Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 45 out of 100. Treatments

Topic: Amyloid, tau and blood-test diagnosis

Introduction There are no empiric data to support guidelines for duration of therapy with antidementia drugs. This study examined whether persistent use of antidementia drugs slows clinical progression of Alzheimer disease (AD) assessed by repeated measures on serial tests of cognition and function. Methods Six hundred forty-one probable AD patients were followed prospectively at an academic center over 20 years.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

APA 7th

Rountree, S. D., Chan, W., Pavlik, V. N., Darby, E. J., Siddiqui, S., & Doody, R. S. (2009). Persistent treatment with cholinesterase inhibitors and/or memantine slows clinical progression of Alzheimer disease. Alzheimer's research & therapy. https://doi.org/10.1186/alzrt7

Vancouver

Rountree SD, Chan W, Pavlik VN, Darby EJ, Siddiqui S, Doody RS. Persistent treatment with cholinesterase inhibitors and/or memantine slows clinical progression of Alzheimer disease. Alzheimer's research & therapy. 2009. doi:10.1186/alzrt7. PMID: 19845950.

BibTeX

@article{rountree2009-19845950,
  author  = {Rountree, S. D. and Chan, W. and Pavlik, V. N. and Darby, E. J. and Siddiqui, S. and Doody, R. S.},
  title   = {{Persistent treatment with cholinesterase inhibitors and/or memantine slows clinical progression of Alzheimer disease}},
  journal = {Alzheimer's research \& therapy},
  year    = {2009},
  doi     = {10.1186/alzrt7},
  pmid    = {19845950},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1186/alzrt7}
}

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

Key findings

Why it matters

This study followed 641 probable Alzheimer's disease patients over 20 years and examined whether persistent use of cholinesterase inhibitors and/or memantine slows clinical progression. It suggests that persistent antidementia drug use may slow progression, but it is an observational study and does not show a cure or prevention.

Study details

How this study scored 45/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record 1 of 4; Study design 0 of 12; Strength of evidence 1 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 1 of 5; Sample size 0 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 0 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited 5 of 7; Citations per year 3 of 5; Impact for its field and year 3 of 6; Cited by studies here 2 of 6; Still being cited 2 of 4; Senior author's track record 3 of 4; Institution's track record 2 of 3; Multi-centre collaboration 1 of 3; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read 2 of 2. Total 45 of 100.45 of 100 points earned55 not earned

Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, sample size, effect reported, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Alzheimer's research & therapy)
Journal's citation record 1 / 4 Alzheimer s Research & Therapy: journal h-index 146 (OpenAlex, 2026-10-29)
Study design 0 / 12 No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Strength of evidence 1 / 5 Rated “low” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 1 / 5 2009 — within 20 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 0 / 4 Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 0 / 3 Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited 5 / 7 Cited 181 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10)
Citations per year 3 / 5 9.5 citations a year over 19 year(s) since 2009
Impact for its field and year 3 / 6 Cited 7.0× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI)
Cited by studies here 2 / 6 Cited by 5 other studies in this library
Still being cited 2 / 4 Cited 20 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex)
Senior author's track record 3 / 4 Last-listed author Rachelle Smith Doody: h-index 97 (OpenAlex, whole career)
Institution's track record 2 / 3 Baylor College of Medicine: institution h-index 1,607 (OpenAlex)
Multi-centre collaboration 1 / 3 OpenAlex lists 2 institution(s) in 1 country
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 19845950)
Free to read 2 / 2 Free to read
Total 45 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Full text: free to read — OpenAlex lists this copy as free to read: the link above (checked 6 Feb 1020).

Studies this one cites

Referenced by this study and also in the alzhub library, so you can read them here. Showing 12 of 24.

Later studies that cite this one

5 studies in the alzhub library list this one in their references.

Related studies in Treatments

Also tagged “double-blind”

783 studies in the library carry the topic tag “double-blind”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 783 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Treatments

See all studies in Treatments →