Home › Research › Treatments
Imaging‐neuropathology evaluation of Amyloid Related Imaging Abnormality sulcal effusion in a DIAN‐TU‐001 participant treated with gantenerumab
Nelly Joseph‐Mathurin, Charles D. Chen, Diana A. Hobbs, Meng Jiang, Shaney E. Flores, Jalen Scott, Sanjana Anand, Erin E. Franklin et al.. Alzheimer s & Dementia, 2025-12-01
Topic: Brain proteins, microglia and lab models
Overall PiB-PET uptake increased during the first two years (before ARIA-E) and decreased during the last two years (including ARIA-E episodes) (0.03±0.05 vs. -0.04±0.04 SUVR/year, p-value=0.01, Figure 2). The decrease seemed more pronounced in ARIA-E ROIs versus normal-appearing sulcus ROIs (-0.05±0.04 vs. -0.02±0.03 SUVR/year). Lower PiB uptake at last visit appeared associated with lower Aβ AF (estimates=0.03±0.01, p-value=0.07). The ARIA-E ROI had an Aβ AF of 0.009 while normal-appearing sulcus ROIs had a mean of 0.02+0.003 (Figure 3). AFs for tauopathy, microglia, and astrocytes were within the range of those of normal-appearing sulcus ROIs, suggesting an Aβ-specific effect, although unexamined markers may play a role. Our preliminary findings indicated that ARIA-E is associated with longitudinal PiB-PET decrease and Aβ AF, supporting the link between ARIA-E, changes in PiB-PET, and local Aβ removal observed at autopsy. FUNDING: K01AG080123; U01AG042791; R01AG046179; R01AG053267.
Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris
APA 7th
Joseph‐Mathurin, N., Chen, C. D., Hobbs, D. A., Jiang, M., Flores, S. E., Scott, J., et al. (2025). Imaging‐neuropathology evaluation of Amyloid Related Imaging Abnormality sulcal effusion in a DIAN‐TU‐001 participant treated with gantenerumab. Alzheimer s & Dementia. https://doi.org/10.1002/alz70862_110062
Vancouver
Joseph‐Mathurin N, Chen CD, Hobbs DA, Jiang M, Flores SE, Scott J, et al. Imaging‐neuropathology evaluation of Amyloid Related Imaging Abnormality sulcal effusion in a DIAN‐TU‐001 participant treated with gantenerumab. Alzheimer s & Dementia. 2025. doi:10.1002/alz70862_110062. PMID: 41433752.
BibTeX
@article{josephmathurin2025-41433752,
author = {Joseph‐Mathurin, Nelly and Chen, Charles D. and Hobbs, Diana A. and Jiang, Meng and Flores, Shaney E. and Scott, Jalen and Anand, Sanjana and Franklin, Erin E. and others},
title = {{Imaging‐neuropathology evaluation of Amyloid Related Imaging Abnormality sulcal effusion in a DIAN‐TU‐001 participant treated with gantenerumab}},
journal = {Alzheimer s \& Dementia},
year = {2025},
doi = {10.1002/alz70862_110062},
pmid = {41433752},
url = {https://doi.org/10.1002/alz70862_110062}
}
Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. The record's author list ends in “et al.”, so not every author is named. Check the citation against the original before you use it.
Key findings
- Overall PiB-PET uptake increased during the first two years (before ARIA-E) and decreased during the last two years (including ARIA-E episodes) (0.03±0.05 vs. -0.04±0.04 SUVR/year, p-value=0.01, Figure 2).
- The decrease seemed more pronounced in ARIA-E ROIs versus normal-appearing sulcus ROIs (-0.05±0.04 vs. -0.02±0.03 SUVR/year).
- Lower PiB uptake at last visit appeared associated with lower Aβ AF (estimates=0.03±0.01, p-value=0.07).
- The ARIA-E ROI had an Aβ AF of 0.009 while normal-appearing sulcus ROIs had a mean of 0.02+0.003 (Figure 3).
- AFs for tauopathy, microglia, and astrocytes were within the range of those of normal-appearing sulcus ROIs, suggesting an Aβ-specific effect, although unexamined markers may play a role.
Why it matters
In one DIAN-TU-001 participant treated with gantenerumab, PiB-PET uptake decreased during the years including ARIA-E episodes, and the ARIA-E region showed lower amyloid area fraction at autopsy. These are preliminary single-case imaging-neuropathology findings about ARIA-E and local amyloid removal, not evidence of a cure or prevention.
New to this subject? Start with our plain-English guide: Treatments →
Study details
- Study designlongitudinal study
- Evidence strengthModerate
How this study scored 44/100
Published in a peer-reviewed journal, and it is a longitudinal study following the same people over time. Scored zero for sample size, effect reported, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it.
| Component | Points | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Journal tier | 7 / 10 | Tier 3 — peer-reviewed journal (Alzheimer s & Dementia) |
| Journal's citation record | 2 / 4 | Alzheimer s & Dementia: journal h-index 228 (OpenAlex, 2026-10-29) |
| Study design | 7 / 12 | A longitudinal study following the same people over time |
| Strength of evidence | 3 / 5 | Rated “moderate” in our summary |
| Peer-review validation | 10 / 10 | Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal. |
| How recent | 4 / 5 | 2025 — within 3 year(s) of the newest study here |
| Sample size | 0 / 4 | Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Effect reported | 0 / 3 | No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Studied in people | 0 / 3 | Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Randomised / blinded | 0 / 2 | No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0) |
| Times cited | 0 / 7 | Cited 0 times (OpenAlex, 2026-10-10) |
| Citations per year | 0 / 5 | 0.0 citations a year over 3 year(s) since 2025 |
| Impact for its field and year | 0 / 6 | Cited 0.0× the average for papers of its field and year (OpenAlex FWCI) |
| Cited by studies here | 0 / 6 | No other study in this library cites it |
| Still being cited | 0 / 4 | Cited 0 times in 2024–2026 (2026 still in progress; OpenAlex) |
| Senior author's track record | 3 / 4 | Last-listed author Tammie L.S. Benzinger: h-index 98 (OpenAlex, whole career) |
| Institution's track record | 2 / 3 | Massachusetts General Hospital: institution h-index 2,057 (OpenAlex) |
| Multi-centre collaboration | 2 / 3 | OpenAlex lists 6 institution(s) in 1 country |
| Indexed in PubMed | 2 / 2 | Indexed in PubMed (PMID 41433752) |
| Free to read | 2 / 2 | Free to read |
| Total | 44 / 100 | — |
What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →
Read the original
- DOI: 10.1002/alz70862_110062
- PubMed: 41433752
- Original source →
- Free full text: Alzheimer s & Dementia →
Full text: free to read — OpenAlex lists this copy as free to read: the link above (checked 6 Feb 1020).
Related studies in Treatments
Also tagged “machine”
835 studies in the library carry the topic tag “machine”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 835 tagged studies.