Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 53 out of 100. Mild cognitive impairment

Topic: Amyloid, tau and blood-test diagnosis

P-tau217 demonstrated the most significant inter-group differences, the highest hazard ratio, and best distinguished MCI-Converters from MCI-Nonconverters, with its discriminative performance comparable to that of Aβ-PET measures and multi-plasma biomarker models. P-tau217 exhibited the strongest associations with global and domain-specific cognitive declines, as well as Aβ-PET. High-risk participants exhibited the fastest cognitive decline rate, with a positive predictive value (PPV) of 100% for Aβ-PET amyloid status and a PPV of 82.2% for MCI-Converters. Low-risk participants showed a negative predictive value (NPV) of 78.3% for Aβ-PET amyloid status and an NPV of 84.9% for MCI-Nonconverters. P-tau217 is the optimal and robust biomarker for predicting the conversion from MCI to AD dementia, thereby streamlining and promoting plasma biomarker - based prediction of MCI-to-dementia conversion.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

APA 7th

Lian, Q., Sun, Q., Han, X., Ma, H., Guo, J., Wen, B., et al. (2026). Plasma Phosphorylated Tau217–A Pivotal Plasma Biomarker for Predicting the Progression of Mild Cognitive Impairment to Alzheimer’s Disease: A Reanalysis of ADNI Data. Journal of Clinical and Experimental Neuropsychology. https://doi.org/10.1080/13803395.2026.2671206

Vancouver

Lian Q, Sun Q, Han X, Ma H, Guo J, Wen B, et al. Plasma Phosphorylated Tau217–A Pivotal Plasma Biomarker for Predicting the Progression of Mild Cognitive Impairment to Alzheimer’s Disease: A Reanalysis of ADNI Data. Journal of Clinical and Experimental Neuropsychology. 2026. doi:10.1080/13803395.2026.2671206. PMID: 42117479.

BibTeX

@article{lian2026-42117479,
  author  = {Lian, Qingjie and Sun, Qingyuan and Han, Xiaodong and Ma, Huixuan and Guo, Jinxuan and Wen, Boye and Wang, P Y and Li, Ruina and others},
  title   = {{Plasma Phosphorylated Tau217–A Pivotal Plasma Biomarker for Predicting the Progression of Mild Cognitive Impairment to Alzheimer’s Disease: A Reanalysis of ADNI Data}},
  journal = {Journal of Clinical and Experimental Neuropsychology},
  year    = {2026},
  doi     = {10.1080/13803395.2026.2671206},
  pmid    = {42117479},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1080/13803395.2026.2671206}
}

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

Key findings

Why it matters

This reanalysis of ADNI data found that plasma p-tau217 best distinguished people with MCI who converted to Alzheimer's dementia from those who did not, with performance comparable to amyloid PET. The findings support p-tau217 as a biomarker for predicting conversion from MCI to Alzheimer's dementia, but the study is about prediction, not treatment.

Study details

How this study scored 53/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record 2 of 4; Study design 7 of 12; Strength of evidence 3 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 5 of 5; Sample size 1 of 4; Effect reported 2 of 3; Studied in people 3 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited 1 of 7; Citations per year 1 of 5; Impact for its field and year 4 of 6; Cited by studies here 1 of 6; Still being cited 0 of 4; Senior author's track record 0 of 4; Institution's track record 0 of 3; Multi-centre collaboration 2 of 3; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 2 of 2. Total 53 of 100.53 of 100 points earned47 not earned

Published in a peer-reviewed journal, and it is a longitudinal study following the same people over time. Scored zero for randomised / blinded because the record does not state it.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Journal of Clinical and Experimental Neuropsychology)
Journal's citation record 2 / 4 Journal of Clinical and Experimental Neuropsychology: journal h-index 179 (OpenAlex, 2026-10-29)
Study design 7 / 12 A longitudinal study following the same people over time
Strength of evidence 3 / 5 Rated “moderate” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 5 / 5 2026 — within 1 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 1 / 4 47 participants
Effect reported 2 / 3 Effect reported as a number, without an interval or test
Studied in people 3 / 3 Studied in people (participant count stated)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited 1 / 7 Cited 2 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10)
Citations per year 1 / 5 1.0 citations a year over 2 year(s) since 2026
Impact for its field and year 4 / 6 Cited 9.5× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI)
Cited by studies here 1 / 6 Cited by 1 other studies in this library
Still being cited 0 / 4 Cited 2 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex)
Senior author's track record 0 / 4 Last-listed author Alzheimer’s Disease Neuroimaging Initiative: h-index 3 (OpenAlex, whole career)
Institution's track record 0 / 3 Capital Medical University: institution h-index 643 (OpenAlex)
Multi-centre collaboration 2 / 3 OpenAlex lists 4 institution(s) in 1 country
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 42117479)
Free to read 2 / 2 Free to read
Total 53 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Full text: free to read — OpenAlex lists this copy as free to read: the link above (checked 6 Feb 1020).

Studies this one cites

Referenced by this study and also in the alzhub library, so you can read them here. Showing 12 of 18.

Later studies that cite this one

1 study in the alzhub library lists this one in its references.

Related studies in Mild cognitive impairment

Also tagged “phosphorylated”

732 studies in the library carry the topic tag “phosphorylated”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 732 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Mild cognitive impairment

See all studies in Mild cognitive impairment →