Home › Research › Cognitive tests and assessment
Effect of cognitive training on cognitive function in community-dwelling older people with mild-to-moderate dementia: A single-blind randomised controlled trial
Chantanachai T, Sturnieks DL, Lord SR, Close JCT, Kurrle SE, Delbaere K, Payne N, Savage R et al.. Australasian journal on ageing, 2024-02-11
Topic: Risk, prevention and care in population studies
Objectives The purpose of this assessor-blinded, randomised controlled trial was to determine the effect of computerised cognitive training (CT) on executive function, processing speed and working memory in 61 people with mild-to-moderate dementia. Methods The primary outcomes were forward Digit Span and Trail Making Tests (TMT) at the completion of the 6-month intervention. Secondary outcomes included cognitive and physical performance, rate of falls, participant and caregiver's quality of life and usability and adherence to the CT program. The study was registered with the Australian and New Zealand Clinical Trials Registry (ACTRN12617000364370). Results Intervention group (n = 31) participants averaged 81 min of CT per week, and system usability scores were acceptable (participants: 68.8 ± 22.1; caregivers: 79.4 ± 23.5). There were no statistically significant differences in cognitive or physical performance outcomes between the intervention and control groups at 6- or 12-months (between-group differences [95% CI] for primary outcomes at 6-months: Forward Digit Span -0.3 [-0.8, 0.3]; TMT-A 2.7 s [-14.1, 19.5]; TMT-B -17.1 s [-79.3, 45.2]). At the 12-month follow-up reassessment, the intervention group reported significantly more depressive symptoms and had lower caregiver-rated participant quality of life and higher caregiver quality of life compared to control. Conclusions This study showed no benefit of the CT program on working memory, processing speed and executive function. Future studies are required to better understand how CT can be used to improve cognitive and physical functioning in older people with mild-moderate dementia.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
APA 7th
Chantanachai, T., Sturnieks, D. L., Lord, SR., Close, J. C. T., Kurrle, S. E., Delbaere, K., et al. (2024). Effect of cognitive training on cognitive function in community-dwelling older people with mild-to-moderate dementia: A single-blind randomised controlled trial. Australasian journal on ageing. https://doi.org/10.1111/ajag.13283
Vancouver
Chantanachai T, Sturnieks DL, Lord SR, Close JCT, Kurrle SE, Delbaere K, et al. Effect of cognitive training on cognitive function in community-dwelling older people with mild-to-moderate dementia: A single-blind randomised controlled trial. Australasian journal on ageing. 2024. doi:10.1111/ajag.13283. PMID: 38343201.
BibTeX
@article{chantanachai2024-38343201,
author = {Chantanachai, T. and Sturnieks, D. L. and Lord, SR. and Close, J. C. T. and Kurrle, S. E. and Delbaere, K. and Payne, N. and Savage, R. and others},
title = {{Effect of cognitive training on cognitive function in community-dwelling older people with mild-to-moderate dementia: A single-blind randomised controlled trial}},
journal = {Australasian journal on ageing},
year = {2024},
doi = {10.1111/ajag.13283},
pmid = {38343201},
url = {https://doi.org/10.1111/ajag.13283}
}
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
Key findings
- Results Intervention group (n = 31) participants averaged 81 min of CT per week, and system usability scores were acceptable (participants: 68.8 ± 22.1; caregivers: 79.4 ± 23.5).
- There were no statistically significant differences in cognitive or physical performance outcomes between the intervention and control groups at 6- or 12-months (between-group differences [95% CI] for primary outcomes at 6-months: Forward Digit Span -0.3 [-0.8, 0.3]; TMT-A 2.7 s [-14.1, 19.5]; TMT-B -17.1 s [-79.3, 45.2]).
- At the 12-month follow-up reassessment, the intervention group reported significantly more depressive symptoms and had lower caregiver-rated participant quality of life and higher caregiver quality of life compared to control.
Study details
- Study designrandomized controlled trial
- Participants31
- Evidence strengthHigh
How this study scored 78/100
Published in a peer-reviewed journal, and it is a randomised controlled trial. Scored zero for effect reported because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record and multi-centre collaboration, so those were left out: it earned 45 of the 58 points we could judge it on, which is 78 out of 100.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 7 / 10 | Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Australasian journal on ageing) |
| Journal's citation record | — / 4 | No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Study design | 11 / 12 | A randomised controlled trial |
| Strength of evidence | 5 / 5 | Rated “high” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 4 / 5 | 2024 — within 3 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 1 / 4 | 31 participants |
| Effect reported | 0 / 3 | No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Studied in people | 3 / 3 | Studied in people (participant count stated) |
| Randomised / blinded | 2 / 2 | Randomised and blinded or placebo-controlled (as stated in the record) |
| Times cited | — / 7 | No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score |
| Citations per year | — / 5 | No citation count or no year — left out of this score |
| Impact for its field and year | — / 6 | No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score |
| Cited by studies here | — / 6 | Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score |
| Still being cited | — / 4 | No yearly citation counts — left out of this score |
| Senior author's track record | — / 4 | Senior author's record not available — left out of this score |
| Institution's track record | — / 3 | No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Multi-centre collaboration | — / 3 | Institutions not listed — left out of this score |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 38343201) |
| Free to read | 0 / 2 | Behind a paywall — scores zero |
| Points | 45 / 58 | Scored on 11 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 45 of the 58 points we could judge it on is 78 out of 100. |
| Total | 78 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.
Related studies in Cognitive tests and assessment
Also tagged “community-dwelling”
4 studies in the library carry the topic tag “community-dwelling”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 4 tagged studies.