Home › Research › Biomarkers
Impaired cell proliferation in the subventricular zone in an Alzheimer's disease model
Rodríguez JJ, Jones VC, Verkhratsky A.. Neuroreport, 2009-07-01
Topic: Amyloid, tau and blood-test diagnosis
In mammalian central nervous system, neurogenesis occurs in the hippocampus and the subventricular zone (SVZ). We used triple transgenic mouse model of Alzheimer's disease (3 x Tg-AD) harbouring three mutant genes (beta-amyloid precursor, presenilin-1 and tau) and their controls (non-Tg) from 2 to 12 months of age to establish the link between AD and SVZ neurogenesis. We determined the number of SVZ proliferating cells by the presence of phosphorylated histone H3, and their colocalization with glial fibrillary acidic protein to exclude glial phenotype. Less than 2% of histone H3-labelled cells displayed glial fibrillary acidic protein. 3 x Tg-AD mice showed a significant reduction in cell proliferation from 3 months of age that was sustained through all ages, compared with controls. These results indicate that 3 x Tg-AD mice have impaired SVZ cell proliferation, which exacerbates with age.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
APA 7th
Rodríguez, J. J., Jones, V. C., & Verkhratsky, A. (2009). Impaired cell proliferation in the subventricular zone in an Alzheimer's disease model. Neuroreport. https://doi.org/10.1097/wnr.0b013e32832be77d
Vancouver
Rodríguez JJ, Jones VC, Verkhratsky A. Impaired cell proliferation in the subventricular zone in an Alzheimer's disease model. Neuroreport. 2009. doi:10.1097/wnr.0b013e32832be77d. PMID: 19494789.
BibTeX
@article{rodriguez2009-19494789,
author = {Rodríguez, J. J. and Jones, V. C. and Verkhratsky, A.},
title = {{Impaired cell proliferation in the subventricular zone in an Alzheimer's disease model}},
journal = {Neuroreport},
year = {2009},
doi = {10.1097/wnr.0b013e32832be77d},
pmid = {19494789},
url = {https://doi.org/10.1097/wnr.0b013e32832be77d}
}
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
Key findings
- Less than 2% of histone H3-labelled cells displayed glial fibrillary acidic protein. 3 x Tg-AD mice showed a significant reduction in cell proliferation from 3 months of age that was sustained through all ages, compared with controls.
- These results indicate that 3 x Tg-AD mice have impaired SVZ cell proliferation, which exacerbates with age.
New to this subject? Start with our plain-English guide: Blood tests & biomarkers →
Study details
- Evidence strengthLow
How this study scored 36/100
Published in a peer-reviewed journal. Scored zero for study design, sample size, effect reported, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record and multi-centre collaboration, so those were left out: it earned 21 of the 58 points we could judge it on, which is 36 out of 100.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 7 / 10 | Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Neuroreport) |
| Journal's citation record | — / 4 | No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Study design | 0 / 12 | No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Strength of evidence | 1 / 5 | Rated “low” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 1 / 5 | 2009 — within 20 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 0 / 4 | Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Effect reported | 0 / 3 | No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Studied in people | 0 / 3 | Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | — / 7 | No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score |
| Citations per year | — / 5 | No citation count or no year — left out of this score |
| Impact for its field and year | — / 6 | No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score |
| Cited by studies here | — / 6 | Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score |
| Still being cited | — / 4 | No yearly citation counts — left out of this score |
| Senior author's track record | — / 4 | Senior author's record not available — left out of this score |
| Institution's track record | — / 3 | No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score |
| Multi-centre collaboration | — / 3 | Institutions not listed — left out of this score |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 19494789) |
| Free to read | 0 / 2 | Behind a paywall — scores zero |
| Points | 21 / 58 | Scored on 11 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 21 of the 58 points we could judge it on is 36 out of 100. |
| Total | 36 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.