Home › Research › Costs and economics
Medicare expenditures attributable to dementia
Lindsay White, Paul Fishman, Anirban Basu, Paul K Crane, Eric B Larson, Norma B Coe. Health services research, 2019-03-13
Topic: Health services, long-term care and technology
Dementia's five-year incremental cost to the traditional Medicare program is approximately $15 700 per patient, nearly half of which is incurred in the first year after diagnosis. Shorter survival with dementia mitigates the incremental cost by about $2650. Increased costs for individuals with dementia were driven by more intensive use of Medicare part A covered services. The incremental cost of dementia was about $7850 higher for females than for males because of sex-specific differential mortality associated with dementia. Dementia's cost to the traditional Medicare program is significant. Interventions that target early identification of dementia and preventable inpatient and post-acute care services could produce substantial savings.
Key findings
- Dementia's five-year incremental cost to the traditional Medicare program is approximately $15 700 per patient, nearly half of which is incurred in the first year after diagnosis.
- Shorter survival with dementia mitigates the incremental cost by about $2650.
- Increased costs for individuals with dementia were driven by more intensive use of Medicare part A covered services.
- The incremental cost of dementia was about $7850 higher for females than for males because of sex-specific differential mortality associated with dementia.
- Dementia's cost to the traditional Medicare program is significant.
New to this subject? Start with our plain-English guide: Costs & economics →
Study details
- Evidence strengthLow
How this study scored 39/100
Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, sample size, effect reported, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record, multi-centre collaboration and free to read, so those were left out: it earned 22 of the 56 points we could judge it on, which is 39 out of 100.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 7 / 10 | Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Health services research) |
| Journal's citation record | — / 4 | No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Study design | 0 / 12 | No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Strength of evidence | 1 / 5 | Rated “low” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 2 / 5 | 2019 — within 10 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 0 / 4 | Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Effect reported | 0 / 3 | No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Studied in people | 0 / 3 | Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | — / 7 | No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score |
| Citations per year | — / 5 | No citation count or no year — left out of this score |
| Impact for its field and year | — / 6 | No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score |
| Cited by studies here | — / 6 | Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score |
| Still being cited | — / 4 | No yearly citation counts — left out of this score |
| Senior author's track record | — / 4 | Senior author's record not available — left out of this score |
| Institution's track record | — / 3 | No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Multi-centre collaboration | — / 3 | Institutions not listed — left out of this score |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 30868557) |
| Free to read | — / 2 | Access not recorded — left out of this score |
| Points | 22 / 56 | Scored on 10 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 22 of the 56 points we could judge it on is 39 out of 100. |
| Total | 39 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
APA 7th
White, L., Fishman, P., Basu, A., Crane, P. K., Larson, E. B., & Coe, N. B. (2019). Medicare expenditures attributable to dementia. Health services research. https://doi.org/10.1111/1475-6773.13134
Vancouver
White L, Fishman P, Basu A, Crane PK, Larson EB, Coe NB. Medicare expenditures attributable to dementia. Health services research. 2019. doi:10.1111/1475-6773.13134. PMID: 30868557.
BibTeX
@article{white2019-30868557,
author = {White, Lindsay and Fishman, Paul and Basu, Anirban and Crane, Paul K and Larson, Eric B and Coe, Norma B},
title = {{Medicare expenditures attributable to dementia}},
journal = {Health services research},
year = {2019},
doi = {10.1111/1475-6773.13134},
pmid = {30868557},
url = {https://doi.org/10.1111/1475-6773.13134}
}