpretation Progressive aphasia is best seen as a composite of two conditions, on both clinical and pathological levels: progressive nonfluent aphasia and semantic dementia.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
APA 7th
Knibb, J. A., Xuereb, J. H., Patterson, K., & Hodges, JR. (2006). Clinical and pathological characterization of progressive aphasia. Annals of neurology. https://doi.org/10.1002/ana.20700
Vancouver
Knibb JA, Xuereb JH, Patterson K, Hodges JR. Clinical and pathological characterization of progressive aphasia. Annals of neurology. 2006. doi:10.1002/ana.20700. PMID: 16374817.
BibTeX
@article{knibb2006-16374817,
author = {Knibb, J. A. and Xuereb, J. H. and Patterson, K. and Hodges, JR.},
title = {{Clinical and pathological characterization of progressive aphasia}},
journal = {Annals of neurology},
year = {2006},
doi = {10.1002/ana.20700},
pmid = {16374817},
url = {https://doi.org/10.1002/ana.20700}
}
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
Key findings
- Results This analysis revealed two groups of cases corresponding to the syndromes of progressive nonfluent aphasia (n = 23) and semantic dementia (n = 15).
- Despite rigorous exclusion of cases with clinically significant memory deficits or other cognitive impairments, the pathology of AD was present in approximately one third of each group (overall 12 of 38), although often with an atypical neuroanatomical distribution.
Study details
- Participants38
- Evidence strengthLow
How this study scored 47/100
Published in a leading specialty journal. Scored zero for study design, effect reported and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record and multi-centre collaboration, so those were left out: it earned 27 of the 58 points we could judge it on, which is 47 out of 100.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 9 / 10 | Tier 2 — leading specialty journal (Annals of neurology) |
| Journal's citation record | — / 4 | No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Study design | 0 / 12 | No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Strength of evidence | 1 / 5 | Rated “low” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 1 / 5 | 2006 — older than 20 years, still counted |
| Sample size | 1 / 4 | 38 participants |
| Effect reported | 0 / 3 | No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Studied in people | 3 / 3 | Studied in people (participant count stated) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | — / 7 | No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score |
| Citations per year | — / 5 | No citation count or no year — left out of this score |
| Impact for its field and year | — / 6 | No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score |
| Cited by studies here | — / 6 | Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score |
| Still being cited | — / 4 | No yearly citation counts — left out of this score |
| Senior author's track record | — / 4 | Senior author's record not available — left out of this score |
| Institution's track record | — / 3 | No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Multi-centre collaboration | — / 3 | Institutions not listed — left out of this score |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 16374817) |
| Free to read | 0 / 2 | Behind a paywall — scores zero |
| Points | 27 / 58 | Scored on 11 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 27 of the 58 points we could judge it on is 47 out of 100. |
| Total | 47 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.
Related studies in Disease mechanisms
Also in Disease mechanisms
128 studies in the library are filed under Disease mechanisms with no topic tag they share with another; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed tour of them. The Disease mechanisms hub.