Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 55 out of 100. Treatments

Topic: Drug trials: efficacy and safety

Crenezumab is a humanized anti-abeta monoclonal antibody in development for the treatment of Alzheimer disease (AD). Crenezumab has been evaluated in a phase 2 clinical study designed to assess its efficacy and safety in patients with mild to moderate AD. The study was conducted in patients 50−80 years of age who were diagnosed with mild to moderate AD with a screening MMSE score of 18 - 26 points.A total of 433 patients were randomized at a 2:1 ratio (active to placebo) to receive either crenezumab or matching placebo for 68 weeks. 184 patients received 300 mg of study drug as a SC injection every 2 weeks and 247 patients received 15mg/kg of study drug as an IV infusion every 4 weeks. Randomization was stratified by ApoE4 status (carrier vs. non-carrier), MMSE score (≤ 21 vs. > 21), and study site. The co-primary efficacy outcome measures were the changes in the ADAS-Cog12 and CDR-SOB scores from baseline to Week 73. The secondary efficacy outcome measure was the change in the ADCS-ADL score from baseline to Week 73. A mixed model for repeated measures analysis was used for statistical analysis of treatment differences at study endpoints. Safety was assessed by monitoring adverse events (AEs), clinical laboratory evaluations, MRI evaluations (ARIA-E and ARIA-H events) and immunogenicity. The ADAS-Cog12, CDR-SOB, and ADCS-ADL endpoints as well as safety data will be presented and discussed This clinical trial was designed to provide an evaluation of the efficacy and safety of crenezumab in AD patients with mild to moderate dementia.

Key findings

Study details

How this study scored 55/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 7 of 10; Journal's citation record left out, no data; Study design 0 of 12; Strength of evidence 5 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 1 of 5; Sample size 2 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 3 of 3; Randomised / blinded 1 of 2; Times cited left out, no data; Citations per year left out, no data; Impact for its field and year left out, no data; Cited by studies here left out, no data; Still being cited left out, no data; Senior author's track record left out, no data; Institution's track record left out, no data; Multi-centre collaboration left out, no data; Indexed in PubMed 1 of 2; Free to read 2 of 2. 32 of the 58 points it could be judged on, which is 55 of 100. Total 55 of 100.32 of the 58 points we could judge = 55 of 100

Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design and effect reported because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record and multi-centre collaboration, so those were left out: it earned 32 of the 58 points we could judge it on, which is 55 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 7 / 10 Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Alzheimer s & Dementia)
Journal's citation record — / 4 No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score
Study design 0 / 12 Design recorded as “clinical trial”, which our rubric does not rank (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Strength of evidence 5 / 5 Rated “high” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 1 / 5 2014 — within 20 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 2 / 4 433 participants
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 3 / 3 Studied in people (participant count stated)
Randomised / blinded 1 / 2 Randomised (as stated in the record)
Times cited — / 7 No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score
Citations per year — / 5 No citation count or no year — left out of this score
Impact for its field and year — / 6 No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score
Cited by studies here — / 6 Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score
Still being cited — / 4 No yearly citation counts — left out of this score
Senior author's track record — / 4 Senior author's record not available — left out of this score
Institution's track record — / 3 No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score
Multi-centre collaboration — / 3 Institutions not listed — left out of this score
Indexed in PubMed 1 / 2 Not in PubMed, but has a DOI
Free to read 2 / 2 Free to read
Points 32 / 58 Scored on 11 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 32 of the 58 points we could judge it on is 55 out of 100.
Total 55 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

APA 7th

Cummings, J. L., Cho, W., Ward, M. E., Friesenhahn, M. J., Brunstein, F., Honigberg, L. A., et al. (2014). O4‐11‐06: A RANDOMIZED, DOUBLE‐BLIND, PLACEBO‐CONTROLLED PHASE 2 STUDY TO EVALUATE THE EFFICACY AND SAFETY OF CRENEZUMAB IN PATIENTS WITH MILD TO MODERATE ALZHEIMER'S DISEASE. Alzheimer s & Dementia. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jalz.2014.04.450

Vancouver

Cummings JL, Cho W, Ward ME, Friesenhahn MJ, Brunstein F, Honigberg LA, et al. O4‐11‐06: A RANDOMIZED, DOUBLE‐BLIND, PLACEBO‐CONTROLLED PHASE 2 STUDY TO EVALUATE THE EFFICACY AND SAFETY OF CRENEZUMAB IN PATIENTS WITH MILD TO MODERATE ALZHEIMER'S DISEASE. Alzheimer s & Dementia. 2014. doi:10.1016/j.jalz.2014.04.450.

BibTeX

@article{cummings2014-a7c335d7,
  author  = {Cummings, Jeffrey L. and Cho, William and Ward, Michael Emmerson and Friesenhahn, Michel J. and Brunstein, Flávia and Honigberg, Lee A. and Clayton, David and Mortensen, Deborah L. and others},
  title   = {{O4‐11‐06: A RANDOMIZED, DOUBLE‐BLIND, PLACEBO‐CONTROLLED PHASE 2 STUDY TO EVALUATE THE EFFICACY AND SAFETY OF CRENEZUMAB IN PATIENTS WITH MILD TO MODERATE ALZHEIMER'S DISEASE}},
  journal = {Alzheimer s \& Dementia},
  year    = {2014},
  doi     = {10.1016/j.jalz.2014.04.450},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1016/j.jalz.2014.04.450}
}

Related studies in Treatments

Similar studies

More on Treatments

See all studies in Treatments →