Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

⚠ Press release — not a study alzhub usefulness score 11 out of 100. Treatments

Topic: Amyloid, tau and blood-test diagnosis

On January 31, 2024, Biogen announced it would discontinue development and sales of Aduhelm (aducanumab) and end the mandatory post-approval ENVISION confirmatory trial, redirecting resources to lecanemab (Leqembi) and other pipeline drugs, including two tau-targeting compounds (BIIB080, BIIB113). Biogen stated the decision was not driven by new safety or efficacy concerns, but by the cost of continuing the confirmatory trial and lack of interested commercial partners.

Key findings

Why it matters

Biogen discontinued Aduhelm and ended the FDA-mandated ENVISION confirmatory trial, stating the decision was not driven by new safety or efficacy concerns but by cost and lack of commercial partners. Resources were redirected to lecanemab and to tau-targeting candidates BIIB080 and BIIB113.

Study details

Limitations

Company press release, not primary research; Biogen stated the decision was not related to safety/efficacy concerns but to cost and lack of commercial partners for the required confirmatory trial.

How this study scored 11/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 2 of 10; Journal's citation record 0 of 4; Study design 0 of 12; Strength of evidence left out, no data; Peer-review validation 1 of 10; How recent 4 of 5; Sample size 0 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 0 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited left out, no data; Citations per year left out, no data; Impact for its field and year left out, no data; Cited by studies here 0 of 6; Still being cited left out, no data; Senior author's track record left out, no data; Institution's track record left out, no data; Multi-centre collaboration left out, no data; Indexed in PubMed 0 of 2; Free to read left out, no data. 7 of the 61 points it could be judged on, which is 11 of 100. Total 11 of 100.7 of the 61 points we could judge = 11 of 100

Press release — not a study. It scored 11 on the same rubric, which is below the 16 cap we apply to non-peer-reviewed sources. Scored zero for study design, sample size, effect reported, studied in people, randomised / blinded and indexed in PubMed because the record does not state it. We have no data on strength of evidence, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record, multi-centre collaboration and free to read, so those were left out: it earned 7 of the 61 points we could judge it on, which is 11 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 2 / 10 Tier 4 — not a peer-reviewed journal (Biogen Inc. press release)
Journal's citation record 0 / 4 Not a journal article, so the journal's record does not count
Study design 0 / 12 Design recorded as “company announcement”, which our rubric does not rank (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Strength of evidence — / 5 No evidence rating recorded — left out of this score
Peer-review validation 1 / 10 Press release — not a study. Named source is a company press release.
How recent 4 / 5 2024 — within 3 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 0 / 4 Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 0 / 3 Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited — / 7 No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score
Citations per year — / 5 No citation count or no year — left out of this score
Impact for its field and year — / 6 No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score
Cited by studies here 0 / 6 No other study in this library cites it
Still being cited — / 4 No yearly citation counts — left out of this score
Senior author's track record — / 4 Senior author's record not available — left out of this score
Institution's track record — / 3 No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score
Multi-centre collaboration — / 3 Institutions not listed — left out of this score
Indexed in PubMed 0 / 2 No PubMed ID and no DOI — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Free to read — / 2 Access not recorded — left out of this score
Points 7 / 61 Scored on 11 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 7 of the 61 points we could judge it on is 11 out of 100.
Total 11 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. This record has no authors, DOI, so the citation leaves them out. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

APA 7th

Biogen to Realign Resources for Alzheimer's Disease Franchise (Aduhelm discontinuation). (2024). Biogen Inc. press release.

Vancouver

Biogen to Realign Resources for Alzheimer's Disease Franchise (Aduhelm discontinuation). Biogen Inc. press release. 2024.

BibTeX

@article{study2024-49a9a379,
  title   = {{Biogen to Realign Resources for Alzheimer's Disease Franchise (Aduhelm discontinuation)}},
  journal = {Biogen Inc. press release},
  year    = {2024}
}

Related studies in Treatments

Similar studies

More on Treatments

See all studies in Treatments →