Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 46 out of 100. Risk genes beyond APOE

Topic: Amyloid, tau and blood-test diagnosis

Microtubule-associated protein tau is known to be hyperphosphorylated in Alzheimer disease brain and this abnormal hyperphosphorylation is associated with an inability of tau to promote the assembly of microtubule in the affected neurons. Our previous studies demonstrated that abnormally phosphorylated tau could be dephosphorylated after treatment with alkaline phosphatase, thereby suggesting that the abnormal phosphorylation of tau might in part be the result of a deficiency of the phosphoprotein phosphatase system in patients with Alzheimer disease. In the present study we used 32P-labeled phosphorylase kinase and poly(Glu, Tyr) 4:1 as substrates to measure phosphoprotein phosphatase activities in Alzheimer disease and control brains.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

APA 7th

Gong, C. X., Singh, T. J., Grundke-Iqbal, I., & Iqbal, K. (1993). Phosphoprotein phosphatase activities in Alzheimer disease brain. Journal of neurochemistry. https://doi.org/10.1111/j.1471-4159.1993.tb03603.x

Vancouver

Gong CX, Singh TJ, Grundke-Iqbal I, Iqbal K. Phosphoprotein phosphatase activities in Alzheimer disease brain. Journal of neurochemistry. 1993. doi:10.1111/j.1471-4159.1993.tb03603.x. PMID: 8395566.

BibTeX

@article{gong1993-8395566,
  author  = {Gong, C. X. and Singh, T. J. and Grundke-Iqbal, I. and Iqbal, K.},
  title   = {{Phosphoprotein phosphatase activities in Alzheimer disease brain}},
  journal = {Journal of neurochemistry},
  year    = {1993},
  doi     = {10.1111/j.1471-4159.1993.tb03603.x},
  pmid    = {8395566},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1111/j.1471-4159.1993.tb03603.x}
}

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

Key findings

Why it matters

This study measured phosphoprotein phosphatase activity in postmortem brains and suggested that a deficiency in this system might contribute to abnormal tau phosphorylation in Alzheimer's disease. It describes a possible mechanism but does not test any treatment.

Study details

How this study scored 46/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record 3 of 4; Study design 0 of 12; Strength of evidence 1 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 1 of 5; Sample size 0 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 0 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited 6 of 7; Citations per year 3 of 5; Impact for its field and year 3 of 6; Cited by studies here 3 of 6; Still being cited 2 of 4; Senior author's track record 4 of 4; Institution's track record left out, no data; Multi-centre collaboration 0 of 3; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 0 of 2. 45 of the 97 points it could be judged on, which is 46 of 100. Total 46 of 100.45 of the 97 points we could judge = 46 of 100

Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, sample size, effect reported, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on institution's track record, so that was left out: it earned 45 of the 97 points we could judge it on, which is 46 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Journal of neurochemistry)
Journal's citation record 3 / 4 Journal of Neurochemistry: journal h-index 349 (OpenAlex, 2026-10-29)
Study design 0 / 12 No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Strength of evidence 1 / 5 Rated “low” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 1 / 5 1993 — older than 20 years, still counted
Sample size 0 / 4 Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 0 / 3 Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited 6 / 7 Cited 530 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10)
Citations per year 3 / 5 15.1 citations a year over 35 year(s) since 1993
Impact for its field and year 3 / 6 Cited 6.4× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI)
Cited by studies here 3 / 6 Cited by 18 other studies in this library
Still being cited 2 / 4 Cited 35 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex)
Senior author's track record 4 / 4 Last-listed author Khalid Iqbal: h-index 112 (OpenAlex, whole career)
Institution's track record — / 3 No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score
Multi-centre collaboration 0 / 3 OpenAlex lists 0 institution(s) in 0 countries — scores zero (affiliation lists can be incomplete)
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 8395566)
Free to read 0 / 2 Behind a paywall — scores zero
Points 45 / 97 Scored on 19 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 45 of the 97 points we could judge it on is 46 out of 100.
Total 46 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

May need a subscription OpenAlex found no free copy of the full text (checked 6 Feb 1020), so the publisher may charge for it. The PubMed abstract is free.

Studies this one cites

Referenced by this study and also in the alzhub library, so you can read them here.

Later studies that cite this one

18 studies in the alzhub library list this one in their references. Showing the 8 highest-scoring.

Related studies in Risk genes beyond APOE

Also in Risk genes beyond APOE

98 studies in the library are filed under Risk genes beyond APOE with no topic tag they share with another; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed tour of them. The Risk genes beyond APOE hub.

Similar studies

More on Risk genes beyond APOE

See all studies in Risk genes beyond APOE →