Home › Research › Vascular contributions
An exploratory study of the diffusion tensor imaging analysis along perivascular spaces (DTI-ALPS) index combined with quantitative analysis of choroid plexus volume and perivascular spaces in different cognitive stages of cerebral small vessel disease
Wenli Lu, Li Yang, Ran Chen, Xinyi Chen, Shengnan Zhu, Liya Ji, Han-Tsung Liao, Jing Qiang et al.. Quantitative Imaging in Medicine and Surgery, 2025-08-21
Topic: Brain proteins, microglia and lab models
NCs/CSVD-CN: AUC =0.900, 95% CI: 0.847-0.952. Combining the DTI-ALPS index, BG-EPVS numbers, and CPV may enhance early diagnosis and subtype differentiation in CSVD-related cognitive impairment, supporting targeted interventions.
Key findings
- NCs/CSVD-CN: AUC =0.900, 95% CI: 0.847-0.952.
- Combining the DTI-ALPS index, BG-EPVS numbers, and CPV may enhance early diagnosis and subtype differentiation in CSVD-related cognitive impairment, supporting targeted interventions.
Why it matters
This exploratory study found that combining the DTI-ALPS index, basal ganglia enlarged perivascular space counts, and choroid plexus volume may improve early diagnosis and subtype differentiation in cerebral small vessel disease-related cognitive impairment. It is a diagnostic study and does not test any treatment, cure, or prevention.
Study details
- Effect sizeAUC =0.900
- Evidence strengthLow
How this study scored 36/100
Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, sample size, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 7 / 10 | Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Quantitative Imaging in Medicine and Surgery) |
| Journal's citation record | 0 / 4 | Quantitative Imaging in Medicine and Surgery: journal h-index 67 (OpenAlex, 2026-10-29) |
| Study design | 0 / 12 | No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Strength of evidence | 1 / 5 | Rated “low” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 4 / 5 | 2025 — within 3 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 0 / 4 | Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Effect reported | 3 / 3 | Effect reported with a statistic (interval, p-value, ratio or similar) |
| Studied in people | 0 / 3 | Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | 2 / 7 | Cited 5 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10) |
| Citations per year | 1 / 5 | 1.7 citations a year over 3 year(s) since 2025 |
| Impact for its field and year | 2 / 6 | Cited 1.8× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI) |
| Cited by studies here | 0 / 6 | No other study in this library cites it |
| Still being cited | 1 / 4 | Cited 5 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex) |
| Senior author's track record | 1 / 4 | Last-listed author Dan Zhou: h-index 14 (OpenAlex, whole career) |
| Institution's track record | 0 / 3 | Nanjing Medical University: institution h-index 508 (OpenAlex) |
| Multi-centre collaboration | 0 / 3 | OpenAlex lists 1 institution(s) in 1 country — scores zero (affiliation lists can be incomplete) |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 40893564) |
| Free to read | 2 / 2 | Free to read |
| Total | 36 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
- DOI: 10.21037/qims-2025-733
- PubMed: 40893564
- Original source →
- Free full text: Quantitative Imaging in Medicine and Surgery →
Full text: free to read — OpenAlex lists this copy as free to read: the link above (checked 6 Feb 1020).
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
APA 7th
Lu, W., Yang, L., Chen, R., Chen, X., Zhu, S., Ji, L., et al. (2025). An exploratory study of the diffusion tensor imaging analysis along perivascular spaces (DTI-ALPS) index combined with quantitative analysis of choroid plexus volume and perivascular spaces in different cognitive stages of cerebral small vessel disease. Quantitative Imaging in Medicine and Surgery. https://doi.org/10.21037/qims-2025-733
Vancouver
Lu W, Yang L, Chen R, Chen X, Zhu S, Ji L, et al. An exploratory study of the diffusion tensor imaging analysis along perivascular spaces (DTI-ALPS) index combined with quantitative analysis of choroid plexus volume and perivascular spaces in different cognitive stages of cerebral small vessel disease. Quantitative Imaging in Medicine and Surgery. 2025. doi:10.21037/qims-2025-733. PMID: 40893564.
BibTeX
@article{lu2025-40893564,
author = {Lu, Wenli and Yang, Li and Chen, Ran and Chen, Xinyi and Zhu, Shengnan and Ji, Liya and Liao, Han-Tsung and Qiang, Jing and others},
title = {{An exploratory study of the diffusion tensor imaging analysis along perivascular spaces (DTI-ALPS) index combined with quantitative analysis of choroid plexus volume and perivascular spaces in different cognitive stages of cerebral small vessel disease}},
journal = {Quantitative Imaging in Medicine and Surgery},
year = {2025},
doi = {10.21037/qims-2025-733},
pmid = {40893564},
url = {https://doi.org/10.21037/qims-2025-733}
}