Home › Research › Caregiving
Translating the REACH OUT dementia caregiver intervention into a primary care setting: a pilot study
Asia Sikora Kessler, Gabrielle Mock, Diane Hendricks, Laura Robbins, Harpriya Kaur, Jane F Potter, Louis D Burgio. Aging & mental health, 2020-12-01
Topic: Health services, long-term care and technology
Twenty-five caregivers participated in one of four intervention groups; 21 caregivers completed the intervention (attended at least five of six group sessions). Caregiver burden on standardized assessments was significantly reduced between pre- and post-intervention, specifically for physical/emotional strain and caregiving uncertainty. Significant reductions were found in the frequency of reported disruptive behaviors; increased caregiver confidence in handling behavior problem frequency, depressive symptoms, disruptive behaviors, and memory-related problems; and decreased bother with respect to behavioral problem frequency and care recipient depression. Program satisfaction was high. This work suggests that the REACH OUT program can be successfully modified for use within a primary-care medical home setting.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
APA 7th
Kessler, A. S., Mock, G., Hendricks, D., Robbins, L., Kaur, H., Potter, J. F., et al. (2021). Translating the REACH OUT dementia caregiver intervention into a primary care setting: a pilot study. Aging & mental health. https://doi.org/10.1080/13607863.2020.1850638
Vancouver
Kessler AS, Mock G, Hendricks D, Robbins L, Kaur H, Potter JF, et al. Translating the REACH OUT dementia caregiver intervention into a primary care setting: a pilot study. Aging & mental health. 2021. doi:10.1080/13607863.2020.1850638. PMID: 33258686.
BibTeX
@article{kessler2021-33258686,
author = {Kessler, Asia Sikora and Mock, Gabrielle and Hendricks, Diane and Robbins, Laura and Kaur, Harpriya and Potter, Jane F and Burgio, Louis D},
title = {{Translating the REACH OUT dementia caregiver intervention into a primary care setting: a pilot study}},
journal = {Aging \& mental health},
year = {2021},
doi = {10.1080/13607863.2020.1850638},
pmid = {33258686},
url = {https://doi.org/10.1080/13607863.2020.1850638}
}
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record names 7 authors; APA and Vancouver show the first six, BibTeX and the downloads carry all of them. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
Key findings
- Twenty-five caregivers participated in one of four intervention groups; 21 caregivers completed the intervention (attended at least five of six group sessions).
- Caregiver burden on standardized assessments was significantly reduced between pre- and post-intervention, specifically for physical/emotional strain and caregiving uncertainty.
- Significant reductions were found in the frequency of reported disruptive behaviors; increased caregiver confidence in handling behavior problem frequency, depressive symptoms, disruptive behaviors, and memory-related problems; and decreased bother with respect to behavioral problem frequency and care recipient depression.
- This work suggests that the REACH OUT program can be successfully modified for use within a primary-care medical home setting.
New to this subject? Start with our plain-English guide: Caregiving →
Study details
- Evidence strengthLow
How this study scored 41/100
Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, sample size, effect reported, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record, multi-centre collaboration and free to read, so those were left out: it earned 23 of the 56 points we could judge it on, which is 41 out of 100.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 7 / 10 | Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Aging & mental health) |
| Journal's citation record | — / 4 | No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Study design | 0 / 12 | No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Strength of evidence | 1 / 5 | Rated “low” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 3 / 5 | 2021 — within 6 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 0 / 4 | Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Effect reported | 0 / 3 | No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Studied in people | 0 / 3 | Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | — / 7 | No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score |
| Citations per year | — / 5 | No citation count or no year — left out of this score |
| Impact for its field and year | — / 6 | No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score |
| Cited by studies here | — / 6 | Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score |
| Still being cited | — / 4 | No yearly citation counts — left out of this score |
| Senior author's track record | — / 4 | Senior author's record not available — left out of this score |
| Institution's track record | — / 3 | No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Multi-centre collaboration | — / 3 | Institutions not listed — left out of this score |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 33258686) |
| Free to read | — / 2 | Access not recorded — left out of this score |
| Points | 23 / 56 | Scored on 10 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 23 of the 56 points we could judge it on is 41 out of 100. |
| Total | 41 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.
Related studies in Caregiving
Also tagged “caregiver”
195 studies in the library carry the topic tag “caregiver”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 195 tagged studies.