Home › Research › Risk factors
Screening of CHCHD10 in a French cohort confirms the involvement of this gene in frontotemporal dementia with amyotrophic lateral sclerosis patients
Chaussenot A, Le Ber I, Ait-El-Mkadem S, Camuzat A, de Septenville A, Bannwarth S, Genin EC, Serre V et al.. Neurobiology of aging, 2014-07-24
Topic: Genetics and APOE
Mutations in the CHCHD10 gene have been recently identified in a large family with a complex phenotype variably associating frontotemporal dementia (FTD) with amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS), cerebellar ataxia, myopathy, and hearing impairment. CHCHD10 encodes a protein located in the mitochondrial intermembrane space and is likely involved in mitochondrial genome stability and maintenance of cristae junctions. However, the exact contribution of CHCHD10 in FTD and ALS diseases spectrum remains unknown. In this study, we evaluated the frequency of CHCHD10 mutations in 115 patients with FTD and FTD-ALS phenotypes. We identified 2 heterozygous variants in 3 unrelated probands presenting FTD and ALS, characterized by early and predominant bulbar symptoms. This study demonstrates the implication of CHCHD10 in FTD and ALS spectrum. Although the frequency of mutations is low in this series (2.6%), our work suggests that CHCHD10 mutations should be searched particularly when bulbar symptoms are present at onset.
Key findings
- Although the frequency of mutations is low in this series (2.6%), our work suggests that CHCHD10 mutations should be searched particularly when bulbar symptoms are present at onset.
New to this subject? Start with our plain-English guide: Risk factors, ranked →
Study details
- Participants115
- Effect size2.6%
- Evidence strengthLow
How this study scored 48/100
Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record and multi-centre collaboration, so those were left out: it earned 28 of the 58 points we could judge it on, which is 48 out of 100.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 7 / 10 | Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Neurobiology of aging) |
| Journal's citation record | — / 4 | No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Study design | 0 / 12 | No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Strength of evidence | 1 / 5 | Rated “low” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 1 / 5 | 2014 — within 20 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 2 / 4 | 115 participants |
| Effect reported | 2 / 3 | Effect reported as a number, without an interval or test |
| Studied in people | 3 / 3 | Studied in people (participant count stated) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | — / 7 | No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score |
| Citations per year | — / 5 | No citation count or no year — left out of this score |
| Impact for its field and year | — / 6 | No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score |
| Cited by studies here | — / 6 | Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score |
| Still being cited | — / 4 | No yearly citation counts — left out of this score |
| Senior author's track record | — / 4 | Senior author's record not available — left out of this score |
| Institution's track record | — / 3 | No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Multi-centre collaboration | — / 3 | Institutions not listed — left out of this score |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 25155093) |
| Free to read | 0 / 2 | Behind a paywall — scores zero |
| Points | 28 / 58 | Scored on 11 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 28 of the 58 points we could judge it on is 48 out of 100. |
| Total | 48 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
APA 7th
Chaussenot, A., Le Ber, I., Ait-El-Mkadem, S., Camuzat, A., de Septenville, A., Bannwarth, S., et al. (2014). Screening of CHCHD10 in a French cohort confirms the involvement of this gene in frontotemporal dementia with amyotrophic lateral sclerosis patients. Neurobiology of aging. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.neurobiolaging.2014.07.022
Vancouver
Chaussenot A, Le Ber I, Ait-El-Mkadem S, Camuzat A, de Septenville A, Bannwarth S, et al. Screening of CHCHD10 in a French cohort confirms the involvement of this gene in frontotemporal dementia with amyotrophic lateral sclerosis patients. Neurobiology of aging. 2014. doi:10.1016/j.neurobiolaging.2014.07.022. PMID: 25155093.
BibTeX
@article{chaussenot2014-25155093,
author = {Chaussenot, A. and Le Ber, I. and Ait-El-Mkadem, S. and Camuzat, A. and de Septenville, A. and Bannwarth, S. and Genin, E. C. and Serre, V. and others},
title = {{Screening of CHCHD10 in a French cohort confirms the involvement of this gene in frontotemporal dementia with amyotrophic lateral sclerosis patients}},
journal = {Neurobiology of aging},
year = {2014},
doi = {10.1016/j.neurobiolaging.2014.07.022},
pmid = {25155093},
url = {https://doi.org/10.1016/j.neurobiolaging.2014.07.022}
}
Related studies in Risk factors
Also tagged “autophagy”
240 studies in the library carry the topic tag “autophagy”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 240 tagged studies.