Home › Research › Biomarkers
Longitudinal changes in brain oxygen extraction fraction (OEF) in older adults: Relationship to markers of vascular and Alzheimer's pathology
Lin Z, Lim C, Jiang D, Soldan A, Pettigrew C, Oishi K, Zhu Y, Moghekar A et al.. Alzheimer's & dementia : the journal of the Alzheimer's Association, 2022-07-06
Topic: Amyloid, tau and blood-test diagnosis
Introduction Oxygen extraction fraction (OEF) reflects the balance between oxygen delivery and consumption. We longitudinally measured OEF in older adults to examine the relationship with markers of Alzheimer's disease (AD) and vascular pathology. Methods One hundred thirty-seven participants were studied at two time-points at an interval of 2.16 years. OEF was measured using T 2 -relaxation-under-spin-tagging (TRUST) magnetic resonance imaging (MRI). The association between OEF and vascular risks, white matter hyperintensities (WMH), cerebrospinal fluid (CSF) measures of amyloid beta (Aβ), total tau (t-tau), and phosphorylated tau 181 (p-tau181) was examined. Results OEF increased from baseline to follow-up. The increase in OEF was more prominent in individuals with high vascular risks compared to those with low vascular risks, and was associated with progression of vascular risks and the growth in WMH volume. OEF change was not related to CSF markers of AD pathology or their progression. Discussion Longitudinal OEF change in older adults is primarily related to vascular pathology.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
APA 7th
Lin, Z., Lim, C., Jiang, D., Soldan, A., Pettigrew, C., Oishi, K., et al. (2023). Longitudinal changes in brain oxygen extraction fraction (OEF) in older adults: Relationship to markers of vascular and Alzheimer's pathology. Alzheimer's & dementia : the journal of the Alzheimer's Association. https://doi.org/10.1002/alz.12727
Vancouver
Lin Z, Lim C, Jiang D, Soldan A, Pettigrew C, Oishi K, et al. Longitudinal changes in brain oxygen extraction fraction (OEF) in older adults: Relationship to markers of vascular and Alzheimer's pathology. Alzheimer's & dementia : the journal of the Alzheimer's Association. 2023. doi:10.1002/alz.12727. PMID: 35791732.
BibTeX
@article{lin2023-35791732,
author = {Lin, Z. and Lim, C. and Jiang, D. and Soldan, A. and Pettigrew, C. and Oishi, K. and Zhu, Y. and Moghekar, A. and others},
title = {{Longitudinal changes in brain oxygen extraction fraction (OEF) in older adults: Relationship to markers of vascular and Alzheimer's pathology}},
journal = {Alzheimer's \& dementia : the journal of the Alzheimer's Association},
year = {2023},
doi = {10.1002/alz.12727},
pmid = {35791732},
url = {https://doi.org/10.1002/alz.12727}
}
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
Key findings
- Results OEF increased from baseline to follow-up.
- The increase in OEF was more prominent in individuals with high vascular risks compared to those with low vascular risks, and was associated with progression of vascular risks and the growth in WMH volume.
New to this subject? Start with our plain-English guide: Blood tests & biomarkers →
Study details
- Study designlongitudinal study
- Evidence strengthModerate
How this study scored 59/100
Published in a leading specialty journal, and it is a longitudinal study following the same people over time. Scored zero for sample size, effect reported, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record and multi-centre collaboration, so those were left out: it earned 34 of the 58 points we could judge it on, which is 59 out of 100.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 9 / 10 | Tier 2 — leading specialty journal (Alzheimer's & dementia : the journal of the Alzheimer's Association) |
| Journal's citation record | — / 4 | No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Study design | 7 / 12 | A longitudinal study following the same people over time |
| Strength of evidence | 3 / 5 | Rated “moderate” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 3 / 5 | 2023 — within 6 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 0 / 4 | Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Effect reported | 0 / 3 | No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Studied in people | 0 / 3 | Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | — / 7 | No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score |
| Citations per year | — / 5 | No citation count or no year — left out of this score |
| Impact for its field and year | — / 6 | No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score |
| Cited by studies here | — / 6 | Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score |
| Still being cited | — / 4 | No yearly citation counts — left out of this score |
| Senior author's track record | — / 4 | Senior author's record not available — left out of this score |
| Institution's track record | — / 3 | No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Multi-centre collaboration | — / 3 | Institutions not listed — left out of this score |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 35791732) |
| Free to read | 0 / 2 | Behind a paywall — scores zero |
| Points | 34 / 58 | Scored on 11 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 34 of the 58 points we could judge it on is 59 out of 100. |
| Total | 59 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.
Related studies in Biomarkers
Also tagged “relationship”
3 studies in the library carry the topic tag “relationship”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 3 tagged studies.