Home › Research › Brain tissue and pathology
Practical recommendations for timely, accurate diagnosis of symptomatic Alzheimer's disease (MCI and dementia) in primary care: a review and synthesis
Liss JL, Seleri Assunção S, Cummings J, Atri A, Geldmacher DS, Candela SF, Devanand DP, Fillit HM et al.. Journal of internal medicine, 2021-03-31
Topic: Risk, prevention and care in population studies
The critical role of primary care clinicians (PCCs) in Alzheimer's disease (AD) prevention, diagnosis and management must evolve as new treatment paradigms and disease-modifying therapies (DMTs) emerge. Our understanding of AD has grown substantially: no longer conceptualized as a late-in-life syndrome of cognitive and functional impairments, we now recognize that AD pathology builds silently for decades before cognitive impairment is detectable. Clinically, AD first manifests subtly as mild cognitive impairment (MCI) due to AD before progressing to dementia.
Key findings
- Our understanding of AD has grown substantially: no longer conceptualized as a late-in-life syndrome of cognitive and functional impairments, we now recognize that AD pathology builds silently for decades before cognitive impairment is detectable.
- Clinically, AD first manifests subtly as mild cognitive impairment (MCI) due to AD before progressing to dementia.
- Emerging optimism for improved outcomes in AD stems from a focus on preventive interventions in midlife and timely, biomarker-confirmed diagnosis at early signs of cognitive deficits (i.e.
- A timely AD diagnosis is particularly important for optimizing patient care and enabling the appropriate use of anticipated DMTs.
Why it matters
This review and synthesis offers practical recommendations for primary care clinicians on timely, accurate diagnosis of symptomatic Alzheimer's disease, noting that pathology builds silently for decades before impairment is detectable. It focuses on diagnosis and preventive intervention in midlife, not on a treatment or cure.
Study details
- Evidence strengthLow
How this study scored 58/100
Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, sample size, effect reported, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 7 / 10 | Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Journal of internal medicine) |
| Journal's citation record | 2 / 4 | Journal of Internal Medicine: journal h-index 237 (OpenAlex, 2026-10-29) |
| Study design | 0 / 12 | No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Strength of evidence | 1 / 5 | Rated “low” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 3 / 5 | 2021 — within 6 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 0 / 4 | Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Effect reported | 0 / 3 | No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Studied in people | 0 / 3 | Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | 6 / 7 | Cited 312 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10) |
| Citations per year | 4 / 5 | 44.6 citations a year over 7 year(s) since 2021 |
| Impact for its field and year | 5 / 6 | Cited 24.8× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI) |
| Cited by studies here | 3 / 6 | Cited by 23 other studies in this library |
| Still being cited | 4 / 4 | Cited 234 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex) |
| Senior author's track record | 3 / 4 | Last-listed author Marwan Noel Sabbagh: h-index 80 (OpenAlex, whole career) |
| Institution's track record | 3 / 3 | Harvard University: institution h-index 3,235 (OpenAlex) |
| Multi-centre collaboration | 3 / 3 | OpenAlex lists 26 institution(s) in 2 countries |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 33458891) |
| Free to read | 2 / 2 | Free to read |
| Total | 58 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
- DOI: 10.1111/joim.13244
- PubMed: 33458891
- Original source →
- Free full text: Journal of Internal Medicine →
Full text: free to read — OpenAlex lists this copy as free to read: the link above (checked 6 Feb 1020).
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
APA 7th
Liss, J. L., Seleri Assunção, S., Cummings, J., Atri, A., Geldmacher, D. S., Candela, S. F., et al. (2021). Practical recommendations for timely, accurate diagnosis of symptomatic Alzheimer's disease (MCI and dementia) in primary care: a review and synthesis. Journal of internal medicine. https://doi.org/10.1111/joim.13244
Vancouver
Liss JL, Seleri Assunção S, Cummings J, Atri A, Geldmacher DS, Candela SF, et al. Practical recommendations for timely, accurate diagnosis of symptomatic Alzheimer's disease (MCI and dementia) in primary care: a review and synthesis. Journal of internal medicine. 2021. doi:10.1111/joim.13244. PMID: 33458891.
BibTeX
@article{liss2021-33458891,
author = {Liss, J. L. and Seleri Assunção, S. and Cummings, J. and Atri, A. and Geldmacher, D. S. and Candela, S. F. and Devanand, D. P. and Fillit, H. M. and others},
title = {{Practical recommendations for timely, accurate diagnosis of symptomatic Alzheimer's disease (MCI and dementia) in primary care: a review and synthesis}},
journal = {Journal of internal medicine},
year = {2021},
doi = {10.1111/joim.13244},
pmid = {33458891},
url = {https://doi.org/10.1111/joim.13244}
}
Studies this one cites
Referenced by this study and also in the alzhub library, so you can read them here. Showing 12 of 72.
Later studies that cite this one
23 studies in the alzhub library list this one in their references. Showing the 8 highest-scoring.