Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 48 out of 100. Prevention trials

Topic: Genetics and APOE

Cerebrovascular dysfunction likely contributes causally to Alzheimer's disease (AD). The strongest genetic risk factor for late-onset AD, Apolipoprotein E4 (APOE4), may act synergistically with vascular risk to cause dementia. Therefore, interventions that improve vascular health, such as exercise, may be particularly beneficial for APOE4 carriers. We assigned cognitively normal adults (65-87 years) to an aerobic exercise intervention or education only. Arterial spin labeling MRI measured hippocampal blood flow (HBF) before and after the 52-week intervention. We selected participants with hypertension at enrollment (n = 44). For APOE4 carriers, change in HBF (ΔHBF) was significantly (p = 0.006) higher for participants in the exercise intervention (4.09 mL/100g/min) than the control group (-2.08 mL/100g/min). There was no difference in ΔHBF between the control (-0.32 mL/100g/min) and exercise (-0.54 mL/100g/min) groups for non-carriers (p = 0.918). Additionally, a multiple regression showed an interaction between change in systolic blood pressure (ΔSBP) and APOE4 carrier status on ΔHBF (p = 0.035), with reductions in SBP increasing HBF for APOE4 carriers only. Aerobic exercise improved HBF for hypertensive APOE4 carriers only. Additionally, only APOE4 carriers exhibited an inverse relationship between ΔSBP and ΔHBF. This suggests exercise interventions, particularly those that lower SBP, may be beneficial for individuals at highest genetic risk of AD.ClinicalTrials.gov Identifier: NCT02000583.

Key findings

Study details

How this study scored 48/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record left out, no data; Study design 0 of 12; Strength of evidence 1 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 3 of 5; Sample size 1 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 3 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited left out, no data; Citations per year left out, no data; Impact for its field and year left out, no data; Cited by studies here left out, no data; Still being cited left out, no data; Senior author's track record left out, no data; Institution's track record left out, no data; Multi-centre collaboration left out, no data; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read left out, no data. 27 of the 56 points it could be judged on, which is 48 of 100. Total 48 of 100.27 of the 56 points we could judge = 48 of 100

Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, effect reported and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record, multi-centre collaboration and free to read, so those were left out: it earned 27 of the 56 points we could judge it on, which is 48 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Journal of cerebral blood flow and metabolism : official journal of the International Society of Cerebral Blood Flow and Metabolism)
Journal's citation record — / 4 No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score
Study design 0 / 12 No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Strength of evidence 1 / 5 Rated “low” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 3 / 5 2021 — within 6 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 1 / 4 44 participants
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 3 / 3 Studied in people (participant count stated)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited — / 7 No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score
Citations per year — / 5 No citation count or no year — left out of this score
Impact for its field and year — / 6 No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score
Cited by studies here — / 6 Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score
Still being cited — / 4 No yearly citation counts — left out of this score
Senior author's track record — / 4 Senior author's record not available — left out of this score
Institution's track record — / 3 No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score
Multi-centre collaboration — / 3 Institutions not listed — left out of this score
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 33509035)
Free to read — / 2 Access not recorded — left out of this score
Points 27 / 56 Scored on 10 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 27 of the 56 points we could judge it on is 48 out of 100.
Total 48 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

APA 7th

Kaufman, C. S., Honea, R. A., Pleen, J., Lepping, R. J., Watts, A., Morris, J. K., et al. (2021). Aerobic exercise improves hippocampal blood flow for hypertensive Apolipoprotein E4 carriers. Journal of cerebral blood flow and metabolism : official journal of the International Society of Cerebral Blood Flow and Metabolism. https://doi.org/10.1177/0271678x21990342

Vancouver

Kaufman CS, Honea RA, Pleen J, Lepping RJ, Watts A, Morris JK, et al. Aerobic exercise improves hippocampal blood flow for hypertensive Apolipoprotein E4 carriers. Journal of cerebral blood flow and metabolism : official journal of the International Society of Cerebral Blood Flow and Metabolism. 2021. doi:10.1177/0271678x21990342. PMID: 33509035.

BibTeX

@article{kaufman2021-33509035,
  author  = {Kaufman, Carolyn S and Honea, Robyn A and Pleen, Joseph and Lepping, Rebecca J and Watts, Amber and Morris, Jill K and Billinger, Sandra A and Burns, Jeffrey M and others},
  title   = {{Aerobic exercise improves hippocampal blood flow for hypertensive Apolipoprotein E4 carriers}},
  journal = {Journal of cerebral blood flow and metabolism : official journal of the International Society of Cerebral Blood Flow and Metabolism},
  year    = {2021},
  doi     = {10.1177/0271678x21990342},
  pmid    = {33509035},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1177/0271678x21990342}
}

Related studies in Prevention trials

Also tagged “exercise-training”

125 studies in the library carry the topic tag “exercise-training”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 125 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Prevention trials

See all studies in Prevention trials →