Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

⚠ Preprint — not yet peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 16 out of 100. End-of-life care

Topic: Health services, long-term care and technology

We included 23 studies with qualitative (73.9%) or quantitative/mixed-methods (26.1%) designs. Conceptualizations varied: 52.2% cited established theory-driven frameworks, while 47.8% described person-centredness primarily in practical clinical terms. Most studies addressed assessment (73.9%) and disclosure (60.9%), whereas fewer examined pre-diagnostic detection and screening (43.5%) or post-diagnostic support (34.8%). Mapping findings to the recently proposed PCCS framework for dementia care revealed that relational domains (e.g., exchanging information, fostering relationships) were prioritized over managing uncertainty, shared decision-making, and enabling self-management. Barriers were reported at the person (e.g., stigma), healthcare worker (e.g., time pressure), and system (e.g., fragmented pathways) levels. Few studies incorporated lived experience in developing recommendations or addressed emerging diagnostic technologies such as blood-based biomarkers or AI-driven assessments. Despite increasing attention to person-centred dementia diagnosis, the literature remains limited and conceptually unclear, with greater emphasis placed on initial clinical encounters than on longitudinal support across the diagnostic journey. As such, guidance on operationalizing person-centred principles throughout the diagnostic process remains sparse for individuals, informal carers, clinicians, and health systems. This review provides preliminary guidance and highlights the need for unified frameworks spanning the full diagnostic journey. Moving forward, diagnostic models and pathways should be co-produced with people with dementia and their informal carers, while person-centred standards should guide the integration of emerging diagnostic technologies.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

APA 7th

Guo, M. Y., Diaz, A., Gove, D., Jessen, F., Khoury, C. P., Wiley, R. E., et al. (2026). Person-Centredness in Dementia Diagnosis & Detection: A Scoping Review. Research Square. https://doi.org/10.21203/rs.3.rs-10092382/v1

Vancouver

Guo MY, Diaz A, Gove D, Jessen F, Khoury CP, Wiley RE, et al. Person-Centredness in Dementia Diagnosis & Detection: A Scoping Review. Research Square. 2026. doi:10.21203/rs.3.rs-10092382/v1.

BibTeX

@article{guo2026-a07266ec,
  author  = {Guo, M. Y. and Diaz, A. and Gove, D. and Jessen, F. and Khoury, C. P. and Wiley, R. E. and El-Hayek, Y. H.},
  title   = {{Person-Centredness in Dementia Diagnosis \& Detection: A Scoping Review}},
  journal = {Research Square},
  year    = {2026},
  doi     = {10.21203/rs.3.rs-10092382/v1},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.21203/rs.3.rs-10092382/v1}
}

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record names 7 authors; APA and Vancouver show the first six, BibTeX and the downloads carry all of them. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

Key findings

Study details

How this study scored 16/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 2 of 10; Journal's citation record 0 of 4; Study design 7 of 12; Strength of evidence 3 of 5; Peer-review validation 4 of 10; How recent 5 of 5; Sample size 1 of 4; Effect reported 2 of 3; Studied in people 3 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited left out, no data; Citations per year left out, no data; Impact for its field and year left out, no data; Cited by studies here left out, no data; Still being cited left out, no data; Senior author's track record left out, no data; Institution's track record left out, no data; Multi-centre collaboration left out, no data; Indexed in PubMed 1 of 2; Free to read 0 of 2. 28 of the 62 points it could be judged on, which is 45 of 100. Raw total 45 of 100, shown as 16 because this is not a peer-reviewed research article.raw total 45 of 100capped at 16 — hatched points do not count

Preprint — not yet peer-reviewed. It scored 45 on the same rubric, but non-peer-reviewed sources are capped at 16, so it shows as 16. Scored zero for randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record and multi-centre collaboration, so those were left out: it earned 28 of the 62 points we could judge it on, which is 45 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 2 / 10 Tier 4 — not a peer-reviewed journal (Research Square)
Journal's citation record 0 / 4 Not a journal article, so the journal's record does not count
Study design 7 / 12 A longitudinal study following the same people over time
Strength of evidence 3 / 5 Rated “moderate” in our summary
Peer-review validation 4 / 10 Preprint — not yet peer-reviewed. Hosted on a preprint server.
How recent 5 / 5 2026 — within 1 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 1 / 4 23 participants
Effect reported 2 / 3 Effect reported as a number, without an interval or test
Studied in people 3 / 3 Studied in people (participant count stated)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited — / 7 No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score
Citations per year — / 5 No citation count or no year — left out of this score
Impact for its field and year — / 6 No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score
Cited by studies here — / 6 Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score
Still being cited — / 4 No yearly citation counts — left out of this score
Senior author's track record — / 4 Senior author's record not available — left out of this score
Institution's track record — / 3 No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score
Multi-centre collaboration — / 3 Institutions not listed — left out of this score
Indexed in PubMed 1 / 2 Not in PubMed, but has a DOI
Free to read 0 / 2 Behind a paywall — scores zero
Points 28 / 62 Scored on 12 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 28 of the 62 points we could judge it on is 45 out of 100.
Total 45 / 100 Capped to 16 because this is not a peer-reviewed article.

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.

Related studies in End-of-life care

Also tagged “caregiver”

195 studies in the library carry the topic tag “caregiver”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 195 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on End-of-life care

See all studies in End-of-life care →