Home › Research › Costs and economics
Out-of-pocket costs attributable to dementia: A longitudinal analysis
Melissa Oney, Lindsay White, Norma B Coe. Journal of the American Geriatrics Society, 2022-03-12
Topic: Health services, long-term care and technology
We identified a cohort of 3619 incident dementia cases, 38.9% were male, and 66.9% were non-Hispanic White. Dementia onset was 77.7 years of age, on average. OOP costs attributable to dementia are $8751 over the first 8 years after the onset. These incremental costs are driven by nursing home expenditures, which are largely uninsured in the US. OOP spending is highest for whites and women. The financial burden of ADRD is significant, and largely attributable to the lack of wide-spread long-term care insurance.
Key findings
- We identified a cohort of 3619 incident dementia cases, 38.9% were male, and 66.9% were non-Hispanic White.
- Dementia onset was 77.7 years of age, on average.
- OOP costs attributable to dementia are $8751 over the first 8 years after the onset.
- These incremental costs are driven by nursing home expenditures, which are largely uninsured in the US.
- OOP spending is highest for whites and women.
New to this subject? Start with our plain-English guide: Costs & economics →
Study details
- Effect size38.9%; 66.9%
- Evidence strengthModerate
How this study scored 48/100
Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, sample size, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record, multi-centre collaboration and free to read, so those were left out: it earned 27 of the 56 points we could judge it on, which is 48 out of 100.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 7 / 10 | Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Journal of the American Geriatrics Society) |
| Journal's citation record | — / 4 | No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Study design | 0 / 12 | No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Strength of evidence | 3 / 5 | Rated “moderate” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 3 / 5 | 2022 — within 6 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 0 / 4 | Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Effect reported | 2 / 3 | Effect reported as a number, without an interval or test |
| Studied in people | 0 / 3 | Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | — / 7 | No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score |
| Citations per year | — / 5 | No citation count or no year — left out of this score |
| Impact for its field and year | — / 6 | No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score |
| Cited by studies here | — / 6 | Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score |
| Still being cited | — / 4 | No yearly citation counts — left out of this score |
| Senior author's track record | — / 4 | Senior author's record not available — left out of this score |
| Institution's track record | — / 3 | No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Multi-centre collaboration | — / 3 | Institutions not listed — left out of this score |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 35278213) |
| Free to read | — / 2 | Access not recorded — left out of this score |
| Points | 27 / 56 | Scored on 10 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 27 of the 56 points we could judge it on is 48 out of 100. |
| Total | 48 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
APA 7th
Oney, M., White, L., & Coe, N. B. (2022). Out-of-pocket costs attributable to dementia: A longitudinal analysis. Journal of the American Geriatrics Society. https://doi.org/10.1111/jgs.17746
Vancouver
Oney M, White L, Coe NB. Out-of-pocket costs attributable to dementia: A longitudinal analysis. Journal of the American Geriatrics Society. 2022. doi:10.1111/jgs.17746. PMID: 35278213.
BibTeX
@article{oney2022-35278213,
author = {Oney, Melissa and White, Lindsay and Coe, Norma B},
title = {{Out-of-pocket costs attributable to dementia: A longitudinal analysis}},
journal = {Journal of the American Geriatrics Society},
year = {2022},
doi = {10.1111/jgs.17746},
pmid = {35278213},
url = {https://doi.org/10.1111/jgs.17746}
}