Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

⚠ Preprint — not yet peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 16 out of 100. Biomarkers

Topic: Brain proteins, microglia and lab models

INTRODUCTIONBiomarkers for monitoring disease activity and treatment response in peripheral neuropathies remain limited. Big tau, a high-molecular-weight isoform of tau, is predominantly expressed in the peripheral nervous system (PNS). We investigated serum levels of big tau, brain-derived tau (BD-tau), and neurofilament light chain (NfL) in peripheral neuropathies, multiple sclerosis (MS), Alzheimers disease (AD), and healthy controls (HC). METHODSUltra-sensitive blood-based assays run on an HD-X Single Molecule Array analyser (Quanterix) were used to measure big tau and BD-tau in serum from patients with Guillain-Barre syndrome (GBS, n=81), Miller Fisher syndrome (MFS, n=20), Charcot-Marie-Tooth disease (CMT, n=102), chronic inflammatory demyelinating polyneuropathy (CIDP, n=43), MS (n=159), AD (n=20), and HC (n=41). NfL was measured in patients with neuropathies using an SR-X Single Molecule Array analyser (Quanterix). RESULTSSerum big tau levels were higher in GBS than in AD (11.4 vs 2.4 pg/mL, p<0.0001) and MS (11.4 vs 9.0 pg/mL, p=0.01), and similar to CIDP and CMT. Contrarily, serum BD-tau levels in GBS were higher than in CIDP (3.0 vs 2.3 pg/mL, p=0.006) and MS (3.0 vs 1.7 pg/mL, p<0.0001), but similar to CMT, and lower than in AD (3.0 vs 9.8 pg/mL, p<0.0001). Serum NfL levels were higher in GBS than in CIDP (32.5 vs 13.0 pg/mL, p=0.0002), CMT (32.5 vs 12.3 pg/mL, p<0.0001), and HC (32.5 vs 7.6 pg/mL, p<0.0001). Compared with GBS, MFS patients showed higher BD-tau (12.7 vs 3.0 pg/mL, p=0.003), lower big tau (5.4 vs 11.4 pg/mL, p=0.002), and higher NfL levels, although the latter did not reach statistical significance (118.3 vs 32.5 pg/mL, p=0.16). The NfL/big tau ratio was significantly higher in MFS than in GBS, CIDP, and CMT. In GBS, BD-tau correlated with early clinical severity (MRC at 1 week; I-RODS at 4 weeks; maximum GBS-DS and GBS-DS at 4 weeks), whereas neither tau biomarker showed long-term clinical correlations. Higher BD-tau and big tau levels were associated with the need for mechanical ventilation (BD-tau: 8.6 vs 2.9 pg/mL, p=0.019; big tau: 19.7 vs 10.7 pg/mL, p=0.007), while higher BD-tau levels were associated with mortality (10.9 vs 2.9 pg/mL, p=0.003). CONCLUSIONSHigher big tau levels in peripheral neuropathies than in CNS diseases support its role as a PNS-specific biomarker. In MFS, increased serum BD-tau, reduced big tau, and an elevated NfL/big tau ratio suggest CNS involvement with relative preservation of the PNS.

Key findings

Why it matters

This study measured blood levels of big tau, brain-derived tau and neurofilament light chain in people with nerve disorders, multiple sclerosis, Alzheimer's disease and healthy controls. It is about biomarkers for peripheral neuropathies and does not test any treatment, cure or prevention for Alzheimer's disease.

Study details

How this study scored 16/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 2 of 10; Journal's citation record 0 of 4; Study design 0 of 12; Strength of evidence 1 of 5; Peer-review validation 4 of 10; How recent 5 of 5; Sample size 1 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 3 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited 0 of 7; Citations per year 0 of 5; Impact for its field and year left out, no data; Cited by studies here 0 of 6; Still being cited 0 of 4; Senior author's track record 3 of 4; Institution's track record 2 of 3; Multi-centre collaboration 3 of 3; Indexed in PubMed 1 of 2; Free to read 2 of 2. 27 of the 94 points it could be judged on, which is 29 of 100. Raw total 29 of 100, shown as 16 because this is not a peer-reviewed research article.raw total 29 of 100capped at 16 — hatched points do not count

Preprint — not yet peer-reviewed. It scored 29 on the same rubric, but non-peer-reviewed sources are capped at 16, so it shows as 16. Scored zero for study design, effect reported and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on impact for its field and year, so that was left out: it earned 27 of the 94 points we could judge it on, which is 29 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 2 / 10 Tier 4 — not a peer-reviewed journal (medRxiv (preprint))
Journal's citation record 0 / 4 Not a journal article, so the journal's record does not count
Study design 0 / 12 No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Strength of evidence 1 / 5 Rated “low” in our summary
Peer-review validation 4 / 10 Preprint — not yet peer-reviewed. Hosted on a preprint server.
How recent 5 / 5 2026 — within 1 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 1 / 4 81 participants
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 3 / 3 Studied in people (participant count stated)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited 0 / 7 Cited 0 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10)
Citations per year 0 / 5 0.0 citations a year over 2 year(s) since 2026
Impact for its field and year — / 6 No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score
Cited by studies here 0 / 6 No other study in this library cites it
Still being cited 0 / 4 Cited 0 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex)
Senior author's track record 3 / 4 Last-listed author Luís Querol: h-index 53 (OpenAlex, whole career)
Institution's track record 2 / 3 University College London: institution h-index 2,029 (OpenAlex)
Multi-centre collaboration 3 / 3 OpenAlex lists 30 institution(s) in 4 countries
Indexed in PubMed 1 / 2 Not in PubMed, but has a DOI
Free to read 2 / 2 Free to read
Points 27 / 94 Scored on 19 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 27 of the 94 points we could judge it on is 29 out of 100.
Total 29 / 100 Capped to 16 because this is not a peer-reviewed article.

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Full text: free to read — OpenAlex lists this copy as free to read: the link above (checked 6 Feb 1020).

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

APA 7th

Martin-Aguilar, L., Gonzalez-Ortiz, F., Zetterberg, H., Karikari, T. K., Suarez-Calvet, M., Casasnovas, C., et al. (2026). Big tau and brain-derived tau reveal peripheral and central nervous system involvement in neuropathies. medRxiv (preprint). https://doi.org/10.64898/2026.08.27.26361202

Vancouver

Martin-Aguilar L, Gonzalez-Ortiz F, Zetterberg H, Karikari TK, Suarez-Calvet M, Casasnovas C, et al. Big tau and brain-derived tau reveal peripheral and central nervous system involvement in neuropathies. medRxiv (preprint). 2026. doi:10.64898/2026.08.27.26361202.

BibTeX

@article{martinaguilar2026-a46fba4d,
  author  = {Martin-Aguilar, L. and Gonzalez-Ortiz, F. and Zetterberg, H. and Karikari, T. K. and Suarez-Calvet, M. and Casasnovas, C. and Gutierrez-Gutierrez, G. and Sedano-Tous and others},
  title   = {{Big tau and brain-derived tau reveal peripheral and central nervous system involvement in neuropathies}},
  journal = {medRxiv (preprint)},
  year    = {2026},
  doi     = {10.64898/2026.08.27.26361202},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.64898/2026.08.27.26361202}
}

Related studies in Biomarkers

Also tagged “phosphorylated”

732 studies in the library carry the topic tag “phosphorylated”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 732 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Biomarkers

See all studies in Biomarkers →