Home › Research › Prevention trials
27-Hydroxycholesterol, cognition, and brain imaging markers in the FINGER randomized controlled trial
Sandebring-Matton A, Goikolea J, Björkhem I, Paternain L, Kemppainen N, Laatikainen T, Ngandu T, Rinne J et al.. Alzheimer's research & therapy, 2021-03-06
Topic: Risk, prevention and care in population studies
Background 27-Hydroxycholesterol (27-OH), the main circulating oxysterol in humans and the potential missing link between peripheral hypercholesterolemia and Alzheimer's disease (AD), has not been investigated previously in relation to cognition and neuroimaging markers in the context of preventive interventions. Methods The 2-year Finnish Geriatric Intervention Study to Prevent Cognitive Impairment and Disability (FINGER) included older individuals (60-77 years) at increased risk for dementia but without dementia or substantial cognitive impairment from the general population. Participants were randomized to a multidomain intervention (diet, exercise, cognitive training, and vascular risk management) or control group (general health advice) in a 1:1 ratio. Outcome assessors were masked to group allocation. This FINGER exploratory sub-study included 47 participants with measures of 27-OH, cognition, brain MRI, brain FDG-PET, and PiB-PET. Linear regression models were used to assess the cross-sectional and longitudinal associations between 27-OH, cognition, and neuroimaging markers, considering several potential confounders/intervention effect modifiers. Results 27-OH reduction during the intervention was associated with improvement in cognition (especially memory). This was not observed in the control group. The intervention reduced 27-OH particularly in individuals with the highest 27-OH levels and younger age. No associations were found between changes in 27-OH levels and neuroimaging markers. However, at baseline, a higher 27-OH was associated with lower total gray matter and hippocampal volume, and lower cognitive scores. These associations were unaffected by total cholesterol levels. While sex seemed to influence associations at baseline, it did not affect longitudinal associations. Conclusion 27-OH appears to be a marker not only for dementia/AD risk, but also for monitoring the effects of preventive interventions on cholesterol metabolism. Trial registration ClinicalTrials.gov , NCT01041989 . Registered on 4 January 2010.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
APA 7th
Sandebring-Matton, A., Goikolea, J., Björkhem, I., Paternain, L., Kemppainen, N., Laatikainen, T., et al. (2021). 27-Hydroxycholesterol, cognition, and brain imaging markers in the FINGER randomized controlled trial. Alzheimer's research & therapy. https://doi.org/10.1186/s13195-021-00790-y
Vancouver
Sandebring-Matton A, Goikolea J, Björkhem I, Paternain L, Kemppainen N, Laatikainen T, et al. 27-Hydroxycholesterol, cognition, and brain imaging markers in the FINGER randomized controlled trial. Alzheimer's research & therapy. 2021. doi:10.1186/s13195-021-00790-y. PMID: 33676572.
BibTeX
@article{sandebringmatton2021-33676572,
author = {Sandebring-Matton, A. and Goikolea, J. and Björkhem, I. and Paternain, L. and Kemppainen, N. and Laatikainen, T. and Ngandu, T. and Rinne, J. and others},
title = {{27-Hydroxycholesterol, cognition, and brain imaging markers in the FINGER randomized controlled trial}},
journal = {Alzheimer's research \& therapy},
year = {2021},
doi = {10.1186/s13195-021-00790-y},
pmid = {33676572},
url = {https://doi.org/10.1186/s13195-021-00790-y}
}
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
Key findings
- Methods The 2-year Finnish Geriatric Intervention Study to Prevent Cognitive Impairment and Disability (FINGER) included older individuals (60-77 years) at increased risk for dementia but without dementia or substantial cognitive impairment from the general population.
- Results 27-OH reduction during the intervention was associated with improvement in cognition (especially memory).
- However, at baseline, a higher 27-OH was associated with lower total gray matter and hippocampal volume, and lower cognitive scores.
New to this subject? Start with our plain-English guide: Prevention →
Study details
- Study designcross-sectional
- Participants47
- Evidence strengthHigh
How this study scored 78/100
Published in a peer-reviewed journal, and it is a randomised controlled trial. Scored zero for effect reported because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record and multi-centre collaboration, so those were left out: it earned 45 of the 58 points we could judge it on, which is 78 out of 100.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 7 / 10 | Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Alzheimer's research & therapy) |
| Journal's citation record | — / 4 | No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Study design | 11 / 12 | A randomised controlled trial (from PubMed type “Randomized Controlled Trial”) |
| Strength of evidence | 5 / 5 | Rated “high” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 3 / 5 | 2021 — within 6 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 1 / 4 | 47 participants |
| Effect reported | 0 / 3 | No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Studied in people | 3 / 3 | Studied in people (participant count stated) |
| Randomised / blinded | 1 / 2 | Randomised (as stated in the record) |
| Times cited | — / 7 | No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score |
| Citations per year | — / 5 | No citation count or no year — left out of this score |
| Impact for its field and year | — / 6 | No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score |
| Cited by studies here | — / 6 | Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score |
| Still being cited | — / 4 | No yearly citation counts — left out of this score |
| Senior author's track record | — / 4 | Senior author's record not available — left out of this score |
| Institution's track record | — / 3 | No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Multi-centre collaboration | — / 3 | Institutions not listed — left out of this score |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 33676572) |
| Free to read | 2 / 2 | Free to read |
| Points | 45 / 58 | Scored on 11 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 45 of the 58 points we could judge it on is 78 out of 100. |
| Total | 78 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.
Related studies in Prevention trials
Also tagged “cerebral”
900 studies in the library carry the topic tag “cerebral”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 900 tagged studies.