Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 76 out of 100. Cognitive tests and assessment

Topic: Risk, prevention and care in population studies

Introduction Dementia (particularly Alzheimer's disease, AD) is a major cause of impaired cognitive functions in the elderly. Amnestic mild cognitive impairment (aMCI) is a prodromal stage of AD, if substantiated by Alzheimer biomarkers. A neuroscientific model of pathological ageing emphasises the loss of brain plasticity, sensorimotor capacities and subsequent cognitive decline. A mechanistic treatment targeting dysfunctional plastic changes associated with ageing should be efficacious in delaying AD. In this trial, we aim to evaluate the effectiveness of a newly developed sensorimotor training, delivered at home, combined with personalised reinforcement, on the progression of aMCI-related cognitive impairments. Methods and analysis In a randomised trial, we will compare two aMCI groups (30 subjects each), randomly allocated to a sensorimotor or a cognitive control training. Both trainings consist of an adaptive algorithm, and will last 3 months each. We hypothesise that both trainings will have positive effects on cognitive function with the sensorimotor training being superior compared with the control training based on its improvement in basic perceptual skills underlying memory encoding and retrieval. The primary outcome is episodic memory function, improved hippocampal function during memory tasks will be a secondary outcome. As further exploratory outcomes, we expect improved segregation in sensory and motor maps, better sensory discrimination only in the sensorimotor training and reduced transition to dementia (examined after completion of this study). We expect the experimental training to be evaluated more positively by the users compared with the cognitive training, resulting in reduced rates of discontinuation. Ethics and dissemination The Ethics Committee of the Medical Faculty Mannheim, Heidelberg University, approved the study (2015-543N-MA), which adheres to the Declaration of Helsinki. The results will be published in a peer-reviewed journal. Access to raw data is available on request. Trial registration number DRKS00012748.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

APA 7th

Bekrater-Bodmann, R., Löffler, A., Silvoni, S., Frölich, L., Hausner, L., Desch, S., et al. (2019). Tablet-based sensorimotor home-training system for amnestic mild cognitive impairments in the elderly: design of a randomised clinical trial. BMJ open. https://doi.org/10.1136/bmjopen-2018-028632

Vancouver

Bekrater-Bodmann R, Löffler A, Silvoni S, Frölich L, Hausner L, Desch S, et al. Tablet-based sensorimotor home-training system for amnestic mild cognitive impairments in the elderly: design of a randomised clinical trial. BMJ open. 2019. doi:10.1136/bmjopen-2018-028632. PMID: 31377702.

BibTeX

@article{bekraterbodmann2019-31377702,
  author  = {Bekrater-Bodmann, R. and Löffler, A. and Silvoni, S. and Frölich, L. and Hausner, L. and Desch, S. and Kleinböhl, D. and Flor, H.},
  title   = {{Tablet-based sensorimotor home-training system for amnestic mild cognitive impairments in the elderly: design of a randomised clinical trial}},
  journal = {BMJ open},
  year    = {2019},
  doi     = {10.1136/bmjopen-2018-028632},
  pmid    = {31377702},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1136/bmjopen-2018-028632}
}

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record names 8 authors; APA and Vancouver show the first six, BibTeX and the downloads carry all of them. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

Key findings

Study details

How this study scored 76/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record left out, no data; Study design 11 of 12; Strength of evidence 5 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 2 of 5; Sample size 1 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 3 of 3; Randomised / blinded 1 of 2; Times cited left out, no data; Citations per year left out, no data; Impact for its field and year left out, no data; Cited by studies here left out, no data; Still being cited left out, no data; Senior author's track record left out, no data; Institution's track record left out, no data; Multi-centre collaboration left out, no data; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 2 of 2. 44 of the 58 points it could be judged on, which is 76 of 100. Total 76 of 100.44 of the 58 points we could judge = 76 of 100

Published in a peer-reviewed journal, and it is a randomised controlled trial. Scored zero for effect reported because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record and multi-centre collaboration, so those were left out: it earned 44 of the 58 points we could judge it on, which is 76 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (BMJ open)
Journal's citation record — / 4 No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score
Study design 11 / 12 A randomised controlled trial
Strength of evidence 5 / 5 Rated “high” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 2 / 5 2019 — within 10 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 1 / 4 30 participants
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 3 / 3 Studied in people (participant count stated)
Randomised / blinded 1 / 2 Randomised (as stated in the record)
Times cited — / 7 No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score
Citations per year — / 5 No citation count or no year — left out of this score
Impact for its field and year — / 6 No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score
Cited by studies here — / 6 Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score
Still being cited — / 4 No yearly citation counts — left out of this score
Senior author's track record — / 4 Senior author's record not available — left out of this score
Institution's track record — / 3 No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score
Multi-centre collaboration — / 3 Institutions not listed — left out of this score
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 31377702)
Free to read 2 / 2 Free to read
Points 44 / 58 Scored on 11 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 44 of the 58 points we could judge it on is 76 out of 100.
Total 76 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.

Related studies in Cognitive tests and assessment

Also tagged “amnestic”

5 studies in the library carry the topic tag “amnestic”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 5 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Cognitive tests and assessment

See all studies in Cognitive tests and assessment →