Home › Research › Biomarkers
Pathogenic PS1 phosphorylation at Ser367
Masato Maesako, Jana Horlacher, Katarzyna M Zoltowska, Ksenia V Kastanenka, Eleanna Kara, Sarah Svirsky, Laura J Keller, Xuejing Li et al.. eLife, 2017-01-30
Topic: Disease mechanisms in lab and animal studies
The high levels of serine (S) and threonine (T) residues within the Presenilin 1 (PS1) N-terminus and in the large hydrophilic loop region suggest that the enzymatic function of PS1/γ-secretase can be modulated by its 'phosphorylated' and 'dephosphorylated' states. However, the functional outcome of PS1 phosphorylation and its significance for Alzheimer's disease (AD) pathogenesis is poorly understood. Here, comprehensive analysis using FRET-based imaging reveals that activity-driven and Protein Kinase A-mediated PS1 phosphorylation at three domains (domain 1: T74, domain 2: S310 and S313, domain 3: S365, S366, and S367), with S367 being critical, is responsible for the PS1 pathogenic 'closed' conformation, and resulting increase in the Aβ42/40 ratio. Moreover, we have established novel imaging assays for monitoring PS1 conformation in vivo, and report that PS1 phosphorylation induces the pathogenic conformational shift in the living mouse brain. These phosphorylation sites represent potential new targets for AD treatment.
Key findings
- The high levels of serine (S) and threonine (T) residues within the Presenilin 1 (PS1) N-terminus and in the large hydrophilic loop region suggest that the enzymatic function of PS1/γ-secretase can be modulated by its 'phosphorylated' and 'dephosphorylated' states.
New to this subject? Start with our plain-English guide: Blood tests & biomarkers →
Study details
- Evidence strengthLow
How this study scored 43/100
Published in a leading specialty journal. Scored zero for study design, sample size, effect reported, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record, multi-centre collaboration and free to read, so those were left out: it earned 24 of the 56 points we could judge it on, which is 43 out of 100.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 9 / 10 | Tier 2 — leading specialty journal (eLife) |
| Journal's citation record | — / 4 | No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Study design | 0 / 12 | No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Strength of evidence | 1 / 5 | Rated “low” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 2 / 5 | 2017 — within 10 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 0 / 4 | Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Effect reported | 0 / 3 | No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Studied in people | 0 / 3 | Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | — / 7 | No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score |
| Citations per year | — / 5 | No citation count or no year — left out of this score |
| Impact for its field and year | — / 6 | No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score |
| Cited by studies here | — / 6 | Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score |
| Still being cited | — / 4 | No yearly citation counts — left out of this score |
| Senior author's track record | — / 4 | Senior author's record not available — left out of this score |
| Institution's track record | — / 3 | No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Multi-centre collaboration | — / 3 | Institutions not listed — left out of this score |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 28132667) |
| Free to read | — / 2 | Access not recorded — left out of this score |
| Points | 24 / 56 | Scored on 10 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 24 of the 56 points we could judge it on is 43 out of 100. |
| Total | 43 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
APA 7th
Maesako, M., Horlacher, J., Zoltowska, K. M., Kastanenka, K. V., Kara, E., Svirsky, S., et al. (2017). Pathogenic PS1 phosphorylation at Ser367. eLife. https://doi.org/10.7554/elife.19720
Vancouver
Maesako M, Horlacher J, Zoltowska KM, Kastanenka KV, Kara E, Svirsky S, et al. Pathogenic PS1 phosphorylation at Ser367. eLife. 2017. doi:10.7554/elife.19720. PMID: 28132667.
BibTeX
@article{maesako2017-28132667,
author = {Maesako, Masato and Horlacher, Jana and Zoltowska, Katarzyna M and Kastanenka, Ksenia V and Kara, Eleanna and Svirsky, Sarah and Keller, Laura J and Li, Xuejing and others},
title = {{Pathogenic PS1 phosphorylation at Ser367}},
journal = {eLife},
year = {2017},
doi = {10.7554/elife.19720},
pmid = {28132667},
url = {https://doi.org/10.7554/elife.19720}
}
Related studies in Biomarkers
Also tagged “presenilin”
343 studies in the library carry the topic tag “presenilin”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 343 tagged studies.