Home › Research › Tau biomarkers
Increased Medial Temporal Tau Positron Emission Tomography Uptake in the Absence of Amyloid-β Positivity
Costoya-Sánchez A, Moscoso A, Silva-Rodríguez J, Pontecorvo MJ, Devous MD, Aguiar P, Schöll M, Grothe MJ et al.. JAMA neurology, 2023-10-01
Topic: Brain proteins, microglia and lab models
Importance An increased tau positron emission tomography (PET) signal in the medial temporal lobe (MTL) has been observed in older individuals in the absence of amyloid-β (Aβ) pathology. Little is known about the longitudinal course of this condition, and its association with Alzheimer disease (AD) remains unclear. Objective To study the pathologic and clinical course of older individuals with PET-evidenced MTL tau deposition (TMTL+) in the absence of Aβ pathology (A-), and the association of this condition with the AD continuum.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
APA 7th
Costoya-Sánchez, A., Moscoso, A., Silva-Rodríguez, J., Pontecorvo, M. J., Devous, M. D., Aguiar, P., et al. (2023). Increased Medial Temporal Tau Positron Emission Tomography Uptake in the Absence of Amyloid-β Positivity. JAMA neurology. https://doi.org/10.1001/jamaneurol.2023.2560
Vancouver
Costoya-Sánchez A, Moscoso A, Silva-Rodríguez J, Pontecorvo MJ, Devous MD, Aguiar P, et al. Increased Medial Temporal Tau Positron Emission Tomography Uptake in the Absence of Amyloid-β Positivity. JAMA neurology. 2023. doi:10.1001/jamaneurol.2023.2560. PMID: 37578787.
BibTeX
@article{costoyasanchez2023-37578787,
author = {Costoya-Sánchez, A. and Moscoso, A. and Silva-Rodríguez, J. and Pontecorvo, M. J. and Devous, M. D. and Aguiar, P. and Schöll, M. and Grothe, M. J. and others},
title = {{Increased Medial Temporal Tau Positron Emission Tomography Uptake in the Absence of Amyloid-β Positivity}},
journal = {JAMA neurology},
year = {2023},
doi = {10.1001/jamaneurol.2023.2560},
pmid = {37578787},
url = {https://doi.org/10.1001/jamaneurol.2023.2560}
}
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
Key findings
- Little is known about the longitudinal course of this condition, and its association with Alzheimer disease (AD) remains unclear.
- Objective To study the pathologic and clinical course of older individuals with PET-evidenced MTL tau deposition (TMTL+) in the absence of Aβ pathology (A-), and the association of this condition with the AD continuum.
- Design, setting, and participants A multicentric, observational, longitudinal cohort study was conducted using pooled data from the Alzheimer's Disease Neuroimaging Initiative (ADNI), Harvard Aging Brain Study (HABS), and the AVID-A05 study, collected between July 2, 2015, and August 23, 2021.
- Participants in the ADNI, HABS, and AVID-A05 studies (N = 1093) with varying degrees of cognitive performance were deemed eligible if they had available tau PET, Aβ PET, and magnetic resonance imaging scans at baseline.
Why it matters
This study examined the course of medial temporal tau deposition seen on PET in older individuals without amyloid-beta pathology and its link to Alzheimer's disease. It is an observational cohort study and does not test any treatment, cure, or prevention.
New to this subject? Start with our plain-English guide: Blood tests & biomarkers →
Study details
- Study designcohort study
- Participants1,093
- Effect size52.1%
- Evidence strengthModerate
How this study scored 69/100
Published in a leading specialty journal, and it is a cohort study following people over time. Scored zero for randomised / blinded because the record does not state it.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 9 / 10 | Tier 2 — leading specialty journal (JAMA neurology) |
| Journal's citation record | 2 / 4 | JAMA Neurology: journal h-index 235 (OpenAlex, 2026-10-29) |
| Study design | 7 / 12 | A cohort study following people over time |
| Strength of evidence | 3 / 5 | Rated “moderate” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 3 / 5 | 2023 — within 6 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 3 / 4 | 1,093 participants |
| Effect reported | 2 / 3 | Effect reported as a number, without an interval or test |
| Studied in people | 3 / 3 | Studied in people (participant count stated) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | 4 / 7 | Cited 48 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10) |
| Citations per year | 3 / 5 | 9.6 citations a year over 5 year(s) since 2023 |
| Impact for its field and year | 4 / 6 | Cited 8.6× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI) |
| Cited by studies here | 2 / 6 | Cited by 7 other studies in this library |
| Still being cited | 2 / 4 | Cited 45 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex) |
| Senior author's track record | 2 / 4 | Last-listed author Erin Householder: h-index 38 (OpenAlex, whole career) |
| Institution's track record | 3 / 3 | Harvard University: institution h-index 3,235 (OpenAlex) |
| Multi-centre collaboration | 3 / 3 | OpenAlex lists 16 institution(s) in 4 countries |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 37578787) |
| Free to read | 2 / 2 | Free to read |
| Total | 69 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
- DOI: 10.1001/jamaneurol.2023.2560
- PubMed: 37578787
- Original source →
- Free full text: JAMA Neurology →
Full text: free to read — OpenAlex lists this copy as free to read: the link above (checked 6 Feb 1020).
Studies this one cites
Referenced by this study and also in the alzhub library, so you can read them here. Showing 12 of 15.
Later studies that cite this one
7 studies in the alzhub library list this one in their references.
Related studies in Tau biomarkers
Also tagged “phosphorylated”
732 studies in the library carry the topic tag “phosphorylated”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 732 tagged studies.