Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 53 out of 100. Health systems and care delivery

Topic: Risk, prevention and care in population studies

Of the 60 000 869 beneficiaries included (50 853 806 aged 65 years or older [84.8%]; 32 567 891 female [54.3%]; 5 555 571 Hispanic [9.3%]; 6 318 194 non-Hispanic Black [10.5%]; 44 384 980 non-Hispanic White [74.0%]), there were 4 312 496 (7.2%) with highly likely ADRD, 1 124 080 (1.9%) with likely ADRD, and 2 572 176 (4.3%) with possible ADRD, totaling more than 8.0 million with diagnostic evidence of at least possible ADRD. These beneficiaries were older, more frail, more likely to be female, more likely to be dual-eligible, more likely to use long-term care, and more likely to die in 2019 compared with beneficiaries with no evidence of ADRD. These differences became larger when moving from the possible ADRD group to the highly likely ADRD group. Mean (SD) FFS monthly spending was $2966 ($4921) among beneficiaries with highly likely ADRD compared with $936 ($2952) for beneficiaries with no evidence of ADRD. Differences persisted after age standardization. Conclusions and Relevance: This cross-sectional study of 2019 Medicare beneficiaries identified more than 5.4 million Medicare beneficiaries with evidence of at least likely ADRD in 2019 using the diagnostic case definition. Pending validation against clinical and other methods of ascertainment, this approach can be adopted provisionally for national surveillance.

Key findings

Why it matters

This study describes a method for identifying Medicare beneficiaries who have diagnostic evidence of Alzheimer's disease and related dementias using claims data. It does not test any treatment, cure, or prevention, and the authors say the method needs validation before being adopted for national surveillance.

Study details

How this study scored 53/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 9 of 10; Journal's citation record 2 of 4; Study design 4 of 12; Strength of evidence 1 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 4 of 5; Sample size 0 of 4; Effect reported 2 of 3; Studied in people 0 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited 3 of 7; Citations per year 2 of 5; Impact for its field and year 4 of 6; Cited by studies here 2 of 6; Still being cited 2 of 4; Senior author's track record 2 of 4; Institution's track record 1 of 3; Multi-centre collaboration 1 of 3; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 2 of 2. Total 53 of 100.53 of 100 points earned47 not earned

Published in a leading specialty journal, and it is a snapshot of people at one point in time. Scored zero for sample size, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 9 / 10 Tier 2 — leading specialty journal (JAMA Network Open)
Journal's citation record 2 / 4 JAMA Network Open: journal h-index 235 (OpenAlex, 2026-10-29)
Study design 4 / 12 A snapshot of people at one point in time
Strength of evidence 1 / 5 Rated “low” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 4 / 5 2024 — within 3 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 0 / 4 Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Effect reported 2 / 3 Effect reported as a number, without an interval or test
Studied in people 0 / 3 Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited 3 / 7 Cited 27 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10)
Citations per year 2 / 5 6.8 citations a year over 4 year(s) since 2024
Impact for its field and year 4 / 6 Cited 8.1× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI)
Cited by studies here 2 / 6 Cited by 7 other studies in this library
Still being cited 2 / 4 Cited 27 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex)
Senior author's track record 2 / 4 Last-listed author David B. Rein: h-index 35 (OpenAlex, whole career)
Institution's track record 1 / 3 George Washington University: institution h-index 881 (OpenAlex)
Multi-centre collaboration 1 / 3 OpenAlex lists 2 institution(s) in 1 country
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 39226058)
Free to read 2 / 2 Free to read
Total 53 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Full text: free to read — OpenAlex lists this copy as free to read: the link above (checked 6 Feb 1020).

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

APA 7th

Gianattasio, K. Z., Wachsmuth, J., Murphy, R. A., Hartzman, A., Montazer, J. S., Cutroneo, E., et al. (2024). Case Definition for Diagnosed Alzheimer Disease and Related Dementias in Medicare. JAMA Network Open. https://doi.org/10.1001/jamanetworkopen.2024.27610

Vancouver

Gianattasio KZ, Wachsmuth J, Murphy RA, Hartzman A, Montazer JS, Cutroneo E, et al. Case Definition for Diagnosed Alzheimer Disease and Related Dementias in Medicare. JAMA Network Open. 2024. doi:10.1001/jamanetworkopen.2024.27610. PMID: 39226058.

BibTeX

@article{gianattasio2024-39226058,
  author  = {Gianattasio, Kan Z. and Wachsmuth, Jason and Murphy, Ryan Anne and Hartzman, Alex and Montazer, Jaleh S. and Cutroneo, Erin and Wittenborn, John S. and Power, Melinda C. and others},
  title   = {{Case Definition for Diagnosed Alzheimer Disease and Related Dementias in Medicare}},
  journal = {JAMA Network Open},
  year    = {2024},
  doi     = {10.1001/jamanetworkopen.2024.27610},
  pmid    = {39226058},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1001/jamanetworkopen.2024.27610}
}

Studies this one cites

Referenced by this study and also in the alzhub library, so you can read them here.

In the news

1 news article on alzhub's news page cites this paper.

Later studies that cite this one

7 studies in the alzhub library list this one in their references.

Related studies in Health systems and care delivery

Similar studies

More on Health systems and care delivery

See all studies in Health systems and care delivery →