Topic: Drug trials: efficacy and safety
Aducanumab (aducanumab-avwa; Aduhelm™) is a human, immunoglobulin gamma 1 (IgG1) monoclonal antibody directed against aggregated soluble and insoluble forms of amyloid β. It has been co-developed by Biogen and Eisai under license from Neurimmune for the treatment of Alzheimer's disease. In June 2021, aducanumab received its first approval in the USA for the treatment of Alzheimer's disease. According to the US FDA prescribing information, treatment should be initiated in patients with mild cognitive impairment or mild dementia stage of disease, the population in which treatment was initiated in clinical trials. There are no safety or effectiveness data on initiating treatment at earlier or later stages of the disease than were studied. Aducanumab is under regulatory review in Japan and in Europe. Its long-term safety and tolerability is being evaluated in a multinational phase 3b clinical study in patients with early Alzheimer's disease (mild cognitive impairment and mild Alzheimer's disease). This article summarizes the milestones in the development of aducanumab leading to this first approval for Alzheimer's disease.
Key findings
- According to the US FDA prescribing information, treatment should be initiated in patients with mild cognitive impairment or mild dementia stage of disease, the population in which treatment was initiated in clinical trials.
- There are no safety or effectiveness data on initiating treatment at earlier or later stages of the disease than were studied.
- Aducanumab is under regulatory review in Japan and in Europe.
- Its long-term safety and tolerability is being evaluated in a multinational phase 3b clinical study in patients with early Alzheimer's disease (mild cognitive impairment and mild Alzheimer's disease).
- This article summarizes the milestones in the development of aducanumab leading to this first approval for Alzheimer's disease.
New to this subject? Start with our plain-English guide: Treatments →
Study details
- Evidence strengthLow
How this study scored 40/100
Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, sample size, effect reported, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record and multi-centre collaboration, so those were left out: it earned 23 of the 58 points we could judge it on, which is 40 out of 100.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 7 / 10 | Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Drugs) |
| Journal's citation record | — / 4 | No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Study design | 0 / 12 | No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Strength of evidence | 1 / 5 | Rated “low” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 3 / 5 | 2021 — within 6 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 0 / 4 | Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Effect reported | 0 / 3 | No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Studied in people | 0 / 3 | Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | — / 7 | No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score |
| Citations per year | — / 5 | No citation count or no year — left out of this score |
| Impact for its field and year | — / 6 | No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score |
| Cited by studies here | — / 6 | Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score |
| Still being cited | — / 4 | No yearly citation counts — left out of this score |
| Senior author's track record | — / 4 | Senior author's record not available — left out of this score |
| Institution's track record | — / 3 | No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Multi-centre collaboration | — / 3 | Institutions not listed — left out of this score |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 34324167) |
| Free to read | 0 / 2 | Behind a paywall — scores zero |
| Points | 23 / 58 | Scored on 11 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 23 of the 58 points we could judge it on is 40 out of 100. |
| Total | 40 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
APA 7th
Dhillon, S. (2021). Aducanumab: First Approval. Drugs. https://doi.org/10.1007/s40265-021-01569-z
Vancouver
Dhillon S. Aducanumab: First Approval. Drugs. 2021. doi:10.1007/s40265-021-01569-z. PMID: 34324167.
BibTeX
@article{dhillon2021-34324167,
author = {Dhillon, S.},
title = {{Aducanumab: First Approval}},
journal = {Drugs},
year = {2021},
doi = {10.1007/s40265-021-01569-z},
pmid = {34324167},
url = {https://doi.org/10.1007/s40265-021-01569-z}
}
Related studies in Treatments
Also tagged “aducanumab”
332 studies in the library carry the topic tag “aducanumab”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 332 tagged studies.