Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

⚠ Preprint — not yet peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 16 out of 100. Clinical trials

Topic: Brain imaging, connectivity and assessment

Background Alzheimer's disease (AD) has become a major global public health crisis, with > 99% failure rate of disease-modifying therapies in phase III trials. Late initiation of intervention is the core issue. Approximately 40% of dementia cases are preventable through risk factor intervention, and AD pathology begins 20–30 years before clinical symptoms. Evidence from 2024 identifies ages 18–39 as a critical prevention window. Objective To systematically synthesize evidence on life-course AD prevention, construct a "Cognitive Fortress" theoretical framework, and develop community-based assessment tools and intervention pathways. Methods Systematic searches of PubMed, Cochrane, and Web of Science (inception to March 2026) yielded 90 included studies (18 RCTs, 52 cohorts, 20 systematic reviews). Quality was assessed using PRISMA, RoB 2.0, ROBINS-I, and AMSTAR-2. Evidence levels followed OCEBM 2011 criteria. Results ① Risk factors across four life stages were identified: early life (< 18y) low education (Level I); young adulthood (18-39y) hypertension, obesity, smoking/TBI, inflammatory markers, hearing loss (Level II); midlife (40-65y) hypertension, type 2 diabetes (Level I); late life (> 65y) hearing loss, depression (Level I). ② The four-line "Cognitive Fortress" framework was constructed: Line 1 Cognitive Reserve (early life), Line 2 Risk Surveillance (young adulthood), Line 3 Neuroprotection (midlife), Line 4 Compensatory Mechanisms (late life). ③ A 10-item risk scale and three-tier intervention pathway were developed. Conclusions AD prevention must transcend the "geriatric disease" mindset. A life-course, multi-stage intervention strategy can effectively delay or prevent clinical AD onset. The four-line framework provides actionable theoretical guidance for community-based AD prevention.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

APA 7th

ZHONG, M. (2026). Building Cognitive Lines of Defense: A Life-Course Prevention Strategy for Alzheimer's Disease—An Evidence-Based Multi-Stage Intervention Protocol. Research Square. https://doi.org/10.21203/rs.3.rs-10476642/v1

Vancouver

ZHONG M. Building Cognitive Lines of Defense: A Life-Course Prevention Strategy for Alzheimer's Disease—An Evidence-Based Multi-Stage Intervention Protocol. Research Square. 2026. doi:10.21203/rs.3.rs-10476642/v1.

BibTeX

@article{zhong2026-9d3fb2a4,
  author  = {ZHONG, M.},
  title   = {{Building Cognitive Lines of Defense: A Life-Course Prevention Strategy for Alzheimer's Disease—An Evidence-Based Multi-Stage Intervention Protocol}},
  journal = {Research Square},
  year    = {2026},
  doi     = {10.21203/rs.3.rs-10476642/v1},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.21203/rs.3.rs-10476642/v1}
}

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

Key findings

Study details

How this study scored 16/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 2 of 10; Journal's citation record 0 of 4; Study design 0 of 12; Strength of evidence 1 of 5; Peer-review validation 4 of 10; How recent 5 of 5; Sample size 0 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 0 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited left out, no data; Citations per year left out, no data; Impact for its field and year left out, no data; Cited by studies here left out, no data; Still being cited left out, no data; Senior author's track record left out, no data; Institution's track record left out, no data; Multi-centre collaboration left out, no data; Indexed in PubMed 1 of 2; Free to read 0 of 2. 13 of the 62 points it could be judged on, which is 21 of 100. Raw total 21 of 100, shown as 16 because this is not a peer-reviewed research article.raw total 21 of 100capped at 16 — hatched points do not count

Preprint — not yet peer-reviewed. It scored 21 on the same rubric, but non-peer-reviewed sources are capped at 16, so it shows as 16. Scored zero for study design, sample size, effect reported, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record and multi-centre collaboration, so those were left out: it earned 13 of the 62 points we could judge it on, which is 21 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 2 / 10 Tier 4 — not a peer-reviewed journal (Research Square)
Journal's citation record 0 / 4 Not a journal article, so the journal's record does not count
Study design 0 / 12 No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Strength of evidence 1 / 5 Rated “low” in our summary
Peer-review validation 4 / 10 Preprint — not yet peer-reviewed. Hosted on a preprint server.
How recent 5 / 5 2026 — within 1 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 0 / 4 Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 0 / 3 Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited — / 7 No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score
Citations per year — / 5 No citation count or no year — left out of this score
Impact for its field and year — / 6 No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score
Cited by studies here — / 6 Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score
Still being cited — / 4 No yearly citation counts — left out of this score
Senior author's track record — / 4 Senior author's record not available — left out of this score
Institution's track record — / 3 No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score
Multi-centre collaboration — / 3 Institutions not listed — left out of this score
Indexed in PubMed 1 / 2 Not in PubMed, but has a DOI
Free to read 0 / 2 Behind a paywall — scores zero
Points 13 / 62 Scored on 12 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 13 of the 62 points we could judge it on is 21 out of 100.
Total 21 / 100 Capped to 16 because this is not a peer-reviewed article.

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.

Related studies in Clinical trials

Also tagged “metabolic-syndrome”

304 studies in the library carry the topic tag “metabolic-syndrome”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 304 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Clinical trials

See all studies in Clinical trials →