Home › Research › Biomarkers
Terminal dUTP nick end labeling (TUNEL) positive cells in the different regions of the brain in normal aging and Alzheimer patients
Li WP, Chan WY, Lai HW, Yew DT.. Journal of molecular neuroscience : MN, 1997-04-01
Topic: Brain proteins, microglia and lab models
This study investigated terminal dUTP nick-end labeling (TUNEL)-positive cells in the frontal, occipital, and hippocampal cortices of seven normal aging and four Alzheimer's patients. Significant increase in TUNEL-positive cells was observed in the frontal and hippocampal cortices of Alzheimer's patients when compared with controls. In the hippocampal cortex, only area CA4 demonstrated a significant increase of TUNEL-positive cells. Double staining of TUNEL-positive cells for glial fibrillary acidic protein revealed that < 13% of the TUNEL-positive nuclei belonged to astrocytes. The results of this study illustrated a differential pattern of cortical degeneration between normal aging and Alzheimer patients.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
APA 7th
Li, W. P., Chan, W. Y., Lai, H. W., & Yew, D. T. (1997). Terminal dUTP nick end labeling (TUNEL) positive cells in the different regions of the brain in normal aging and Alzheimer patients. Journal of molecular neuroscience : MN. https://doi.org/10.1007/bf02736774
Vancouver
Li WP, Chan WY, Lai HW, Yew DT. Terminal dUTP nick end labeling (TUNEL) positive cells in the different regions of the brain in normal aging and Alzheimer patients. Journal of molecular neuroscience : MN. 1997. doi:10.1007/bf02736774. PMID: 9188038.
BibTeX
@article{li1997-9188038,
author = {Li, W. P. and Chan, W. Y. and Lai, H. W. and Yew, D. T.},
title = {{Terminal dUTP nick end labeling (TUNEL) positive cells in the different regions of the brain in normal aging and Alzheimer patients}},
journal = {Journal of molecular neuroscience : MN},
year = {1997},
doi = {10.1007/bf02736774},
pmid = {9188038},
url = {https://doi.org/10.1007/bf02736774}
}
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
Key findings
- Significant increase in TUNEL-positive cells was observed in the frontal and hippocampal cortices of Alzheimer's patients when compared with controls.
- In the hippocampal cortex, only area CA4 demonstrated a significant increase of TUNEL-positive cells.
- Double staining of TUNEL-positive cells for glial fibrillary acidic protein revealed that < 13% of the TUNEL-positive nuclei belonged to astrocytes.
- The results of this study illustrated a differential pattern of cortical degeneration between normal aging and Alzheimer patients.
New to this subject? Start with our plain-English guide: Blood tests & biomarkers →
Study details
- Evidence strengthLow
How this study scored 36/100
Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, sample size, effect reported, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record and multi-centre collaboration, so those were left out: it earned 21 of the 58 points we could judge it on, which is 36 out of 100.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 7 / 10 | Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Journal of molecular neuroscience : MN) |
| Journal's citation record | — / 4 | No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Study design | 0 / 12 | No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Strength of evidence | 1 / 5 | Rated “low” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 1 / 5 | 1997 — older than 20 years, still counted |
| Sample size | 0 / 4 | Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Effect reported | 0 / 3 | No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Studied in people | 0 / 3 | Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | — / 7 | No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score |
| Citations per year | — / 5 | No citation count or no year — left out of this score |
| Impact for its field and year | — / 6 | No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score |
| Cited by studies here | — / 6 | Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score |
| Still being cited | — / 4 | No yearly citation counts — left out of this score |
| Senior author's track record | — / 4 | Senior author's record not available — left out of this score |
| Institution's track record | — / 3 | No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Multi-centre collaboration | — / 3 | Institutions not listed — left out of this score |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 9188038) |
| Free to read | 0 / 2 | Behind a paywall — scores zero |
| Points | 21 / 58 | Scored on 11 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 21 of the 58 points we could judge it on is 36 out of 100. |
| Total | 36 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.
Related studies in Biomarkers
Also in Biomarkers
204 studies in the library are filed under Biomarkers with no topic tag they share with another; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed tour of them. The Biomarkers hub.