Get help now — free helplines

You can call any of these for free. You do not need a diagnosis, an appointment, or a crisis to call — questions and plain exhaustion are reasons enough.

  • Alzheimer's Association 24/7 Helpline 800-272-3900 24 hours a day, 365 days a year Free, confidential support and information for people with dementia, caregivers, families and the public. Master's-level clinicians. Also Spanish.
  • 988 Suicide & Crisis Lifeline 988 24/7 Call or text 988, or chat at 988lifeline.org. For anyone in emotional distress or a mental-health crisis, including caregivers.
  • Alzheimer's Foundation of America (AFA) Helpline 866-232-8484 9:00 am - 9:00 pm ET, seven days a week Licensed social workers providing support, info and referrals. Also text message and web chat. Text: 646-586-5283

In a medical emergency, call 911. More numbers, and what each line does, on the help page.

This page is alzhub.org's plain-English summary of a published study, not the paper itself. It is generated from the record we hold for this study, sourced and linked below — check the original for the full text and methods.

✓ Peer-reviewed alzhub usefulness score 45 out of 100. Brain scans and imaging

Topic: Plasma and spinal-fluid biomarkers

Over the past decade, ocular imaging strategies have greatly advanced the diagnosis and follow-up of patients with optic neuropathies. Developments in optic nerve imaging have specifically improved the care of patients with papilloedema and idiopathic intracranial hypertension, inflammatory optic neuropathies, and compressive optic neuropathies. For example, optic nerve imaging with optical coherence tomography (OCT) is now widely used as an outcome measure in clinical trials of neurological disorders (eg, demyelinating diseases), and OCT findings could be informative of disease progression in patients with various neurodegenerative disorders (eg, Alzheimer's disease or Parkinson's disease). In the past 5 years, multimodality optic nerve imaging has expanded to systematically include focused and wide-field colour and autofluorescence fundus photographs; various types of optic nerve, macular, and vascular OCT; and specific MRI techniques. Such multimodality imaging makes the diagnosis of optic neuropathies easier and provides objective information on optic nerve damage, which is useful for prognosis. Non-mydriatic ocular fundus cameras and OCT have become readily available in non-ophthalmic settings and could easily be implemented in neurological clinics and emergency departments, allowing for direct access to optic nerve imaging and enabling teleconsultations. In the future, these imaging studies could be used in association with artificial intelligence deep-learning systems, which are already transforming the field of ocular imaging.

Key findings

Study details

How this study scored 45/100
How this study's score is builtJournal tier 9 of 10; Journal's citation record left out, no data; Study design 0 of 12; Strength of evidence 1 of 5; Peer-review validation 10 of 10; How recent 3 of 5; Sample size 0 of 4; Effect reported 0 of 3; Studied in people 0 of 3; Randomised / blinded 0 of 2; Times cited left out, no data; Citations per year left out, no data; Impact for its field and year left out, no data; Cited by studies here left out, no data; Still being cited left out, no data; Senior author's track record left out, no data; Institution's track record left out, no data; Multi-centre collaboration left out, no data; Indexed in PubMed 2 of 2; Free to read left out, no data. 25 of the 56 points it could be judged on, which is 45 of 100. Total 45 of 100.25 of the 56 points we could judge = 45 of 100

Published in a leading specialty journal. Scored zero for study design, sample size, effect reported, studied in people and randomised / blinded because the record does not state it. We have no data on journal's citation record, times cited, citations per year, impact for its field and year, cited by studies here, still being cited, senior author's track record, institution's track record, multi-centre collaboration and free to read, so those were left out: it earned 25 of the 56 points we could judge it on, which is 45 out of 100.

ComponentPointsWhy
Journal tier 9 / 10 Tier 2 — leading specialty journal (The Lancet. Neurology)
Journal's citation record — / 4 No journal record from OpenAlex — left out of this score
Study design 0 / 12 No study design recorded — scores zero, not guessed (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Strength of evidence 1 / 5 Rated “low” in our summary
Peer-review validation 10 / 10 Peer-reviewed. Published as an article in a named peer-reviewed journal.
How recent 3 / 5 2022 — within 6 year(s) of the newest study here
Sample size 0 / 4 Participant count not stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Effect reported 0 / 3 No effect size reported — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Studied in people 0 / 3 Not stated whether this was studied in people — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Randomised / blinded 0 / 2 No randomisation or blinding stated — scores zero (not stated in the record — scored 0)
Times cited — / 7 No citation count (not found in OpenAlex) — left out of this score
Citations per year — / 5 No citation count or no year — left out of this score
Impact for its field and year — / 6 No field-weighted citation impact (OpenAlex has none yet) — left out of this score
Cited by studies here — / 6 Not yet checked against this library's citation graph — left out of this score
Still being cited — / 4 No yearly citation counts — left out of this score
Senior author's track record — / 4 Senior author's record not available — left out of this score
Institution's track record — / 3 No institution listed in OpenAlex — left out of this score
Multi-centre collaboration — / 3 Institutions not listed — left out of this score
Indexed in PubMed 2 / 2 Indexed in PubMed (PMID 36155662)
Free to read — / 2 Access not recorded — left out of this score
Points 25 / 56 Scored on 10 of 20 parts. We have no data for the rest, so they are left out: 25 of the 56 points we could judge it on is 45 out of 100.
Total 45 / 100 —

What each of these 20 components measures, and what this score is not →

Read the original

Free copy unknown: no free-copy check has an answer for this record yet. That does not mean it is paywalled.

Cite this study APA, Vancouver, BibTeX · download .bib or .ris

Built from the record alzhub holds for this paper, not looked up. Volume, issue and page numbers are not held in the record. Check the citation against the original before you use it.

APA 7th

Biousse, V., Danesh-Meyer, H. V., Saindane, A. M., Lamirel, C., & Newman, N. J. (2022). Imaging of the optic nerve: technological advances and future prospects. The Lancet. Neurology. https://doi.org/10.1016/s1474-4422(22)00173-9

Vancouver

Biousse V, Danesh-Meyer HV, Saindane AM, Lamirel C, Newman NJ. Imaging of the optic nerve: technological advances and future prospects. The Lancet. Neurology. 2022. doi:10.1016/s1474-4422(22)00173-9. PMID: 36155662.

BibTeX

@article{biousse2022-36155662,
  author  = {Biousse, Valérie and Danesh-Meyer, Helen V and Saindane, Amit M and Lamirel, Cédric and Newman, Nancy J},
  title   = {{Imaging of the optic nerve: technological advances and future prospects}},
  journal = {The Lancet. Neurology},
  year    = {2022},
  doi     = {10.1016/s1474-4422(22)00173-9},
  pmid    = {36155662},
  url     = {https://doi.org/10.1016/s1474-4422(22)00173-9}
}

Related studies in Brain scans and imaging

Also tagged “coherence-tomography”

151 studies in the library carry the topic tag “coherence-tomography”; these are this study's neighbours in a fixed, alphabetical-by-hash tour of them, not the closest in content. All 151 tagged studies.

Similar studies

More on Brain scans and imaging

See all studies in Brain scans and imaging →